16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

loved this recipe, gave some out for x-mas and it got rave reviews. i processed it so it would keep and it turned out great. i'll be making a million jars of this in the coming months!!!! thanks,treko

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treko January 07, 2002

I'm sure this makes a lovely tasting antipasto, but it can be highly dangerous to can. Antipasto recipes containing olives or seafood are NOT safe for home canning. Seafood and olives are low acid foods and produce botulism. The following excerpt is from the Bernardin Home Canning website: Note:Because antipasto is available commercially, many people believe they can preserve their own recipe at home. Most traditional antipasto recipes cannot be home canned safely in a boiling water bath canner. (However, some can be frozen successfully.) When the recipe adds low acid foods such as tuna (or other canned seafood), olives, mushrooms, vegetables and/or oil– the resulting food mixture needs to be processed at temperatures higher than those that can be reached in a boiling water canner. These higher temperatures are essential to avoid the risk of deadly botulism poisoning. Processing filled jars of homemade antipasto in a pressure canner is unsuccessful because the temperature/time combinations required to eliminate the risk of botulism destroys the integrity of the vegetables resulting in a product that is almost spreadable.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averina May 09, 2002

The recipe is only dangerous if you are stupid enough to make it so. This recipe is tried and true and enjoyed by hundreds of cooks for many years. Read the instructions, "Bring to a boil, stirring constantly to prevent sticking. Plce mixture IMMEDIATELY INTO HOT STERILIZED JARS, or place in containers for freezing." I think that clearly states the mixture is boiling and jars are sterilized. To clarify the proceedure, From Company's Comming, Preserves, 1996 edition. "The boiling hot food is poured into hot sterilized jars and rims wiped with a clean paper towel dipped in boiling water. Place sterilized metal lids on jars and screw metal bands on tightly." I should add that the lids and tongs used to apply the lids are taken out of boiling water as are any other utensils used. The preserves can be left to cool and store at this stage or if you wish you may put them into a boiling water bath, which in this case I have never felt it necessary. Here is further information: Sealing Jars:Processing in Boiling water bath or pressure canner. - To seal a screw top jar with metal lid, sterilize the lid in boiling water for 5 minutes and place the lid on the jar immediately after filling with the hot mixture being processed. Screw the metal band on securely, but do not tighten. Process in a boiling water bath or pressure canner. Do not retighten lids after processing jars. As jars cool, the contents in the jar contract, pulling the self sealing lid firmly aginst the jar to form a vacuum seal. And more: Open kettle canning - To seal a screw top jar with metal lid, sterilize the lid in boiling water for 5 minutes and place the lid on the jar immediately after filling with the hot mixture. Screw the medtal band on tightly, allow to cool. After the jars have cooled, check for an indentation in the lid to ensure that the jar has sealed. You may remove the medtal screw bands and store. and more: Sterilizing: Jars can be washed, rinsed and sterilized in the dishwasher. Set the dishwasher for the highest water temperature. (Mine has a setting especially for canning jars ), The jars can also be sterilized in boiling water. Wash in hot soapy water and rinse well, invert jars in 3 to 4 inches of boiling water in a large saucepan. Allow to boil for 10 minutes. Leave jars in water until you are ready to fill them. Fill jars while they are still hot. Wipe rims with clean paper towel, dipped in boiling water. Hope this helps to clear up the idea that this recipe is dangerous!! Have never heard of anyone doing pickles, antipasto, etc. in this tried and true way that have run into any trouble. Enjoy!! Dorothy

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf May 13, 2002

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Been looking for this one for quiet a while - saw it on a cooking show went to pull it off the web & @$#^~#$% the only way to get it was order the darn book. Bless You from one who has olive oil in her blood!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers January 17, 2002

Thank you so much for that wonderfull recipe, it is more than good

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanie November 13, 2001

I am 42 years old & have been making antipasto for more than 20 years with my mom. We have never had a problem with botulism. The key is to follow the sterilization process to a tee. I do however suggest subsituting the 1 cup of red wine for 1 cup of red wine vinegar in order to increase the acid content. It will not affect the taste. This is great recipe and should be tried by all. Remember to purchase your ingedients on sale over a period of time to help cut the cost.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nice&spicy March 28, 2011

I only put one star to call attention to the canning issue. I'd definitely give it 5 stars for quality. I notice everyone saying that they've been home canning this recipe for years in a water bath with no problem. I know I certqinly grew up eating home-canned antipasto. And indeed, the odds of botulism developing in the jars is extremely remote. But the then, the odds of being in a serious car accident are fairly remote but we wear our seatbelts nonetheless. Botulism is not just a bit of food poisoning. Fatalities occur and in most cases, it can take up to a year to recuperate from the ventricular and nerve damage it causes ("Botox" is based on microscopic amounts of the botulism bacteria which is what causes the nerves to freeze and minimize wrinkles). <br/><br/>There is simply NO amount of boiling and sterilizing that can completely protect low-acid and protein-based foods from developing botulism. Botulism spores can be latent in low-acid foods (esp fish) and don't present any risk when eaten normally. However, in prolonged exposure to the anaerobic environment of a sealed jar, they can bloom. Only sustained heating at a constant temperature of 120 degrees Celcius (at sea level) will kill latent botulism spores. And since water boils at only 100 degrees, it can't successfully kill them. The high PSI in the pressure cooker causes the temperature to rise to the minimum 120 degrees required and is therefore, the only safe way to 100 percent protect everyone when canning low-acid foods.<br/><br/>Botulism is exceptionally rare and I'm sure we could all go on eating antipasto canned in a water bath as we've done for years and there'd be no problem. But to contract botulism could be fatal to the elderly or vey young so there is some serious--albeit low--risk involved.. <br/><br/>"We've always done it this way and never had a problem" can certainly be a true and valid statement. But I just think if people choose to can low-acid foods in a water bath, they're consciously accepting the small risk and doing so with scientific, rather than anecdotal information as to the absolute safety of certain types of home canning.<br/><br/>But on to a bit of good news: there are no large pieces of tuna in the recipe and they are mixed in with mostly other high-acid foods. Also, smaller jars significantly reduce the canning time so if you use jelly jars (6-8 ounces) and follow the pressure canning guidelines for something slightly similar (like gumbo or red clam chowder) you should find it comes out really nice. If the vegetables go in raw, it's been my experience that after pressure canning, everything keeps its texture, takes on a lovely rich flavour and doesn't get mushy at ALL!! So we can be 100 percent safe and still enjoy our divine homemade antipasto!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angela_jenkins February 03, 2015

I have canned antipasto myself and I did not have any problems. Do follow the canning instructions carefully; if it is sealed properly, you won't have problems with colour change or taste on the food you canned. These canned antipasto come so handy when you have unexpected guests. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppygrew October 27, 2012

I have made a similar recipe for 25 years, but mine contains canned shrimp and red wine vinegar as well. I have never had a problem with spoilage and believe that the large amounts of ketchup and vinegar make it safe to can in a water bath canner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canning junkie October 24, 2012

This was awesome and so easy to make. Best recipes by far. I froze in ziplock freezer bag and was great. Yum Yum Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef N Jones December 20, 2009
Antipasto