Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2003

      This cake is wonderful! I made it to take to a get together with my family and ended up leaving the little bit that was left over for my dad who is a real apple connoisseur. Ended up going home and making a second one that same day. Still after a week, it's all I can think about and can't wait to have time to make another. P.S. I did make one change. I added 1 tablespoon of flour to the sugar and water before bringing them to a boil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Excellent cake, and easy too! I love not having to peel the apples, and I couldn't even tell that I had used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour. I also cut the sugar and used only half the topping, and that gave a plenty sweet cake. I sprinkled walnuts on top, which toasted a bit during baking. I also used applesauce instead of oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I have almost this same recipe, but it is halved and made in an 8x8 pan (my recipe does call for 3/4 tsp. soda and 1/2 tsp salt), so that is not QUITE matching, but close enough! I do not peel my apples, which makes it SO much easier. My recipe doesn't have the topping, I can't wait to try this. You just can't beat the cake--it's excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      This cake is like pudding. I served it warm with whipped cream. It is a real comfort food. I would reduce the sugar in the cake if I made it again. It was pretty sweet and that is coming from a true sweet tooth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      After several adjustments, I love this cake. I cut back the sugar to 1 1/3 cups, it was just the right sweetness. I also used whole wheat pastry flour, 1/4cup of soaked raisins, in addition to the cinnamon I added 2 tsp. of ginger, I also used some very old soft apples. I did not make the topping. I'll be making this cake on a regular basis.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      Perfect cake for fall. My husband loved it and took it to work where his crew devoured the whole cake in 10 minutes flat. Thank you Virginia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      Made basically as is, except for replacing some of the white sugar in the batter with brown sugar. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Wonderful moist cake! I used two granny smith apples, and one braeburn. I was worried while mixing it up because the batter looked so thick, but it rose up nice between the apple chunks to make a thick cake. Because of lazyness (and due to the fact that all my dishes were dirty) I skipped the topping, and served warm with a dollop of Cool Whip and some caramel ice cream topping for a garnish. Great cake, I'm hoping nobody else wants dessert tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      I thought this was a great cake but my husband complained that it was too moist and fell apart too easily. I was certain to follow directions exactly but perhaps I didn't beat the eggs till fluffy enough or maybe I messed up the topping. It seemed to be an aweful lot and pretty thin. I liked it though!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      This was really so good! it was so easy to make and it tastes great. I also used apple juice and I loved it, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      I forgot in my earlier review to mention that I used apple juice in the topping instead of water. I think that is one thing that gives this cake an edge (extra apple flavoring). The directions say though to boil till clear- But because of using apple juice and not water, mine never became clear. I just boiled for what I considered to be a long time (till all sugar disolved). This is not a pretty cake but is is easy to make and taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      I have recently found this and started making it. It is definitely a 5 STAR cake. I use apple sauce in place of oil, and I use the NEW "Splenda for Baking" in place of sugar for a low fat, sugar-free cake. I also add a half cup of chopped nuts, wonderful. My family now asks for this quite often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      I liked this cake, but found it so sweet, I couldn't eat too much at once. The syrup makes it wonderfully moist, but very rich and sweet. I served the cake to our guests tonight, and cut it into small squares. Everyone enjoyed it, and didn't leave any leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Apple Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 423.2
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    29%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 45.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 193.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.7 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 55.0 g
    220%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites