7 Reviews

Found this recipe many years ago in a magazine and hadn't made it since. This time, I used tart apples and sharp cheddar cheese. Really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clevergirl3 September 18, 2013

A rich fall flavored bread that has delighted all who tasted it. As a rule I do not read the reviews before making but this time did and am glad I did as it did lead to me increasing the cheese a bit using 3/4 of cup. Will make this flavorful well balanced bread exactly the same way again. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 20, 2011

This bread is delicious! I was concerned because the "batter" was so thick but it turned out perfectly. This was most enjoyed warm from the oven - no butter required! I would at least double the cheese next time because it's the one thing that I didn't really taste. Also, I used skim milk, low fat cheese and Self Rising Flour [america] for the flour. Made for Almost 5 tag game. Thanks loof! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif September 27, 2011

Almost followed your recipe right on down, but was very generous with the measuring of the cheese, & we had ourselves a really outstanding treat, for sure! I slathered my first slice with some homemade apple butter, while my other half used a bit of cream cheese! However you do it, the bread itself is very, very satisfying & certainly the recipe is a keeper! [Made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hits tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 17, 2011

This is an awesome recipe, loof!
My sis and me loved it and ate the whole loaf all by ourselves. lol
The cheese goes great with the apples and cinnamon and adds just that special something. My bread turned out way moister than in the pics even though I only used 1/4 cup oil, it was more a cake than a bread. Very yummy!
Since we like our cakes/breads on the less sweet side, I only used 1/4 cup sugar and that was perfect for us. Next time I might follow Annacia's lead and use applesauce in place of the oil and then reduce the sugar a tad more as well.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this tasty treat with us, loof!
Made and reviewed for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Tag Game September 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 19, 2010

This was very good, with subtle apple and walnut-ty flavors. The cheddar flavor blends in so much that it's not all that distinguishable to my palate, but that could just be my palate! :D I think next time I make this, and there will definitely be a next time, I will coarsely dice my cheddar instead of shredding it, so that the large chunks can stay intact and contribute more flavor to the bite of the bread. My DD loved it, though, and wanted to give it 10 stars. :-) Thanks, Loof!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too March 03, 2008

This bread has a wonderful flavor. I needed to trim the fat and sugar for my use and I did so by useing Splenda for the sugar, 1/4 cup of walnut oil and1/4 cup of applesauce for the butter, fat free cheese, skim milk and 1/2 a cup of egg whites for the whole eggs. The volume of batter I had didn't look like enough for a 9x5 pah and I used an 8x4 and that turned out well. Thank you for a lovely treat Mary. Made for Photo Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 16, 2008
Apple Cheddar Walnut Bread