Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Butter Ribs (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Butter Ribs (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2003

      Very tasty ribs! I varied the recipe slightly. Always looking for shortcuts, I used a 10oz bag of frozen chopped onions, (less would have sufficed), a full cup of apple butter and 1/2-1 tsp. of 'jar garlic' I keep refrigerated. The recipe is delicious, but I have to agree with another review...very fatty. Maybe try a pork roast next time? Also the cooking time was too long because the ribs were broken into tiny pieces. I may also try this at a lower cooking time, perhaps checking tenderness at 6hrs. I would have given this 5stars, but the '9 hour low cooking time' was just too long with my Smart CrockPot. But, it's worth a repeat and my husband liked it too! Thanks MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      Very nice flavor, super easy to make, makes the whole house smell wonderful as it cooks! I wondered if it might turn out too sweet, but it was just right. The only reason it didn't rate 5 stars for me is that the sauce was extremely fatty (but then, what do you expect from country-style ribs??) I think this recipe would be just brilliant using a leaner cut of pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      These were sweet and yummy. Watch cooking time! Mine cooked quite a bit less than 9 hrs. Worth making. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Fantastic,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Yikes....were we disappointed! The flavor was strange and unappetizing. The meat soaked up no flavor whatsoever. The only reason this got 2 stars instead of 1 or 0 is because my husband doctored it with bbq sauce, ketchup and goodness knows what else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I will always prefer ribs cooked low and slow in a smoker, but these were very easy and something tasty to put on the dinner table. I made a few adjustments--increased the apple butter to 1 cup, 1 tablespoon liquid smoke, and 4 cloves garlic. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      We enjoyed these ribs a lot. Very tender, wonderful flavor. Great use for apple butter. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Dh and I loved this one! The kids didn't care for it, but since they're mostly into hot dogs and pb&j right now, that's not really a surprise. :) My crockpot usually runs pretty hot, so I only cooked them for 8 hours. They were still a little too done, but I think 7-7.5 hours would have been perfect. We served it on sandwiches, and it was amazing. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I had been looking for a crock pot rib recipe that would take more than 6-8 hrs. DH and I work 30 min. away, so a full day at work means at least 9 hrs away from home. I made these last night and they were spectacular. most of the meat fell off the bone before we even took them out. they were very flavorful and moist. (I had one piece that was a little dry, but I think that was just rib placement in the crock pot, not the recipe itself.) we served this over steamed jasmine rice which was a perfect accompaniment with the juices from the ribs, too. a friend had enjoyed these with us, too, and was raving about them. recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This is great and easy it took me 10 mins to assemble in the morning before work. My country-style ribs were a lean cut, no visible fat or skin. This recipe could also be made into pulled pork for sandwiches. Very good! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I had some western style pork ribs in my freezer and came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised at how tender and delicious they turned out to be. I followed the directions exactly, and cooked for the full 9 hours. About 2 hours before serving I thicken the gravy and let the ribs simmer. If I were to do anything different next time, it would be to add more garlic. This is a nice change from the regular B-Q Ribs. Thanks for sharing such a unique and good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Delicious!!!!! And so easy!!! I used bone-in ribs and they were soooo tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      We cooked the ribs on high for two hours and then on low for another 3 hours and they turned out perfect. The liquid smoke and apple butter combine beautifully to the flavor, aroma and burnished color of the finished ribs. We froze some leftovers in a freezer bag for a month and they warmed up great in the microwave. Thank you for a great keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      I had to come up with dinner using only a crockpot and ribs but didn't want bbq. We all love apple butter and decided to give this a try. The ribs turned out not to be enough meat so I added in a few porkchops to round it out and increased the apple butter sauce by half. After it was done cooking I thickened the juices in the crockpot with a little cornstarch and water. This recipe proved to be a wonderful and different way to fix ribs in the crockpot and was a huge hit with the whole family. We will definitely be making this again. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      My husband and I both loved this one. Very easy! We spread additional apple butter on these before serving. Thanks so much! I'll definitely be cooking this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      These ribs are ao good! I followed the recipe except I doubled the garlic(We Love Garlic). I started them on high for the first hour or so then I cooked them on low for the rest of the time. Total cooking time was 7 hours and they were very tender and yummy! The house was filled with the wonderful aroma all day :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      We really enjoyed this recipe. I used very lean back ribs. I cooked them at 250 for 6 hours, removing the bone and skimming the fat from sauce, when finished. They turned out beautifully, juicy, and tender, with a very flavourful, dark, rich, sauce, which I served with long grain rice. I will certainly be making these ribs again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      These were delicious! The apple butter gave them a wonderful flavor...we added a cup of crushed pineapple for the sauce also and my kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      I also used a lean pork roast for this recipe. I cooked it overnight in my crockpot. The meat fell apart and the flavor was great!! I will be making this one again. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      This one is definately going in my tried and true public cookbook. Yum. I also used a lean roast, but I did follow the reicpe as written otherwise. Very easy and very delicious. The roast fell apart as I was dishing up my lunch. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Butter Ribs (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (447 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 625.6
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    27%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 251.7 mg
    83%
    Sodium 676.6 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 30.4 g
    121%
    Protein 71.3 g
    142%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes