Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Anzac Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Anzac Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2013

      Sorry but this recipe is awful. Have made Anzacs before and yes the mix is crumbly, but this mix would not bind at all and biscuits had poor texture and average taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      I have been baking these for about 20 years, yes the mix is crumbly so be sure to tightly fist a ball of mix (about the size of a golf ball) and then well flatten with the heal of your hand. Allow for spreading room as they do grow in the oven. These need to be cooled before removing from the baking tray as they are soft and will break. These are very crunchy and my kids love the texture and the loud crunch they deliver. An Aussie classic that has been eaten by members of my family for 5 generations as my great grandfather was in the light horse brigade in WW1 and now my kids eat them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Tasty...BUT...what I got was a very dry and crumbly mixture that would not hold together at all. I added a bit more water and golden syrup but i was not thrilled with the consistency of the dough and had to press it together to make my tablespoons not be all crumbs. I baked as directed and I got a tasty biscuit/cookie but not what I expected. I showed them to a friend in AU who said it was wrong and pulled up several recipes for me...all similar but they mostly used a full cup brown sugar, a full cup coconut, 2 T of golden syrup and 1t of baking soda. The dough moister and the brown sugar allowed for a better spreading of the cookie - the first did not spread at all. The golden syrup I was prepared to have to substitute for and instead found it rather easily here in Florida! However the unsweetened coconut was the challenge to my surprise and finally found it in a health food shop. They didn't know what dessicated was but that is exactly what they were selling. **OK, must be me so I upped the stars. With changes based on other similar recipes still very crumbly and not what I expected..so must just be me. Like I said..tasty no matter what!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Made these for a Geography fair where my son was presenting Australia. They were a big hit. Yummy, crunchy, sweet and buttery --all the good things in life ;). I had to use 1/2 honey and 1/2 dark corn syrup to make up for the golden syrup, couldn't find any where I live and no time to order online.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Yum! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Great flavor; good crispy texture. I added a bit of salt and a bit more water to get the dough to hold together. I baked at 325 and 20 minutes was too long and they got almost burned. Fifteen minutes would have been enough at that temperature in my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I will make these for Rememberance Day 2009. We have a US/UK/CAN/AUS/NZ/Dutch multi-nation ceremony at a mass grave of 100 Allied POWs who were executed by the Japanese in a cave implosion- and are buried here at Jefferson Barracks National Cemetary in St. Louis, MO. Our Scottish community is very involved, and I represent the Royal Electrical & Mechanical Engineers Past & Present webgroup ( I own an Ex-British armoured vehicle). LEST WE FORGET

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Yes I found the mix dry too. Ended up adding extra hot water and golden syrup after the first batch were not as flat as conventional anzacs are. Anzacs are normally quite flat, and crispy - almost snappy. The old Women's Weekly version is probably the classic I am remembering so we will stick to that recipe for our family. However, for an oaty bulky bikky this is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Yes, the mix is a little dry. I used 2 US TBS of Corn Syrup and water and all worked well. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      When making this recipe the mix was very dry. I noticed an Anzac Biscuit recipe on the coconut packet, this recipe called for 2 Tablespoons of water. It also stated add an extra teaspoon for thinner crisper biscuits. As soon as I added the extra water, magic. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This is the recipe that is in one of my NZ cookbooks and it is reliable and tastes great. A favourite for school lunchboxes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      oops I forgot the coconut, but they still tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Great recipe. I would just add that I wasn't sure (in spite of living in New Zealand) whether or not to squash the cookies down. They didn't look like they were going to spread on their own after a few minutes in the oven, so I squashed them down with a fork. Just thought I should say that, in case people don't know what they're supposed to look like! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      SOOOOOOO yummo!My kids and hubby ate the first batch in no time,I doubled the ingredients for the 2nd batch.Best anzac biccies ever had,thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      My Kiwi husband made them last night -- they're great! We have never been able to find golden syrup in the States, he used molassas instead and they turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Great biscuits,easy to make, I like them soft so I pulled them out 5 minutes earlier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      brilliant just made them, best i have tried

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      I feel like I am walking down memory lane. My great grandmother used to make these for ANZAC day. ANZAC day wouldn't be the same with out these bikkies. many thank as I have been trying to find a recipe that I can use so that my kids can have the same experience as I did! Lest We Forget

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      These are fabulous, reminds me of Almond Rocca LOL. Though it was a bit crumbly. I realized there's no need to chill the dough for they stayed in shape while baking. They're done in 15min UPDATE: i've added 1/2t for the remaining 5 cookies (as suggested by SUDIKA) but i didn't taste anything diff as compared to the plain ones. Again, great crunchy cookies! UPDATE AGAIN: 3rd time i made these, doubled the recipe and still works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      My daughter's Brownie Troop represented New Zealand at our Thinking Day last week and we had Anzac Biscuits. They were so delicious I decided to make more to take to work with me. They are so easy to make I might have to make them all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Anzac Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.4
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    47%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 22.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 143.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites