19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this and ate a huge serving. I used bacon and added some iceberg lettuce and marinated bocconcini. My pasta were tiny alphabet shapes - what fun !! I served the dressing on the side as I am not a mad dressing eater. It was so colourful too. Made for ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew May 31, 2011

I added:
Red Onion
1/2 lb provolone cheese
1/2 lb cappicola
Italian Seasoning, Garlic Powder & dried Basil leaves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilsisserx_9240575 September 05, 2010

This was a hit at my party. I have been looking for an amazing pasta salad recipe and this was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I did double the dressing as others suggested and used black olives only because I know that some people don't like kalamata olive. I would have perferred the kalamatas :) . Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azdaizey August 11, 2008

I loved this simple but delicious pasta salad. Thanks to other reviewers for suggesting to double the dressing and save half of it to stir in before serving. That worked really well. Went well with fried chicken and three-bean salad on our drive-in movie experience last night. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. July 04, 2008

Delicious! I made this salad for my lunch today and for DH to take for lunch tomorrow. I halved the recipe ingredients, with the exception of the dressing ingredients which I left as written, since I noticed other reviewers doubled the amount. This worked perfectly! I used penne (with a couple of shell noodles tossed in), as that is what I had on hand. I thought that the salad had a delicious flavor. I ate mine right away, but I suspect DH will enjoy his even more tomorrow after the flavors have had a chance to meld together. Thank you for posting this easy, tasty recipe. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 30, 2008

Calling this dish a "salad" is a bit deceptive since it's so much more than a salad -- it's a tasty meal in itself! I made a few minor changes: I used bow tie pasta instead of rotini because I like the firmness of bow ties. I substituted a small jar of minced roasted pimento for the roasted red pepper and added a combination of fresh herbs: parsley, oregano and cilantro. I had thin-sliced genoa salami on hand (for sandwiches), so I cut them into narrow strips. I made this salad a day ahead, and like some of the other posters, I added an extra recipe of dressing just before serving since the pasta had soaked up all liquid. This salad has the perfect combination of ingredients, making it possibly the best pasta salad I've ever eaten. It has a very fresh, lively taste, unlike so many pasta salads I've had that just taste like pasta with a a bottle of Italian dressing poured on top. I served this salad with Theresa/Thunderbird's Parmesan Twists. So glad you posted this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunslinger's Wife June 11, 2008

Yummy pasta salad! Great for lunch. I went light on the cheese and salami to lower the fat. Nice combination, leaves the door open for all kinds of substitutions, depending on your preferences.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 24, 2007

I made this yummy salad for Spring PAC '07 and loved the combination of ingredients. However, after mixing up the salad ingredients I knew that 2 Tbsp of vinegar and 1/4 cup of oil wasn't going to be enough. Plus I like a little extra dressing on my salad. I used 3/4 cup of red wine vinegar and 1 cup of olive oil. After tasting it, I thought it needed a little something else so I added in 2 Tbsp of tomato paste and 1 tsp of dried oregano, along with salt & pepper. The tomato paste held the oil & vinegar together and made a nice emulsion, and added a bit of depth to the taste. In the salad, I used tricolor fiori (wagon wheels) and instead of parsley, I used basil and did a chiffonade. I also threw in some chopped red onion that I had on hand. This is a really nice salad, Kim, and has all my favorite things in it! I think next time I may try balsamic vinegar in the dressing, but that's just a personal preference. This really was a delicious salad and will be perfect for summer BBQs since it has no mayo. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kater April 23, 2007

Wonderful salad! I used 1/2 fresh basil and 1/2 parsley, added more wine vinegar and fresh mozzarella balls. Great flavor and outstanding colors!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SqueekyN April 14, 2007

Took it to a party, lots of leftovers, I thought it was Bland, added some Italian dressing when I got home, 5 Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa December 26, 2006
Antipasto Pasta Salad