24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The taste is so good. I used butter instead of margarine. The butter was room temperature. I had problems with the oatmeal mixture. Probably because of the butter. I couldn't cut cute squares for a photo. It's too crumbly. I don't know if the butter should have been melted when added to the oatmeal and flour mixture. Maybe it would have help. But the taste is so good. In the apples, I used splenda. Thanks LainieBug :) Made for your win in Bargain Basement tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 13, 2011

sooo yummy! I used 100% whole wheat flour and substituted smart balance for the butter. I would definitely use more apples next time (I used 3 cups - 4 medium apples)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate DeMello September 14, 2011

I made these tonight and I loved them! I cut them into bars and wrapped them individually to place in the freezer. They will make a great, quick snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stikmup May 16, 2010

These were enjoyed tremendously at work, and I got lots of great comments from all who indulged in the break room! I am going to make them again for Thanksgiving, as I know everyone will love them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme November 25, 2008

I baked this in an 8x8 pan for 1 hour and topped it with 1/2 cup pecams. I placed tin foil lightly over the top to keep the pecans from burning. Mine was a little crumbly so I'm looking at increasing the butter to 1 cup. Also, like another reviewer, I'll try a bigger pan to get them thinner. I also upped the cinnamon to 1t and added 1/2 t nutmed and 1/4t cloves. My BF was hit with the scent when he can home and said it was great. For me, more of a crumble than a bar. You have to let this sit overnight to be able to cut it but still a fabulous recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA September 29, 2008

Wow -- I'm the 13th reviewer! Has to be an omen! This is a delicious little bar cookie! I used butter in place of margarine, but other than that, followed the directions exactly. It intrigued me that some reviewers were going to reduce the sugar in the apples. I thought they could be a little sweeter. I may try them with dried apples as Kzim4 did. You don't think they are going to cut nicely, but they do! I cut mine while they were still warm, and they came out perfectly! Lainie, thanks for a wonderful recipe! I will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose June 29, 2008

I had a couple of apples that were getting past their prime and used them in this recipe. It was so easy and very good. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully December 10, 2007

I just made this again. 2nd time in 1 week. Everyone loves it! It was all gone in 1 evening and everyone wanted more. Hubby says this is perfect with ice cream. Almost better than pie. Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookQueen March 12, 2007

Everyone loved these! I will definately make again. Next time I'm going to reduce the amount of sugar on the apples. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crawford112 October 16, 2006
Apple Bars