Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Apple Banana Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Banana Cake

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2002

      This was delicious cake and very easy to put together. I used the golden delicious apples as well as pecans, and with the addition of the banana, it was a wonderfully moist cake but not soggy. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      After reading Charishma's review, I just had to try this. We're going to a potluck this evening and I needed an easy dessert. This smelled delicious baking and tastes even better. I used golden delicious apples just because I had them and pecans. This is definitely a keeper. I'm taking whipped cream, but it really doesn't need anything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2002

      If it sounds good to you, trust me, it tastes even better!! If you have really sweet apples (I used 3 MacIntosh & 3 Granny Smith), you can cut back on the sugar - I used 1 1/2 cups and it tasted sweet and awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2002

      The CHAMPION of all cakes is this cake that absolutely is 'TO DIE FOR'! This is the FIRST FRESH FRUIT CAKE I have ever baked in my whole life! Let me tell you the ADVENTURE I had with the baking of this heavenly cake this evening... I decided around 4:50pm to make this. I set off with my egg beater, bowl and all, by 5pm. These are the steps I followed to make the cake mixture: 1. I took a large mixing bowl and beat the eggs, one at a time, until light and fluffy, in it. 2. Next, I added sugar, salt, baking soda and cinnamon and creamed it all well together. 3. Then, I added oil( I used Minara Sunflower Cooking Oil) and all-purpose flour, alternately, and mixed it well. 4. Next in line, I tossed in the walnuts and stirred in the essence. 5. Then, in another bowl, I mashed 2 chopped bananas and added this to the above-made mixture. 6. Last of all, I grated the apples(I used 6 of them- delicious red apples) and added them to the mixture. I did not find it necessary to core the apples. It was easy to grate them once peeled, using my grater. I mixed this sinfully divine cake batter extremely well together. At this point of time, the mixture was sooooo tempting, that I forgot my promises to myself of not to eat between meals, and, I put in my finger into the mixture and picked up a good bit of this mixture. The next second, as you can guess, it had made it's way successfully to the chamber of my mouth:) YUMMY! That very second I knew I'd hit the jackpot! Well then, in my excitement to get this done quickly, I greased a cake tin. I did not read "UNgreased" in your recipe because I was sooooo excited and to reach upto this point, it had taken me an hour(it was 6pm by now). I normally dont bake in my oven. I use my AMC Dutch Oven to bake all my breads and cakes and they all come out beautifully, so, as usual, I put the Dutch Oven on the stove and I was to start pouring this yummy mix into the cake tin, when, the doorbell rang. I ran off to get the door. My cook had arrived. Once he enters, I don't cook:) So, I covered the cake mixture and kept it in my refrigerator. Well, then, by 9pm my cook left home. I got into the kitchen, took out this bowl of the cake mixture, oh my! It was smelling so good!! I wanted to eat it all right away then and there! God bless the powers that stopped me from doing that because of what I got 3 hours from 9pm..read on:) I thawed the cake mixture for 30 minutes. At 9:30pm, I poured it into the greased cake tin and baked it. It took 2.5 hours to bake in my Dutch Oven on very low flame! (My dad jokingly teased me saying that I got to pay for the coming month's gas cylinder supply! LOL):) Ofcourse, the naughty girl that I am, I went about 5 times and opened the lid up, did the toothpick test, no regrets, it wasn't done, as everytime I did the test, I got to lick a yummy bit of this divine and truly addictive cake:) At dot 12am, the alarm on my Dutch Oven went off! Mom called out to me saying that the entire house was smelling WONDERFUL! As I got closer to my kitchen, Oh my, the smell, was getting stronger and stronger... FINALLY- I lifted the lid off the cake tin, checked the cake, YES, DONE! WOW! YUM! That's all I whispered to myself:) Got the cake off the flame, out of the cake tin, and once it was out, it smelt heavenly. My parents said it smells soooooooo good, my bro., the most picky eater alive, said he wanted it all and I am NOT to share it with anyone:) I'll confess I ate a bit before I took it to them all:) You can't blame me now, having heard my story, can You? :-) Thank You for sharing this truly 500000000+ stars deserving recipe! Please do convey my "VERY SPECIAL THANK YOU" to your friend, i.e., who gave you this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      I found it to be very easy, delicious and moist. I used rum soaked bananas in the recipe which kept everybody smiling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      Wow! Talk about moist!! I used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of the 2 cups of sugar stated and I also used 1 and 1/3 cups of all-purpose flour and 2/3 cup of whole wheat to try to make it a bit "healthy". I also used 3/4 cup of roughly chopped walnuts. The cake isn't very sweet which makes it perfect for after dinner, as a snack between meals or in the morning on-the-go. Not sure what kind of apples I used as I had recently been apple picking and just grabbed 5 of whatever was in the bag. This is definitely a great way to use us some old bananas and to try to make a dent in that 25lb bag of apples you have lying around! Enjoy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      Fabulous cake! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
      I used 2 granny smith and 4 red-delicious apples for my apple mix. Not taking out the core helps in shredding (followed what a reviewer wrote).
      Ran out of cinnamon so added a bit of cloves and nutmeg. Heavenly mix of spices :).
      Thank you again for sharing this wonderful and easy recipe. Will be making it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      I made this some months back & making again today. I deviated from the recipe since I didn't have 4 cups of apples. I made up for the apples with shredded sweet potato, used melted organic virgin coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also added unsweetened shredded coconut and decreased the amount of sugar.

