Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Bars

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2006

      I brought these to church for breakfast. They went over well. I doubled the recipe and put everything into a 13x9-inch pan. I baked it at 375 for 30 minutes. I also drizzled melted white chocolate on top after it cooled. Next time (and I will make this again) I'm reducing the amount of margarine and sugar added to the apples by at least half. I also added apple pie spice, which was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      Oh my this is so good that I have made it twice and will definitely make it many more times! Was picking up the crumbs from the counter. Love oatmeal in desserts which for me is part of the charm- top and bottom layers of a perfect streusel. Both times I used four Granny Smiths and increased cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. First time I used the half cup sugar for filling and felt that it was too sweet. Second time I reduced to 1/3 cup and the next time am reducing it to 1/4 cup for filling. This is huge recipe so second time I divided it up for the two of us by baking into individual pie tins and another pan that was 8 by 8 for when sons are coming. Then I baked all and froze. Worked fine. Thank you very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      I loved these! I used braburn apples, quick oats, and added a bit of nutmeg and cloves, and upped the cinnamon. They were a little thick. Next time I'll try making them in something a little larger than a 9x9. But I served it warm with vanilla ice cream, and YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      I made these using quick oats and reconstituted dried apple slices and it was still great! All the kids really enjoyed this. I can't wait to try it using fresh apples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      This is really good. Cornelia, you're right... apples and oatmeal do go well together. I substituted one cup whole wheat flour for a cup of regular flour. I also added a little cardomom to the apples. Next time I'll add some more apples to the recipe. This one's a keeper, thanks Cornelia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      Wow! These are great! I don't have a 9x9 pan, so I used an 8x8 pan and it turned out fine. It reminds me of apple crisp but better. I only had to bake mine for 35 minutes and it was nice and golden brown and the apples were tender. I only wished I had vanilla ice cream to go with it! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      For me this was too much rolled oats and flour. Mine turned out very dry. I think if I make this again I would use only 3/4 cup oats and 1 cup flour and more cinnamon. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      What a great recipe this is. My son loves it. I doubled the ingredients as I used a bigger baking dish, but I would advise people not to double the sugar, I would say put one and half amount of it. I did not use margarine in the apple mixture or use that much. The oats and apples make a really good combination to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      These were great! Made exactly as recipe states except I used gluten free flour in place of the regular flour. My family ate them almost immediately. Will be making these again tonight. :) Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      Oh my God, these are delicious! With the modifications I made based on others' reviews, they were not overly sweet with a soft, moist bottom and a crispy top layer. Unlike others, however, I found that the amount of oatmeal batter was quite scant for my 9x9 pan... not sure why. I had enough batter to press a thin layer onto the bottom of the pan (which took more than half of it), and I had to kind of crumble the remaining onto the top to try to cover everything as evenly as possible before gently pressing it to spread it out a bit. Next time I will either multiply the batter recipe by 1.5 or use a smaller pan. My changes: 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, half dairy- and soy-free margarine and half applesauce (to make 3/4 cup), 1 tsp cinnamon, a scant cup of brown sugar and about 3 cups of sliced golden delicious apples. I will absolutely make these again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      The taste is so good. I used butter instead of margarine. The butter was room temperature. I had problems with the oatmeal mixture. Probably because of the butter. I couldn't cut cute squares for a photo. It's too crumbly. I don't know if the butter should have been melted when added to the oatmeal and flour mixture. Maybe it would have help. But the taste is so good. In the apples, I used splenda. Thanks LainieBug :) Made for your win in Bargain Basement tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

    • on September 14, 2011

      sooo yummy! I used 100% whole wheat flour and substituted smart balance for the butter. I would definitely use more apples next time (I used 3 cups - 4 medium apples)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I made these tonight and I loved them! I cut them into bars and wrapped them individually to place in the freezer. They will make a great, quick snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      These were enjoyed tremendously at work, and I got lots of great comments from all who indulged in the break room! I am going to make them again for Thanksgiving, as I know everyone will love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      I baked this in an 8x8 pan for 1 hour and topped it with 1/2 cup pecams. I placed tin foil lightly over the top to keep the pecans from burning. Mine was a little crumbly so I'm looking at increasing the butter to 1 cup. Also, like another reviewer, I'll try a bigger pan to get them thinner. I also upped the cinnamon to 1t and added 1/2 t nutmed and 1/4t cloves. My BF was hit with the scent when he can home and said it was great. For me, more of a crumble than a bar. You have to let this sit overnight to be able to cut it but still a fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Wow -- I'm the 13th reviewer! Has to be an omen! This is a delicious little bar cookie! I used butter in place of margarine, but other than that, followed the directions exactly. It intrigued me that some reviewers were going to reduce the sugar in the apples. I thought they could be a little sweeter. I may try them with dried apples as Kzim4 did. You don't think they are going to cut nicely, but they do! I cut mine while they were still warm, and they came out perfectly! Lainie, thanks for a wonderful recipe! I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I had a couple of apples that were getting past their prime and used them in this recipe. It was so easy and very good. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I just made this again. 2nd time in 1 week. Everyone loves it! It was all gone in 1 evening and everyone wanted more. Hubby says this is perfect with ice cream. Almost better than pie. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Everyone loved these! I will definately make again. Next time I'm going to reduce the amount of sugar on the apples. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.5
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    27%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 91.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites