Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Anti-Depressant Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Anti-Depressant Brownies

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2010

      Love these! Because I have such an insatiable sweet tooth - I add cream cheese frosting... so much for healthy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      Have never tried making anything that substitutes applesauce for the butter or shortening, but these turned out really good. Also, using egg whites only in brownies is a new one for me and it definitely works! I too made only half the recipe. These were delicious and very well may become my favorite brownies. Thanks for posting this recipe, Kree.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      These are not at all a fudgy brownie, more like a fudgy chocolate cake but then, I wasn't looking for a fudgy brownie or else I would have just made my The Real Mccoy Brownies. I went looking for this because I wanted two layers of cakey brownie so I could put a layer of marshmallow cream in the center and I frosted it with a good chocolate liquor flavored frosting. OMG amazing! Who would believe these are low-fat? I also added some extra vanilla for a better flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Good recipe, but I think the texture could still be improved. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      These were pretty good. I actually topped them with a fudgy glaze, which is what made them. I have to agree with Panthur..there was something missing. These were slightly more cakey than fudgy, and I was looking for fudgy. But thank you anyway for an outstanding recipe for low fat brownies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      I thought this was good for being dairy free, but felt it was missing something. Next time I'll try dark brown sugar or molasses and perhaps a better quality cocoa. I halved the recipe and it cooked in 26 minutes in a 9x9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      So chewy and delicious! Mine were done in 1/2 the time that it stated, due to reviewers advice that I followed, they were perfect. They did NOT taste low fat!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      Trust the reviewers: don't let these cook for 35 min!!!! I checked mines after 20 minutes (for the full recipe, not halved), and they had already overcooked (nut burned, but too dry) :( Next time, I'll watch them more closely, starting with 15 minutes (and rate then...)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      I loved these, but husband could tell they were "healthy"! I subbed prune puree for the oil, and added some extra plain yogurt to assure moist brownies. I used Splenda and soy flour substitutions. I only baked them for 20-23 minutes...they were yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      I had been looking forward to making these - maybe too much so as I was disappointed. They seemed kind of rubbery. I followed the recipe exactly. I do have to say that they are better than most other low/no-fat brownies I've tried, but I doubt if I'll make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Okay, these are superb! They are even better today than when I made them last night! I think it would also be tasty if one added a little Stephen's flavored hot cocoa to the mix (maybe mint chocolate?). Last night I topped a brownie with caramel and chocolate toppings and Cool Whip...decadent! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      These were the best low fat brownies I have ever tasted. You would never know these were low in fat. I will be making these as part of my christmas goodie tray. I think I will top them with a mocha frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      Dark, decadant and delicious! These are great, Kree. I halved the recipe - and I must warn anyone who tries to do this! Recipezaar's conversion seems to think that half of 1/3 cup is 1/4 cup. Which it is not- its 1/ 6 of a cup, which is about 2 2/3 Tbs. So I just used a scant 3 Tbs of the applesauce and oil I did substitute the egg whites with 1 whole egg (again, that is for a half recipe- its 1 whole egg for every 2 whites) and used Sucanat instead of sugar (and I only used a heaping 3/4 cup measure). I also added 1/3 cup walnuts, because I love my brownies with nuts. Lowfat or not, these are divine! They are nice and dark and very moist and tender. OMG, these smell so good when they're cooking and taste even better. I think next time I might try subbing the boiling water with hot coffee for an even darker brownie (mmm!) and I might try using melted butter instead of the oil (I know you don't do dairy, Kree, but I sort of missed the butteriness) or add a bit of salt. Kree, this is a real winner. One of the best brownie recipes I've ever tried, lowfat or not! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      These are great! Cooking time was 15 minutes. Used 1/2 c sugar, 1 3/4 c splenda, and 2 T corn syrup, but would probably go with more sugar, less splenda next time. Yummy! Edited to say that these brownies have me totally depressed now.... I ate too darned many of them! :) Also, my picky 7-year-old DS loves these-- asked me what I put in them because they're the best he'd ever had. Now *that's* something to write home about.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2004

      This are excellent for low fat brownies, and FAR SUPERIOR to my non fat recipe, which I will never make again! These brownies are also inexpensive to make. Mine cooked very quickly, not more than about 15 minutes, so be careful with the timing! Thanks a bunch for the new brownies recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2004

      These were wonderful! Very fudgy and dark chocolately (my favorite!). I used 1 cup splenda & 1 cup sugar to reduce the calories a bit. I also used olive oil because I realized I was out of canola. They were wonderful anyway. Thanks, Kree!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Anti-Depressant Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.4
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    24%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 36.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites