8 Reviews

It was nice, but I'm not very fond of ginger, and the sweet-n-spicy tang the chutney had just didn't quite appeal to me. It's sort of a cross between apple jam and pickle. My friends liked it a lot, so I probably will make it again. I used it as a sandwich spread on bread for a packed lunch, and the bread didn't dry up as it normally does... a big, big plus...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu November 27, 2001

This was my first attempt at making chutney and it is very very good! Tangy and tart with enough sweet to balance it. I used vidalia onions and was a little nervous about the apple to onion ratio but it's delicious! I used it in a curried chicken salad, fabulous! Thank you for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moviecrybaby38 May 16, 2010

Not bad, but I found the onion flavor overpowered the flavor of the apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debarra December 10, 2009

Very tasy and easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bromleygirl November 30, 2008

So good! I only used one large onion because that's all I had. We had it with pork as well as chicken. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megansbarr April 14, 2007

It was excellent. I used alspice instead of ginger and it worked really good. I was thinking of adding water chestnuts and maybe Cointreau to the next batch I make. We had it with pork chops and pasta. Maybe chicken next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morrisdonna January 18, 2006

This was delicious. The balance between the spice & sweetness was very good. I had to use a golden delicious apple & some sickle pears but it still came out great. I served it as an side with a small wheel of Brie baked in Puff Pastry and it was simply perfect for it. I'll be sure to make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellisima April 15, 2004

i liked it alot! as for the last reviewer, if you dont like ginger, and the recipe calls for it, dont give it three stars cause you continue to not like ginger. or, because you dont like sweet/tangy/sour, cause that's what it's supposed to taste like. sorry, but for chutney lovers, this deserves five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melany * October 25, 2002
Apple Chutney