Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Cheddar Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Cheddar Scones

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2008

      I have made these scones many times, and they have always turned out perfect for me. I use a Granny-Smith apple and I shred my own cheddar cheese (when they pack the shredded, they put something with it to keep it from clumping). You have to have a very light hand with scone dough, don't knead it much. My picky DS loves these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Great recipe. Thnak you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Maybe with some major modifications I could make this again. But the dough tasted bland, it didn't cook in the middle and the edges were almost burnt. The apple/cheddar flavor which is usually good was not a good match with the dough. Probably fixable but needs a lot of work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      I have to admit I thought these were quite delicious. I left the apple peel on the apple and used Gouda instead of cheddar as that was the only cheese in the fridge. I didn't measure the buttermilk because of the concerns of the other posters, but I had to add significantly more flour during the kneading process because they were quite soft. The only other change was the use of high gluten bread flour, again out of necessity. Quite delicious and I can't wait to eat one for breakfast tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Very good flavor. A hit with the whole family. I shredded the apples also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      very delicious scones! loved the apple and cheese together, great flavour! I did have to bake them longer than called for; about 25 minutes total. Thanks for posting I will be making them again, somehow missed taking a photo, good excuse to make them again! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      These scones (made according to recipe) were too wet to knead so if I made them again I would only add ½ cup of the buttermilk and then more if needed. They came out rather flat, but tasted good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

    • on May 14, 2005

      These turned out great. I made them a little flater and cut them into 12 wedges as they were for 7 year olds. They were well liked and baked perfectly on my pizza stone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      These are good .. I had a little trouble with the dough after adding the buttermilk, it was very soggy and wouldn't hold its shape .. I added more flour and baking powder until the dough came together .. My husband thought these scones were good with jam .. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      I made these for breakfast for my parents and they were delicious! I served them, slightly reheated, with homemade apple butter Crock Pot Apple Butter. Thanks for psoting. This recipe was a perfect recipe to use up my surplus of apples, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      Wow! Were these a hit our harvest brunch..=) Loved the tender texture of this scone. The apple and cheese are a great blend. Gave this recipe to three friends to take home. A keeper for sure. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Cheddar Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.2
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    45%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 36.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 427.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes