12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My wife and I made this... Three quarts... It was gone within two weeks.ibelieve I ate a whole quart, myself... Wow it was good. Good on cornbread muffins too. Just like at Cracker Barrel

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastor Rob and Becca September 06, 2013

Best Apple Butter recipe yet! I've been making Apple Butter for the over 30 years, and this is superb. I have submitted a correcting on the simmering time. I think the author meant 11-1/2 hrs., not 11/2 hrs. In fact I simmer mine for 2-3 days, the longer the better. 1 - 1/2 hrs. is NO time for it to cook down, it takes days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcjchapman October 26, 2011

AWESOME RECIPE!!! It tastes incredible....I let it simmer a little longer than recipe called for...but I did not have any problem with it becoming thick (as previous 2 reviews). I give this recipe two thumbs up! THANKS SO MUCH Zwerg!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matt.angela.gordon January 01, 2009

I have to agree with SarahG, It took way longer to thicken up, I was in the kitchen wit it for about 5 hours. Not a big deal as it's ssaturday, but the time is very miss leading. As for flavor....WOW it's wonderful and I think once it cools and sets up it will be well worth the time it took me to cook it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steelcutter2003 November 15, 2008

Well, I'm a little disappointed in this. I followed the recipe exactly, "cook uncovered, over very low heat 1 1/2 hours or till very thick" but I cooked mine for at least 4 hours and it never got any thicker than it began. I don't know why. I'm going to open up all my cans and try to re-heat it and get it to reduce more, but I'm not sure it'll work. I'll post a reply to this review after I try it. ------------------------------------------ Okay, I got it to reduce, finally. I took a suggestion from the community help page and put it in a glass baking pan and baked it for a long time, stirring every 15 minutes. I think it helped that there was more surface space. However, overall, I don't think this recipe was very good because it was misleading in saying it would only need to cook for 1 1/2 hours. Next time I will try another recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahG. October 18, 2008

My kids can not stop eating this. The first day my picky 6 year old ate 5 pieces of toast with this apple butter. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sk8ladykw October 10, 2008

Tastes great, smells great, looks great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flyers263 November 06, 2007

This apple butter is so good! I just opened a jar that I canned about a week ago, and the flavor is outstanding. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aydia1 October 07, 2007
Apple Butter - Grandma Style