42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! easy to make, turned out beautifully, got many compliments on the bread & requests for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigger_tlc December 01, 2003

This is a really good recipe! I did change it up a bit, as I tend to do, based on other helpful reviews. What I did was: I used half sugar/half Splenda, 3/4 c. plain applesauce and 1/4 c. canola oil, 1 *heaping* teaspoon cinnamon, I omitted the nuts (personal preference), and I added 1/2 tsp. of apple pie spice to the dry ingredients. The applesauce substitution and the apple pie spice helped to make it more apple-y, and it was healthier to boot! The recipe didn't say what loaf pan size, so I baked the loaves in 2 9x5 loaf pans at 350 for 50 minutes (which worked well), and the loaves were a little bigger than half the size of trtls's picture. I think 8x4 loaf pans would be perfect. I used 3 large Granny Smith apples, and it was the perfect amount. I brought one loaf to my friends at work, and one of them couldn't stop eating it long enough to tell me how much he liked it! Thanks for the recipe, everydaymom! I will definitely be making this bread again, with these minor changes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 August 24, 2009

Good flavor. Moist and light. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunny #2 October 29, 2013

I am finding this hard to slice the edges keep crumbling . My DH thinks it is great. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 July 19, 2009

This was AWESOME!!!!! My bosses apple tree got too heavy & several branches broke. went over & helped her pick the apples & she gave me 2 HUGE boxes full. I decided to make this recipe for the staff meeting we were going to have in the next day or two but made a trial run just in case. The boss & the other office person raved about this and said I BETTER make this for the meeting. We will see how it goes over with the rest of the group in the morning!!! Yummmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneytunesfan July 08, 2009

This was really tasty! I made as directed but forgot to sprinkle with sugar at the end. It was still plenty sweet, more like a cake than bread. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech June 15, 2009

Wow! This was so good. I received so many compliments on this bread. I've made this recipe 3 times already in 1 week. The first 2 times I used 2 9x5 insullated pans and they baked for 1 hour. The third time I used 2 8x4 Pyrex loaf pans and baked them for 1 hour and 5 minutes at 350 degrees. I didn't sprinkle with sugar before baking but did dust with powdered sugar when cool. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Elizabeth May 02, 2009

Very tasty! Made it exactly as stated and was delicious. Hubby took the 2 loaves in to his work and I know they're raving about it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 05, 2009

I used 2 bananas mashed up and watered down a bit in place of the three eggs and it turned out amazingly. Soft, moist, fluffy, flavourful, all that good stuff. The crust even stayed crisp days laster. Will make this again and again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delsolarie January 15, 2009
Apple Bread