Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Bread

    Average Rating:

    139 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 139

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2002

      Delicious! Rich-tasting because off all the eggs and oil. I sprinkled the top of the loaves with cinnamon sugar before baking and it made a delightful little sugary crust on top. My only suggestion is to bake it for 50 - 60 minutes, and check on it. I baked for 60 minutes without checking on it and it got a little overcooked. Otherwise a very yummy loaf of teatime bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      WOW....I put this in the oven after supper last nite, mixed up quick and easy and 2 nice loaves. By half time of Monday night football, the kids and I had devoured one warm loaf! I managed to hide 2 slices for myself for lunch today, BUT I made the mistake of letting them sit on my desk and I kept picking at them until they were gone. That was before 9am. OMG I never thought when I looked at these just out of the oven that they would be so scrumptious. I did sprinkle the top with cinnamon and sugar, AND I used half oil and half unsweetened applesauce and baked about 50 minutes. Three Jonathan apples gave me over 2 cups but I dumped them all in anyway. Making 2 more loaves tonite! Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2003

      This is a five star and more recipe! The flavour is great. I used 3 granny smith's apples, which did give me slightly over 2 cups, but I popped it all in anyway. And it turned out WONDERFUL. But I think i won't chop the apples up so fine the next time cos, it i would like to TASTE TASTE apple bits, but that is totally a personal preference. It had just the right amount of cinnamon. After popping the first one into the oven, the aroma was just over-whelming, I just HAD to go do another batch. And it was the right thing to do for sure. Four loaves, and I have only got half a loaf left in less than 7 hours. Everyone has attacked them. 5 stars and more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      This is INCREDIBLE - one of the best sweet breads I've ever had. Moist, sweet, lots of tart apples to cut the sweetness....I can't even adequately describe how great this is. I also put some cinnamon sugar on top, added a nice cinnamony crunch. Definitely try this - it'll be devoured by everyone within reach of it. Double the recipe, like I did - you'll be glad you have extra on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2002

      Very moist and tastey. Half way through preparation, I realized that I could not locate our second loaf pan. I,instead, used a Bundt pan for the entire recipe. I baked for 60 minutes and topped with Powdered Sugar. My wife plans on taking this bread for a bake sale at our kid's school.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      Secret, Your Apple Bread is absolutely SENSATIONAL! Sweet & moist with excellent texture and just right for snacking, dessert or the perfect addition to breakfast, lunch or supper! How could anyone go wrong with a bread this versatile? There is not a thing about this recipe I would change...Well...maybe next time I will double the batch ;)!! Thank you so much, Secret, for this fabulous Apple Bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      Thank you so much for posting this. This tastes exactly like an apple cake that my stepmother's mother used to make for me when I was little. I would have this every weekend and have been searching for a similar recipe with no luck. This is by far the best recipe I have found, thank you for helping to bring back old memories. P.S. I also added the cinammon and sugar topping. Delicious- will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      I woke up very early this morning and saw this recipe. I checked to see if I had all the ingredients. I had two small apples and a pear, and hazelnuts. So I used them and my family is now waking up to the morst wonderful aroma and hot from the oven apple bread for breakfast. It's delicious! thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      This is a great fall recipe for using up some extra apples. I already had some red delicious on hand, so I used them, even though a more tart apple would easily work as well. The addition of the vanilla really adds great flavor and the smell from the oven while the loaves were cooking was fantastic. The two loaves didn't even last a day in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      This bread was very moist and also very good. I did also bake for 50 minutes and put the cinnamon and sugar on top before baking...I will keep this handy especially around apple picking season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I was a bit skeptical when I realized how much oil is in this, and again when I started mixing it and saw how thick the batter is - more like wet cookie dough than batter - but I'm glad I kept going, it's excellant! I think next time I'll follow the other reviewers suggestions and reduce/omit the oil for applesauce, and I might cut back the sugar by 1/2 cup or so, but definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      -----Updated-----
      On popular request, I've tweaked and made this recipe repeatedly now. I quadruple the apples (I use about 8 small apples per batch) and skip the nuts. Sub applesauce for oil (healthier AND tastier) and top with cinnamon & sugar. Do NOT let the dough sit for a long time -- prepare the apples before mixing the dough. The batter is so dense that it must be mixed by hand; it jammed my big stand-up mixer! Following these tips yields a flavorful, delicious apple bread; as good as any I, or anyone I've served it to, have tasted. Thank you for the recipe, Gingerbear! My family begs for it at every opportunity!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      This is a definite keeper! Moist and flavorful. It made two perfect loaves one for me and one for my parents. I used Cortland apples we picked from an orchard and it was wonderful. We did omit the nuts as some others did. The bread was so good, it was gone in a day. I made a second batch to send to my mother in law and realized I only had one loaf tin left so I baked up the other half as muffins. They were great too, you just have to adjust the baking time. Great fall recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Ran out of baking powder so I just threw in an extra dash of baking soda. Omitted the walnuts because I didn't have any and no one in the house really eats them, used coconut oil and chopped up 2 regular size red gala apples to make the 2 cupes needed. Would have been pretty good with 3 cups, too. I did 1 loaf and the rest made enough for 9 cupcakes. The loaf came out much more moist, but the cupcakes were a bit of a disappoinment. Will just stick with the loaf next time. The sugar and cinnamon on top made for an excellent crispy crust on top - thank you for the delicious tip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Quite possibly my new favorite quick apple bread! I read the reviews, and then made a few changes. I did 1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 regular, 3 egg whites and 1 whole egg, and 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 oil. And since I don't have two bread pans, I did one loaf and 12 muffins. Perfect and delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Yummy! I made some slight modifications. I used half oil/half natural applesauce and also cut back the sugar by 1/4 cup. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on top. It was delicious, even with cutting out half the oil. If it hadn't been good, I would not have reviewed this at all because I don't believe in giving a negative review if you change the recipe at all. In this case, I imagine this would only get better if I'd used all oil and sugar. Thumbs up all the way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This is a delicious bread.I used cinnamon applesauce for half of the oil and it still came out very moist.I also added some fresh blueberries to one of the loaves which was really delicious.This was my first time making apple bread and I didn't expect to like it as much as I did.I used Granny Smith apples and the slight tartness was perfect.Next time I may chop the apples a little smaller but that's just my preference.I plan on making this again very soon.I think I'll add a little nutmeg next time.Thanks for the great recipe! UPDATE I made this again and added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and cloves and upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp.I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar.It was so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! Easy to make and very tasty. Next time I make it I will substitute 1/2 oil for applesauce and top with cinnamon and sugar as some have suggested. 5 stars for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Sorry to say I am just getting around to rating this as it is wonderful. I did 12 loaves of this as i had a lot of apples to use and once i made 2 loaves everyone loved it and ended up making more . This bread freezes well also . the only change I was I added raisins and did not use the nuts in all of them thank you very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I think the recipe calls for too much salt. I can't really taste the apples. Probably should have added more apples. The loaves taste ok in my opinon. But there are definitely better apple bread out there. UPDATE: The bread tasted much better on the 2nd day. So I upgraded it from 3 stars to 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.2
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    43%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 27.9 mg
    9%
    Sodium 195.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 21.5 g
    86%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes