71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Definitely needs 1/2 tsp salt. I used 1 1/2 apples and it is alittle moist for my liking. Good taste, however. Carole in Orlando

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando October 19, 2002

this was sooooo good, even my husband who is pretty picky eater liked this. Will definitely make this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outi October 14, 2002

totally wonderful! have made this twice now, (on request) made them into small loaves, using "throw-a-way alfoil trays. Took some to the hospital for Sam to munch. She "says" she hasnt got a sweet tooth, but told me not to lose this recipe! It is a very sweet loaf, so the small slices were just right. The grand-girls (2 and 4) wanted theirs with butter. 2nd time around I chopped the apples smaller, and added a little more cinnamon. this is a true keeper for me, and Samantha, (I will make her rate it too ) made for Aussie swap july 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills July 11, 2010

This bread was really delicious, but perhaps a bit too sweet for my taste. I also added 1/2 tsp salt as per the other reviewer's recommendations. I think next time I will find a way to decrease the amount of added sugar, as my bananas and apples were pretty sweet to begin with. Made in mini loaf pans, and baked for 15-17 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Rampage October 05, 2014

This is my first review and I feel I need to let you know that this is now my go to recipe for banana bread. I had maybe 8 bananas and I ended up making 2 breads. One was in a glass loaf pan and the other was in a bundt pan. The glass one had 3 bananas and 2 apples and the bundt had 5 bananas and maybe half a bag of chocolate chips. I baked them together for one hour and turned them midpoint. I should have left the glass one in a bit longer, but other than that they were scrumptious! Definitely a keeper! I made them Monday night and they are both still moist and not in the least dry, and it is Friday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean31566 June 13, 2014

Tasty bread! I used one banana but I would definitely recommend using more because it lacked the lovely banana flavour with only one. Used a little less sugar than called for and omitted the nuts. I loved the apples in this bread. The more, the merrier! I actually ended up liking this bread more the day after. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu November 13, 2013

Just tasted my bread and it's delicious! I mixed in about 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, used two bananas, coarsely grated my apples, and replaced walnuts with pecans. The mix was enough for two slightly less full loaf pans. Cooked for 45 minutes, they came out so moist! Will def make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelysoulthief October 12, 2013

I made this as written, but I cut the apples in large chunks (as it wasn't really specified in the recipe.) It looked very pretty and was moist and very tasty. I'll add a little salt the next time and use "pumpkin pie spices" in addition to the cinnamon. As one of the other bakers did, I'll leave the peels on the apples, too. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clevergirl3 September 16, 2013

Love this recipe
I used Yogurt instead of sour cream
And skins almonds instead of Walnuts

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
camielles October 21, 2012

I subbed applesauce for the butter, used Gala apples, added cinnamon, nutmeg & cardamom; used Sucanat and cut the sugar in half, used 1/2 ww flour and 1/4 cup wheat germ. Made four small loaves. wish I had remembered to add some salt, but very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliCook January 20, 2012
Apple Banana Bread