31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry but this recipe is awful. Have made Anzacs before and yes the mix is crumbly, but this mix would not bind at all and biscuits had poor texture and average taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leelabette April 02, 2013

I have been baking these for about 20 years, yes the mix is crumbly so be sure to tightly fist a ball of mix (about the size of a golf ball) and then well flatten with the heal of your hand. Allow for spreading room as they do grow in the oven. These need to be cooled before removing from the baking tray as they are soft and will break. These are very crunchy and my kids love the texture and the loud crunch they deliver. An Aussie classic that has been eaten by members of my family for 5 generations as my great grandfather was in the light horse brigade in WW1 and now my kids eat them too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom October 21, 2011

Tasty...BUT...what I got was a very dry and crumbly mixture that would not hold together at all. I added a bit more water and golden syrup but i was not thrilled with the consistency of the dough and had to press it together to make my tablespoons not be all crumbs. I baked as directed and I got a tasty biscuit/cookie but not what I expected. I showed them to a friend in AU who said it was wrong and pulled up several recipes for me...all similar but they mostly used a full cup brown sugar, a full cup coconut, 2 T of golden syrup and 1t of baking soda. The dough moister and the brown sugar allowed for a better spreading of the cookie - the first did not spread at all. The golden syrup I was prepared to have to substitute for and instead found it rather easily here in Florida! However the unsweetened coconut was the challenge to my surprise and finally found it in a health food shop. They didn't know what dessicated was but that is exactly what they were selling. **OK, must be me so I upped the stars. With changes based on other similar recipes still very crumbly and not what I expected..so must just be me. Like I said..tasty no matter what!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance December 19, 2009

Made these for a Geography fair where my son was presenting Australia. They were a big hit. Yummy, crunchy, sweet and buttery --all the good things in life ;). I had to use 1/2 honey and 1/2 dark corn syrup to make up for the golden syrup, couldn't find any where I live and no time to order online.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamonroller April 30, 2009

Yum! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malaliu April 30, 2009

Great flavor; good crispy texture. I added a bit of salt and a bit more water to get the dough to hold together. I baked at 325 and 20 minutes was too long and they got almost burned. Fifteen minutes would have been enough at that temperature in my oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kokeshi doll January 15, 2009

I will make these for Rememberance Day 2009. We have a US/UK/CAN/AUS/NZ/Dutch multi-nation ceremony at a mass grave of 100 Allied POWs who were executed by the Japanese in a cave implosion- and are buried here at Jefferson Barracks National Cemetary in St. Louis, MO. Our Scottish community is very involved, and I represent the Royal Electrical & Mechanical Engineers Past & Present webgroup ( I own an Ex-British armoured vehicle). LEST WE FORGET

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MacKinnon January 04, 2009

Yes I found the mix dry too. Ended up adding extra hot water and golden syrup after the first batch were not as flat as conventional anzacs are. Anzacs are normally quite flat, and crispy - almost snappy. The old Women's Weekly version is probably the classic I am remembering so we will stick to that recipe for our family. However, for an oaty bulky bikky this is delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubberDucky AU April 26, 2008

Yes, the mix is a little dry. I used 2 US TBS of Corn Syrup and water and all worked well. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy April 25, 2008

When making this recipe the mix was very dry. I noticed an Anzac Biscuit recipe on the coconut packet, this recipe called for 2 Tablespoons of water. It also stated add an extra teaspoon for thinner crisper biscuits. As soon as I added the extra water, magic. Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalice April 21, 2008
Anzac Biscuits