Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Appetizer Grape Jelly and Chili Sauce Meatballs or Lil Smokies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Appetizer Grape Jelly and Chili Sauce Meatballs or Lil Smokies

    Average Rating:

    112 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 112

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2010

      I have been making these for years. My Aunt gave me the Recipe. Always a big hit at parties. This is an appetizer not an man meat dish. I don't add the pepper and It's very good. I use Armour meatballs found in the frozen meat section of your grocery store. 32 oz jar of Grape Jelly or any jelly really will do.. some use cranberry sauce. And two jars of chili sauce to one 5 pound bag of meatballs is perfect. Will make about 160 meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      I used this sauce to make "worms" for Halloween... slice regular hot dogs length-wise into 4 slices and make tiny cuts sideways along each piece. When you boil them, they will curl up and look like worms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Perfect! It was just what I was looking for. I used a 3 lb bag of meatballs and halved the jelly & chili sauce. Everyone loved them! Yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      These were really good, for the first couple, but too sweet after about 4 or 5 of them. Maybe I'll use less jelly next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Made these for a family get together on the 4th of July and did they go over like fireworks!!! I made my own meatballs (cocktail size)....5lbs. worth.....and every single meatball was eaten!! I couldn't have asked for a better outcome!! Thanks, Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Oh, Oh, Oh, so good! We used to make these years ago around the holidays to snack on during gift wrapping parties, New Years Eve, and for Super Bowl parties. But sadly, I'd forgotten the ingredients. Thanks for bringing back an old favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Love this recipe!!!! My friends/family all looked at me funny when I told them the ingredients but it was a winner at our holiday gatherings. I followed the recipe exactly and used a mixture of meatballs and sausages.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      My aunt does a version of this recipe with currant jelly and ketchup, which I will try sometime, because this one is great! I did use a couple teaspoons of cornstarch to thicken the sauce at the end, and I served this as supper, not an appetizer... Nobody complained!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      These were ok, but a little cloyingly sweet for my taste. Perhaps if some additional spice were put in to balance the grape jelly taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      By far the BEST meatballs ever! I leave out the cayenne pepper...they always disappear on game day get-togethers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      These were very good. I made them in the crockpot and the longer they cooked, the better the sauce got. The sauce really didn't stick to the meatballs very well. I used Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs for the meatballs and they were very good. This is a tad on the sweet side for us. I added about 2 tsp of red pepper flakes to the sauce to spice it up some. Thanks Kitz :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Wanted to make an appetizer that my 3-1/2 year old twin granddaughters would like as they LOVE meatballs of any kind. As it turned out everyone loved these, including my son's in-laws from Norway. I made them in advance and threw them in a crockpot to keep warm and they were DELICIOUS! Left out the cayene for the whimpy taste buds but would love to try it spicier in the near future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      I'm not giving any stars for this recipe because I noticed just how much jelly and how much brown sugar was in the recipe for chili sauce #52689 and I altered it to suit us. That being said, I'm hoping that people like us, that don't desire the sooo sweet taste, will take a suggestion when they see that I gave no stars. I added bbq sauce, cut back the jelly and added more cayenne. I don't know the quantity...it was add a bit, taste, add a bit, taste until I reached my own personal preference... which was a bit of sweetness, a bit of tanginess, and that afterburn of cayenne. I made Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs (which are wonderful) along with Lil Smokies and they are great. If I were a fan of such sweetness.....5 stars all the way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I needed a quick easy dinner and we just loved this. To make it more meal-like I served it over white rice- then it's just like good ol' fashioned comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I have made this many times before and I was very happy to find it on Zaar. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      What a quick and easy sauce for meatballs! I had a potluck to go to and the sauce was a breeze to whip up. I added some chili pepper flakes because even though I followed the directions to a 'T', it seemed to have an overpowering grape/sweet taste. Once I tossed in a few sprinkles of chili pepper flakes, it zipped it right up with a nice bite, but not too hot. I also added a dash of cayenne using my drop/dash/pinch/tad measuring spoons. I made Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs to go with this. All in all, very good and I will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I don't understand what everyone loves about these. I followed the recipe exactly and they were just OK. They were only even OK b/c I used kittencal's recipe for the meatballs and those came out delicious. I've tried a variation on this that I like a lot; it involves using apricot preserves and some mustard. I just didn't care for this combo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      I did this recipe, but in a crock pot for 4 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      FAB! It was delicious and had a bit of a 'retro' feel to it! I served them in a bowl with toothpicks...It could not be easier to prepare..45 mins on the stove and then a couple of hours on low in the crockpot.<br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Have been making this for 40 yrs when you couldn't buy pre-made frozen meatballs. I now buy Rosina Classic 1/2" cooked meatballs. Even though they are cooked, I put them in a 350 degree oven for about 15 mins. to remove additional grease. <br/>I tried making these with the cranberry sauce recipe and they were awful...the cranberry sauce is way too tart! Ended up throwing them out. Stick to this original recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Appetizer Grape Jelly and Chili Sauce Meatballs or Lil Smokies

    Serving Size: 1 (1576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    82%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    meatballs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites