8 Reviews

Had company the other day & this wonderfully delicious casserole was served as a dessert/snack in the late morning! Couldn't have been better, & the 4 of us ate most of it in one sitting! I must preferred it without the maple syrup, but the others were happy campers with that topping! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 18, 2012

I made a 1/2 recipe as a dessert for the DM and DS (couldn't in my wildest dreams thinks of this as a breakfast dish though the DM would love it to be). I did sub sultanas for the raisings and for dietary reasons used a sugar substitute and served with some vanilla yoghurt but will serve the other half tonight with a sugar free maple syrup. Thank you weekend cooker for a lovely dessert that the DM and DS thoroughly enjoyed, made for Everyday A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 13, 2011

So good!!! I made 1/4 of the recipe, which would serve 2 without a problem. I used a Granny Smith Apple and think next time I would use a less tart apple due to the use of the OJ(which was the non concentrated type), but that was my fault for not thinking about the two. Or, since I usually have Granny Smith apples on hand, not use the OJ and use milk instead. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for the Best of 2011!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 15, 2011

This is fantastic! I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and walnuts instead of pecans, as that's what I had on hand, otherwise made as directed. I served with maple syrup as you suggested but only a little, just to get that maple flavor, as this was already wonderfully sweet. This will be a great breakfast to serve to company over the holidays - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof November 22, 2010

I was not quite sure what to expect and I got a nice dish that could be also a dessert. I diced my apples tine and left the skin on. This was great served with vanilla yoghurt and would be good to try with different fruits like berries or plums!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew November 19, 2010

This went over like gangbusters with my family over the weekend when I made it to bring to my sister's house for brunch! We loved everything about it! I changed up the raisins for craisins but other than that made it from the directions. I made it up ahead and left it in the fridge overnight, then just brought it to my sisters and popped it in the oven. I will definately make this again! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Weekend Cooker! Made for 123 Hit Wonders 5/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen May 06, 2009

This was delicious; I made it for company and everybody loved it. It would also be great with dried cranberries instead of raisins, I think. A wonderful breakfast with fall flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply November 03, 2008

This was a wonderful sweet breakfast treat. What a lovely surprise. The apples, pecans, raisins and orange juice blended beautifully with the egg and brown sugar. It was quick and very easy to put together, with common ingredients found in most pantries. Thanks so much for sharing this new alternative weekend cooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 15, 2008
Apple and Pecan Breakfast Casserole