18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A really good quality sauce. Lots of olive oil, I agree, but we like it that way. Left mine a bit on the chunky side, again to please the family. Made for Aus/NZ recipe swap #56.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive October 06, 2011

This was a really tasty marinara sauce, but I do wish that I had cut back on the olive oil, as it ended up being a bit more oily than I like. I doubled the recipe and froze half the sauce for later use. I used some San Marzano tomatoes, which were excellent. For the sweet onion, I used a Vidalia. I also added the fresh basil with the other seasonings. I can think of some many uses for this sauce. I will be making this again. Made for ZWT7 by a Hot Pink Lady.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 03, 2011

Oh my goodness, this is some GREAT pasta sauce!! I served this as a vegetarian option at a family reunion. Everyone loved the sauce. My sister-in-law couldn't stop raving about it and said it was the best pasta sauce she has had since Italy. Now that is a high compliment! I doubled the sauce and stirred in one pound of cooked angel hair pasta. The only change I used, to make things easier on me while preparing dinner for 18 people, was to use Muir Glen organic chunky tomato sauce instead of the whole/peeled tomatoes. Made for ZWT 7 - Italy Holidays and Entertaining Challenge. Gratzie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood May 31, 2011

This was TASTY. Delish and easy to put together. Sprinkled with parmesan

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 24, 2014

Thanks for the tasty marinara recipe. Did not have sweet onion, so I soaked a chopped one in iced water for one hour. This works very well.
Delicious over pasta.
Done for ZWT7

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde May 30, 2011

This is an excellent marinara recipe. I'm usually more of a spaghetti sauce person, but I could use this recipe again and again. I pureed the tomatoes because I like my sauce on the smoother side instead of chunky. All the ingredients complimented each other very well. I added meatballs and served it over spaghetti noodles. A side salad and some Italian bread with dipping oil and I was in pasta heaven. Made for Nov 2010 Aus/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 November 12, 2010

Oh this is soooooo good! It tastes exactly like the marinara sauce in our favourite Italian Restaurant. YUM!
The garlic, onion and parsley are the perfect match to the fruity tomato. Mmmm!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this easy and super yummy recipe with us, BK!
Made and reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #46 November 2010 - Group Beetroot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 07, 2010

This is a very easy and great tasting marina recipe that I doubled so I would have some to freeze for lasagna later. I used two 28 ounce cans of WalMart brand pear tomato strips with basil in puree and two packages of Truvia sugar substitute. Served over Barilla's whole wheat spaghetti and topped with grated parmesan cheese and enjoyed our supper. Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef Spring 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 April 22, 2010

Gorgeous and easy ! I used tomatoes from the garden and some herbs. Served with gnocchi and cheese. Thanks for lovely dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew February 02, 2010

Quick,easy and very tasty. I took TeresaS's advice and cut back on the oil,which worked out really well. I added a dash of bicarbonate of soda,just to take the acidic sting out of the tomatoes. Kids have been loving this sauce,and I've had multiple requests for pasta in the last week! Great cooked up with some finely diced veggies tossed into it,and it freezes beautifully too! Thanks BK...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo December 09, 2009
Another Tasty Marinara Sauce