14 Reviews

Too sweet, apples turned to mush and the topping was rock hard.
No one cared for it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaCanCook June 16, 2011

I know this recipe. It's awesome. It was posted by Donna in
vegetarian_group on Yahoo
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/vegetarian_group/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodisiac November 07, 2010

This smells delicious while baking and tastes really good. I made it gluten free by using a rice flour mix (white rice flour & half the amount of tapioca starch, no gum) I used granny smith apples, dark brown sugar on top of the apples and white sugar in the crust, I reduced both by about half along with the butter like another reviewer. Doing that made the batter unable to be poured, but I spooned it on top and it worked out fine. I chose just to use cinnamon as I felt, though I love cardamom, I wouldn't in this. I would make this again and would like to try with more butter than I did but keep the sugar at about half. Made for Sweet Traditions Tag Game - Spring 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 19, 2010

Another winner brought to us all by Kat! :) Seriously, this is one of the easiest and most delish apple pies Ive ever tried! It has a lovely cakey crust and melt in your mouth apple slices for the filling. YUM! I used only 3 apples, cause that looked like plenty to me and reduced both butter and sugar due to personal preferences. Used only 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup butter, which worked out perfectly. Served it with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream and everyone was licking their lips. :) THANK YOU so much for sharing this superb recipe with us, Kat! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #20 March 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 04, 2010

I love cardamom and when I saw this I knew I had to try it. This is so simple to make and it is such a comforting dessert. I ate more than I should have, but Im not complaining! Deelicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetLee52 February 22, 2010

Made this GREAT TASTING PIE almost a week ago & forgot to post a review! I used 4 large Granny Smith apples, & took a tip from littlemafis & added lemon zest, then followed the recipe on down! There were 4 of us here the day I made it in the morning, & it was all gone by 6:30pm! Great pie, great recipe, great keeper ~ Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 18, 2010

I loved this! The cardamon was the reason I tried it and it was great in this pie! Added some lemon rind and reduced the sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia November 12, 2009

I used spartan apples. I reduced the sugar to around 3/4 cup. It's enough. I used the cardamom. Thanks Katzen :) Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 25, 2009

This is a good pie. The only problem I had was how to store the leftover pie. I put plastic wrap on it and put it in the fridge. When I took it out for dessert the next day the topping was all gooey. It really ruined that great first day experience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY October 23, 2009

I had a problem with this. I couldn't drag my lips away from it. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng October 05, 2009
Appelpaj Swedish Apple Pie