Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Bourbon Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Bourbon Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2012

      Wow! This goes right into the 10-star book. I cut the recipe down to fit an eight inch pan and used tart Washington apples (the REAL apple country :) ). The spices were right on and the cake was very moist. Mine also was a bit overdone at the edges, so I will bake a shorter time next time. Served cooled but will try it warm next time with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      I used a boxed spice cake mix and added the macerated apples and some extra apple pie spice. It worked well. Next time, I'll throw some raisins in with the apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      So wonderful! I took mine out at 30 minutes and it was perfectly baked. If you want a strong bourbon flavor, eat it warm, but for just a hit of bourbon, it definitely needs cool. I learned that after getting buzzed off the first piece! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      for a slightly sweeter taste use half regular bourbon and half honey bourbon. yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      wow this is some cake, I didn't even use all the bourbon stated in the recipe and it was still wonderful, I used 1-1/2 teaspoons cinnamon, I may reduce the sugar amount slightly next time, what a great cake with wonderful flavor, thanks Mizz T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This is really wonderful. Very moist except at the edges. I felt that mine was a bit overcooked on the edges. I will try it again, though, cooking it maybe 10 fewer minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      Excellent! This really smells like a spice cake while you make it, until you put in the apple mixture. The bourbon flavor is just wonderful. I cut the recipe in half and used an 8X8 pan and cooked it for 40 minutes. Came out great. I did use Washington State apples cuz that's where I live. :) This is a keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Yum Toni, this is great. Smells *awesome* while cooking. I used a large tin of apples and it worked perfectly. Served as suggested, warm with whipped cream. UPDATE: After letting this cake sit for a couple of days, the flavours have really come through. Very moist with a wonderful bourbon flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      Well Toni - what can I say - Bourbon and Apples in a cake! What a great recipe and fantastic flavour.....also VERY moist. I made one small sub - one of my guests has a nut allergy, so NO nuts were added this time - but everything else was as stated. Oh hang on - I could NOT get NY State apples either - used French Braeburns!! I made it in an oval baking dish, as I served it as a "pudding" tonight. I served it warm with creme fraiche and a dusting of cinnamon on top! My husband raved about the Bourbon flavour - he loved it and he does not have a sweet tooth generally, so it was 10 stars from him! A wonderful recipe which is a keeper - thanks Toni! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Bourbon Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.7
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    34%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 160.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites