32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tried this wonderful recipie today and i wasn't dissapointed when i tried it. A lovely moist cake, which looks great when you cut it, with those chunks of apple and cinnamon, my favourite spice. I left out the walnuts as my kids don't like nuts, a cake i will be making again and again..thankyou for sharing it lvtobake

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lvtobake2 January 18, 2003

Moist, delicious, spicy. Mix was very stiff, but cooked nice and moist. I did not add walnuts either, but only because I did not have any. Next time I will add walnuts or pecans.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie March 19, 2003

I give this cake 5 stars as well as my roomate, friend and coworkers. It was moist and crunchy. I enjoyed with milk but the coworkers had theirs with coffee. I will make again and probably add even more walnuts! I picked this recipe while looking for the similiar cake a family friend baked for my dad on numerous occasions when I was a young child. I didn't share with dad this time but promised him I would bake the entire cake for him on his January 6th birthday!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilynn November 19, 2003

Dee-lish!! This is one yummy cake. DH made most of it, all I really did was core, peel and dice the apples. He put a few pecans in, and we've just now tried a bite still warm from the oven. This is a keeper - thanks so much for sharing it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnOkie2 February 02, 2003

Well, it just didn't come out right for me. Used whole wheat flour and it seemed to not cook well enough on the inside. Think we only ate about 1/4 of this. Would not make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joygi April 26, 2003

EXCELLENT!! This was a very moist and delicious cake. I will be keeping this one. I did't add any walnuts because my family really does not care for them. Made it before going to work came home and it was half gone. It was very easy too...Thanks for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet W January 28, 2003

This made for one pretty cake. I've been on an apple hunt lately because of all the apples we have in our trees. Loved the spices and the smell while this was cooking but for some reason mine seemed a little dry and not very moist - maybe I left it in the oven a little to long. But the taste of the apples and spices was lovely and it certainly was easy. I followed the directions as stated and yes did use the walnuts. Next time think I'll be sure and check it out around the 30 minute mark. Served this with vanilla ice cream, topped with Chunky Apple Cinnamon Syrup #80419 and whipped cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 08, 2014

I baked this for a holiday meal, and it was very much enjoyed. It tasted almost like apple pie in cake form. I loved that it wasn't too sweet, so you could serve it with stuff like vanilla bean ice cream and fresh whipped cream. It was great with a cup of eggnog as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 26, 2013

This was a hit at home?not too sweet! Definitely will make again, but next time, like other rater suggestions, I'll try mixing the apples into the batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myron T. November 02, 2013

This is delicious! The only change I made was to add 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter itself. I was worried because the batter is SO thick and I had a problem spreading it, but it rose nicely and the apples cooked perfectly. Also, I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9x5 pan for 55 minutes. It was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells September 27, 2011
Apple Bundt Cake