Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple-Cheddar Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple-Cheddar Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2013

      This is a very good soup. I made mine with apple juice, a bit of extra onions and reduced fat cheddar. Easy to put together and tastes very elegant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      Great fall soup ! I did omit the onions, and replaced with a teaspoon onion powder. I peeled the apples, and potatoes. I also used Granny Smith apples too. Made this also with some fresh apple cider made at the apple orchard nearby. The combination of flavors really stood out. Made for a great soup with Curried Chicken With Apples, and we were completely satisified. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      5 star if you substitute broth for apple cider. I'm definitely not a fan of anything too sweet, and I think kids would really like this more than I did (well, I did still give it 5 stars!). I made no changes to this at all (very unusual for me), but next time I would use veggie broth instead of apple cider. Thank you! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I really liked this. I peeled the potatoes and apples, and think next time I'll leave the peels on the potatoes for some color. I used a granny smith apple, and loved the sharp cheddar with it. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT6 Zingo by an Unruly Under the Influence.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Wonderful soup for a wintry afternoon in Australia. I made this as written (except I didn't peel the potatoes). I would make a few other changes in future. I used only a tablespoon of flour, and thought that was too much. The soup has a lot of body anyway. Australian cider is sparkling or alcoholic, so those living Downunder can use plain unsweetened apple juice. And finally, I used the stick blender to eliminate about half of the chunks. Just seemed nicer sort of half smooth. Thanks for posting -- made a great lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      What a nice "Autumn" type soup. However, it tasted just fine in the summer! I used a Gala, and think I might use a Granny Smith next time with a milder cheddar. I love using apple cider, so this pleased me very well. Thnx for sharing the recipe, loof. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds of ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This is delish and so very simple! I never peel anything unless I have to (like gnocchi). I also used fresh thyme from the garden and 1/4 cup of half and half as part of the milk, which needed to be used up, but I think it added to the creamy taste. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 6, Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is an absolutely great tasting soup ~ Loved the combo of the title ingredients! Although I did peel the apple & potatoes, I think, another time, I'll follow Northwest's example & leave them unpeeled (just think of the lost nutrition there)! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed for the Zingo part of ZWT6]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      The contrasting flavors and textures in this soup are a winning combination. The natural sweetness of the apple and cider really dressed up the potatoes. I followed the recipe as written but left the peels on the apple and potatoes (personal preference), and I added a little more milk to make it a bit creamier. We really enjoyed this, and I will definitely make it again. Thanks, loof. Made for Zaar World Tour #6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Very nice flavor of apple, cheddar and a hint of thyme. I used French thyme and a braeburn apple in making this tonight. A mini food processor made chopping the onion, potatoes and apple fast work. It came out very thick so I added another cup of apple cider. This would be a very nice starter soup for a luncheon. Made for *1 2 3 Hit Wonders* game 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I loved that combination of flavors.... very autumn-y. I have a similar recipe, but it's gets pureed. I enjoyed this soup because it was not pureed and had chunkiness, but yet it had a thick, creamy texture. I used fat free half and half for the milk. Thanx for a great cold-weather soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple-Cheddar Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.4
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    42%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 41.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 531.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites