116 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good. I made them in the crockpot and the longer they cooked, the better the sauce got. The sauce really didn't stick to the meatballs very well. I used Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs for the meatballs and they were very good. This is a tad on the sweet side for us. I added about 2 tsp of red pepper flakes to the sauce to spice it up some. Thanks Kitz :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 25, 2009

Wanted to make an appetizer that my 3-1/2 year old twin granddaughters would like as they LOVE meatballs of any kind. As it turned out everyone loved these, including my son's in-laws from Norway. I made them in advance and threw them in a crockpot to keep warm and they were DELICIOUS! Left out the cayene for the whimpy taste buds but would love to try it spicier in the near future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks October 09, 2009

I'm not giving any stars for this recipe because I noticed just how much jelly and how much brown sugar was in the recipe for chili sauce #52689 and I altered it to suit us. That being said, I'm hoping that people like us, that don't desire the sooo sweet taste, will take a suggestion when they see that I gave no stars. I added bbq sauce, cut back the jelly and added more cayenne. I don't know the quantity...it was add a bit, taste, add a bit, taste until I reached my own personal preference... which was a bit of sweetness, a bit of tanginess, and that afterburn of cayenne. I made Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs (which are wonderful) along with Lil Smokies and they are great. If I were a fan of such sweetness.....5 stars all the way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 September 08, 2009

I needed a quick easy dinner and we just loved this. To make it more meal-like I served it over white rice- then it's just like good ol' fashioned comfort food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super-Wife February 08, 2009

I have made this many times before and I was very happy to find it on Zaar. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan January 02, 2009

What a quick and easy sauce for meatballs! I had a potluck to go to and the sauce was a breeze to whip up. I added some chili pepper flakes because even though I followed the directions to a 'T', it seemed to have an overpowering grape/sweet taste. Once I tossed in a few sprinkles of chili pepper flakes, it zipped it right up with a nice bite, but not too hot. I also added a dash of cayenne using my drop/dash/pinch/tad measuring spoons. I made Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs to go with this. All in all, very good and I will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 December 06, 2008

I don't understand what everyone loves about these. I followed the recipe exactly and they were just OK. They were only even OK b/c I used kittencal's recipe for the meatballs and those came out delicious. I've tried a variation on this that I like a lot; it involves using apricot preserves and some mustard. I just didn't care for this combo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dmar 311 July 29, 2008

Made these tonight in slow cooker. They are delicious! Easy to make too. I added just a pinch of cayenne pepper to give them a bit of 'zip' .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie L. December 31, 2014

Excellent and easy meatball recipe for appetizers or main course. Everyone loves these. I've been making them for years -- got the recipe originally from a Betty Crocker recipe book. Nobody believes the sauce only has two ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmehmel December 24, 2014

The original recipe is called Jelly Meatballs from the Best of Bridge cookbook. It has the addition of brown sugar, lemon juice and a small amount of soya sauce. It also has the recipe for the meatballs which are perfect as they do not overpower the sauce. This is a go to recipe for appie parties and we make the meatballs full size for potlucks. Fav for the guys.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angetorres December 23, 2014
Appetizer Grape Jelly and Chili Sauce Meatballs or Lil Smokies