      I'll do pretty much the same thing today, but will be using cooked sweet potatoes (thought I would be making candied yams) and sweetened coconut flakes (couldn't find unsweetened) so will decrease the sugar even more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      This was a very delicious recipe! My husband and I enjoyed it for afternoon tea. Thank you so much for posting this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      I've made this at least six times now. It is super moist and delicious! Everyone LOVES it. If your shy on the 4 cups of apple, just add more banana. This cake is a coffee cake AND a dessert cake dressed up with fresh whipped cream. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Hi, i tried this last night and it turned out very good and tasty...although i used only 3 apples instead of 4 cups and no cinnamon it turned out tasty...thanks for the recipe, it was easy for a beginner like me :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      Not too bad at all! If you are using a convection oven I suggest you adjust temp and/or cooking time accordingly. For a twist, instead of using any type of nut, I used one half cup of chocolate morsels. Just carefully folded them into the batter. Very tasty receipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Very good! Really enjoyed this cake. I used a bundt pan instead of a 9x13 and it turned out just as good. I used sweet apples and took the advice of another reviewer and used 1 and 3/4 cup sugar and was perfect. This cake is awesome just as it is, no icing is needed. Will definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

    • on October 05, 2012

      This cake is awesome!! I made exactly as written and would not change a thing. Will make this cake often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      I love this recipe!! I made it for my son's first birthday party and everyone (including him) loved it! It's one of the easiest cakes I've ever made and it's also one of the tastiest! It stays moist in the fridge for days afterward too, so make extra for yourself!!

      I dress mine with a simple cream cheese frosting - it's delicious!
      1 pkg cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup 1icing sugar: beat cream cheese, butter and vanilla until smooth - add icing sugar about 1/4 at a time - very easy

      Thank you for sharing this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      I couldn't grate the apples, so I chopped them instead. I also used less sugar, like what others have done. It turned out great. My mom and I couldn't stop eating it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      I loved this recipe. I used 2 granny smith apples and 2 single servings of applesauce. I also used 3 tsp (1 tbsp) of cinnamon and 1cup of sugar. This cake turned out supper moist and tasty. I topped it off with cream cheese frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      This is the first cake I ever baked and it was simple and delicious! I only had enough sugar for one cup and I found this was plenty. i added a little extra cinnamon and vanilla and left out the nuts. I also soaked the cake in cider after it cooled, to intensify the apple taste. I shall be making this cake many times again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This was SOOO good! I made as written, using pecans and poured into muffin cups. Baked for 18 minutes at 350. I would definately call these muffins rather than cupcakes, but they are great and relatively easy to make. The most difficult part was grating the apples (which wasn't really that hard - just messy). This one recipe made 24 muffins with batter left over to make in 2 mini loaf pans (approx. 1/2 full). Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Banana Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.1
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    32%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 416.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 40.2 g
    161%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites