24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely yummy! I just added about 3 tablespoons of honey to the apple juice, and we had a great dinner. I served it with plain rice, and there was lots of gravy/juice for the rice to soak up! Unfortunately, there were no leftovers. I may have to treble the recipe next time...

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj October 13, 2002

My family and I loved this chicken dish. The sauce is bitchin'. The flavor of chicken and apples is a new discovery for me and one that I find extremely yummy.Thanks Dorothy. You are so right, this is a wonderful fall recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower November 11, 2002

Excellent, easy and quick way to serve chicken. I followed the recipe exactly with good results and we all loved this dish.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ October 23, 2002

A little splash of apple brandy braces up the flavor something wonderful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren October 25, 2002

This was just ok, I would reduce the vinegar to 1tsp or possibly 1/2tsp if using tart apples. Also, the Golden Delicious got fairly mushy, though Granny Smiths held up well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra.M August 12, 2009

Delicious recipe! Very quick and easy to make, too. I used apple juice not cider. I halved the recipe to serve two, but kept the juice/vinegar/cornstarch the same so that there would be lots of sauce. Very good taste, I'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner May 23, 2003

This recepie is a HIT!
Very fast to prepare and has great taste! We were looking for healthy new ways to make chicken and this is certainly one we will be repeating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carobustillo October 22, 2012

Very delicious, Derf. The only complaint I have, is that it didn't make enough apple gravy. (Maybe I cooked too long :() Even so, I will fix this again, using different apples each time. Thnx for sharing, Derf. Made for Comfort Cafe Snow Queen Chalet Jan 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter January 17, 2010

This was so easy yet so delicious. The flavors blended great together. I'll bet this would be good with pork chops, too. I used Golden Delicious and they fell apart somewhat but no on cared. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SteelerSue October 10, 2009

Delicious, idiot-proof recipe! I am NO chef, but this one turned out brilliantly! (It was a good way to use up some apples I had left over that were a bit past their prime...) Great leftovers too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncg1981 August 31, 2009
Apple Chicken