11 Reviews

This is a very good soup. I made mine with apple juice, a bit of extra onions and reduced fat cheddar. Easy to put together and tastes very elegant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan February 12, 2013

Great fall soup ! I did omit the onions, and replaced with a teaspoon onion powder. I peeled the apples, and potatoes. I also used Granny Smith apples too. Made this also with some fresh apple cider made at the apple orchard nearby. The combination of flavors really stood out. Made for a great soup with Curried Chicken With Apples, and we were completely satisified. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker November 03, 2012

5 star if you substitute broth for apple cider. I'm definitely not a fan of anything too sweet, and I think kids would really like this more than I did (well, I did still give it 5 stars!). I made no changes to this at all (very unusual for me), but next time I would use veggie broth instead of apple cider. Thank you! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend July 02, 2010

I really liked this. I peeled the potatoes and apples, and think next time I'll leave the peels on the potatoes for some color. I used a granny smith apple, and loved the sharp cheddar with it. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT6 Zingo by an Unruly Under the Influence.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 01, 2010

Wonderful soup for a wintry afternoon in Australia. I made this as written (except I didn't peel the potatoes). I would make a few other changes in future. I used only a tablespoon of flour, and thought that was too much. The soup has a lot of body anyway. Australian cider is sparkling or alcoholic, so those living Downunder can use plain unsweetened apple juice. And finally, I used the stick blender to eliminate about half of the chunks. Just seemed nicer sort of half smooth. Thanks for posting -- made a great lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 30, 2010

What a nice "Autumn" type soup. However, it tasted just fine in the summer! I used a Gala, and think I might use a Granny Smith next time with a milder cheddar. I love using apple cider, so this pleased me very well. Thnx for sharing the recipe, loof. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds of ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 30, 2010

This is delish and so very simple! I never peel anything unless I have to (like gnocchi). I also used fresh thyme from the garden and 1/4 cup of half and half as part of the milk, which needed to be used up, but I think it added to the creamy taste. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 6, Zingo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie June 29, 2010

This is an absolutely great tasting soup ~ Loved the combo of the title ingredients! Although I did peel the apple & potatoes, I think, another time, I'll follow Northwest's example & leave them unpeeled (just think of the lost nutrition there)! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed for the Zingo part of ZWT6]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 22, 2010

The contrasting flavors and textures in this soup are a winning combination. The natural sweetness of the apple and cider really dressed up the potatoes. I followed the recipe as written but left the peels on the apple and potatoes (personal preference), and I added a little more milk to make it a bit creamier. We really enjoyed this, and I will definitely make it again. Thanks, loof. Made for Zaar World Tour #6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 22, 2010

Very nice flavor of apple, cheddar and a hint of thyme. I used French thyme and a braeburn apple in making this tonight. A mini food processor made chopping the onion, potatoes and apple fast work. It came out very thick so I added another cup of apple cider. This would be a very nice starter soup for a luncheon. Made for *1 2 3 Hit Wonders* game 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J February 07, 2008
Apple-Cheddar Soup