10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This Canadian approves! Thanks for sharing a delicious breakfast recipe. I used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce, 1 cup of low-fat plain yogurt, and frozen blueberries. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, and two servings of vanilla hemp protein powder. I omitted the ice cubes, and did not add sugar - it was perfectly sweet for our tastes. Next time I might try adding apple juice instead of milk. This will definitely be made again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K March 29, 2011

As you can tell by recipe reviews I've been on a smoothie/drink kick of late. I've had this one saved and thought I would whip this up for DH as a treat when he got home from work. I used vanilla icecream in place of the yogurt and in fact upped the amount a bit just for him. Also, used 1 oz. of blueberry syrup by Torani. I should say this did take away from the apple taste I was hoping would come thru. My bad:-( DH said too that he couldn't taste the apple. I used 1/2 of a Royal Gala. Opted out of the sugar too as the icecream was enough. He loved it. !~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB July 10, 2009

I'm not rating this as I haven't tried it. My copy of this recipe calls for the apples to be soft cooked. Make 1 cup of soft cooked apples by coring 2 apples. Peel only if desired. Chop and place in microwave for about 3 minutes until soft, almost like applesauce. Allow to cool. The servings say 2. Overall this sounds so yummy! I plan to try this during the summer. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut March 19, 2009

I have been on a huge smoothie kick lately, and I came across this recipe at a time when I had both an apple and blueberries. It is by far the best smoothie I've tried. I didn't use sugar. I'm guessing if someone needed sugar, they didn't use a green apple or a fuji apple. I used green, and it added TONS of flavor. Thanks, Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morganne September 17, 2008

A delicious and refreshing breakfast/snack. I did add a little sugar, but not much. I thought the apple provided quite a bit of sweetness. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan June 30, 2008

This was a tasty breakfast for me this morning and it fit perfectly into my low fat eating plan as I went for fat free milk and yogurt. I didn't need to add sugar because the fruit made it sweet enough for me. Fresh blueberries are amazingly expensive over here at the moment so I used frozen ones and just used a couple less ice cubes and it worked out great. Sometimes I can find dairy based smoothies to be too heavy but this wasn't at all. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 21, 2008

This wasn't sweet enough for me but it was good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vicky_vien_x3 January 21, 2008

I made this for brunch using a green apple unpeeled, frozen blueberries and some frozen natural yoghurt & a touch of vanilla essence, left out the ice due to other frozen ingredients being used. Nice & creamy, great colour too. Not as sweet as I thought perhaps due to natural yoghurt being used but will be making this again with vanilla yoghurt, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 20, 2007

We loved this one. I was concerned that it would not be sweet enough but it truly was. I used fat free vanilla yogurt and skim milk for a guilt free treat split three ways. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 22, 2006

this was alright... i love smoothies, but i usually make them with bananas. i ended up adding one because it still needed something a little more...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 June 22, 2008
Apple Blueberry Smoothie