21 Reviews

Very tasty ribs! I varied the recipe slightly. Always looking for shortcuts, I used a 10oz bag of frozen chopped onions, (less would have sufficed), a full cup of apple butter and 1/2-1 tsp. of 'jar garlic' I keep refrigerated. The recipe is delicious, but I have to agree with another review...very fatty. Maybe try a pork roast next time? Also the cooking time was too long because the ribs were broken into tiny pieces. I may also try this at a lower cooking time, perhaps checking tenderness at 6hrs. I would have given this 5stars, but the '9 hour low cooking time' was just too long with my Smart CrockPot. But, it's worth a repeat and my husband liked it too! Thanks MizzNezz!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snuggie July 27, 2003

Very nice flavor, super easy to make, makes the whole house smell wonderful as it cooks! I wondered if it might turn out too sweet, but it was just right. The only reason it didn't rate 5 stars for me is that the sauce was extremely fatty (but then, what do you expect from country-style ribs??) I think this recipe would be just brilliant using a leaner cut of pork.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieLynn July 04, 2003

These were sweet and yummy. Watch cooking time! Mine cooked quite a bit less than 9 hrs. Worth making. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 21, 2008

Fantastic,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cl1090 May 04, 2013

Yikes....were we disappointed! The flavor was strange and unappetizing. The meat soaked up no flavor whatsoever. The only reason this got 2 stars instead of 1 or 0 is because my husband doctored it with bbq sauce, ketchup and goodness knows what else.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colfax Wife December 15, 2010

I will always prefer ribs cooked low and slow in a smoker, but these were very easy and something tasty to put on the dinner table. I made a few adjustments--increased the apple butter to 1 cup, 1 tablespoon liquid smoke, and 4 cloves garlic. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' November 07, 2010

We enjoyed these ribs a lot. Very tender, wonderful flavor. Great use for apple butter. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenk September 09, 2008

Dh and I loved this one! The kids didn't care for it, but since they're mostly into hot dogs and pb&j right now, that's not really a surprise. :) My crockpot usually runs pretty hot, so I only cooked them for 8 hours. They were still a little too done, but I think 7-7.5 hours would have been perfect. We served it on sandwiches, and it was amazing. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) March 17, 2008

I had been looking for a crock pot rib recipe that would take more than 6-8 hrs. DH and I work 30 min. away, so a full day at work means at least 9 hrs away from home. I made these last night and they were spectacular. most of the meat fell off the bone before we even took them out. they were very flavorful and moist. (I had one piece that was a little dry, but I think that was just rib placement in the crock pot, not the recipe itself.) we served this over steamed jasmine rice which was a perfect accompaniment with the juices from the ribs, too. a friend had enjoyed these with us, too, and was raving about them. recipe is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctmainiac22 March 14, 2008

This is great and easy it took me 10 mins to assemble in the morning before work. My country-style ribs were a lean cut, no visible fat or skin. This recipe could also be made into pulled pork for sandwiches. Very good! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook October 23, 2007
Apple Butter Ribs (Crock Pot)