16 Reviews

Love these! Because I have such an insatiable sweet tooth - I add cream cheese frosting... so much for healthy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SamanthaK March 13, 2010

Have never tried making anything that substitutes applesauce for the butter or shortening, but these turned out really good. Also, using egg whites only in brownies is a new one for me and it definitely works! I too made only half the recipe. These were delicious and very well may become my favorite brownies. Thanks for posting this recipe, Kree.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie April 15, 2004

These are not at all a fudgy brownie, more like a fudgy chocolate cake but then, I wasn't looking for a fudgy brownie or else I would have just made my The Real Mccoy Brownies. I went looking for this because I wanted two layers of cakey brownie so I could put a layer of marshmallow cream in the center and I frosted it with a good chocolate liquor flavored frosting. OMG amazing! Who would believe these are low-fat? I also added some extra vanilla for a better flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan November 11, 2008

Good recipe, but I think the texture could still be improved. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha November 16, 2007

These were pretty good. I actually topped them with a fudgy glaze, which is what made them. I have to agree with Panthur..there was something missing. These were slightly more cakey than fudgy, and I was looking for fudgy. But thank you anyway for an outstanding recipe for low fat brownies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hum_butterfly November 15, 2007

I thought this was good for being dairy free, but felt it was missing something. Next time I'll try dark brown sugar or molasses and perhaps a better quality cocoa. I halved the recipe and it cooked in 26 minutes in a 9x9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy December 17, 2006

So chewy and delicious! Mine were done in 1/2 the time that it stated, due to reviewers advice that I followed, they were perfect. They did NOT taste low fat!!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` October 05, 2006

Trust the reviewers: don't let these cook for 35 min!!!! I checked mines after 20 minutes (for the full recipe, not halved), and they had already overcooked (nut burned, but too dry) :( Next time, I'll watch them more closely, starting with 15 minutes (and rate then...)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne La Quebecoise June 11, 2005

I loved these, but husband could tell they were "healthy"! I subbed prune puree for the oil, and added some extra plain yogurt to assure moist brownies. I used Splenda and soy flour substitutions. I only baked them for 20-23 minutes...they were yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashley dixon April 12, 2005

I had been looking forward to making these - maybe too much so as I was disappointed. They seemed kind of rubbery. I followed the recipe exactly. I do have to say that they are better than most other low/no-fat brownies I've tried, but I doubt if I'll make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gramara March 30, 2005
Anti-Depressant Brownies