Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Another Tasty Marinara Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Another Tasty Marinara Sauce

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2011

      A really good quality sauce. Lots of olive oil, I agree, but we like it that way. Left mine a bit on the chunky side, again to please the family. Made for Aus/NZ recipe swap #56.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      This was a really tasty marinara sauce, but I do wish that I had cut back on the olive oil, as it ended up being a bit more oily than I like. I doubled the recipe and froze half the sauce for later use. I used some San Marzano tomatoes, which were excellent. For the sweet onion, I used a Vidalia. I also added the fresh basil with the other seasonings. I can think of some many uses for this sauce. I will be making this again. Made for ZWT7 by a Hot Pink Lady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Oh my goodness, this is some GREAT pasta sauce!! I served this as a vegetarian option at a family reunion. Everyone loved the sauce. My sister-in-law couldn't stop raving about it and said it was the best pasta sauce she has had since Italy. Now that is a high compliment! I doubled the sauce and stirred in one pound of cooked angel hair pasta. The only change I used, to make things easier on me while preparing dinner for 18 people, was to use Muir Glen organic chunky tomato sauce instead of the whole/peeled tomatoes. Made for ZWT 7 - Italy Holidays and Entertaining Challenge. Gratzie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

      This was TASTY. Delish and easy to put together. Sprinkled with parmesan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Thanks for the tasty marinara recipe. Did not have sweet onion, so I soaked a chopped one in iced water for one hour. This works very well.
      Delicious over pasta.
      Done for ZWT7

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      This is an excellent marinara recipe. I'm usually more of a spaghetti sauce person, but I could use this recipe again and again. I pureed the tomatoes because I like my sauce on the smoother side instead of chunky. All the ingredients complimented each other very well. I added meatballs and served it over spaghetti noodles. A side salad and some Italian bread with dipping oil and I was in pasta heaven. Made for Nov 2010 Aus/NZ Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Oh this is soooooo good! It tastes exactly like the marinara sauce in our favourite Italian Restaurant. YUM!
      The garlic, onion and parsley are the perfect match to the fruity tomato. Mmmm!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this easy and super yummy recipe with us, BK!
      Made and reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #46 November 2010 - Group Beetroot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      This is a very easy and great tasting marina recipe that I doubled so I would have some to freeze for lasagna later. I used two 28 ounce cans of WalMart brand pear tomato strips with basil in puree and two packages of Truvia sugar substitute. Served over Barilla's whole wheat spaghetti and topped with grated parmesan cheese and enjoyed our supper. Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef Spring 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Gorgeous and easy ! I used tomatoes from the garden and some herbs. Served with gnocchi and cheese. Thanks for lovely dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Quick,easy and very tasty. I took TeresaS's advice and cut back on the oil,which worked out really well. I added a dash of bicarbonate of soda,just to take the acidic sting out of the tomatoes. Kids have been loving this sauce,and I've had multiple requests for pasta in the last week! Great cooked up with some finely diced veggies tossed into it,and it freezes beautifully too! Thanks BK...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Yes, you can make a tasty sauce in a matter of minutes. I used diced cut tomatoes which were lightly broken up with a potato masher. I added frozen turkey meatballs and served this over angel hair pasta for a delicious dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I used green onion, a can of diced tomatoes. Something was missing, like maybe more herbs like oregano, thyme... But it's a great sauce to do in no time, so easy to do. Thanks BK :) Made for Gimme 5 tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I loved the ease in making this sauce. I whipped it together for dinner tonight. I did cut the olive oil in half and I'm glad I did because it was on the oily side. I used the stewed tomatoes and simmered it uncovered to thicken it up because it was on the runny side. I loved the sweet flavor of this sauce. I always add a touch of sugar when I make homemade. This has a wonderful garlic flavor. I served it over spaghetti and threw in some meatballs for DH. Thanks for posting. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This was lovely and quick to make and perfect served over our spaghetti. I did add some extra basil while cooking as it was there and I couldn't help myself, I just love fresh basil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I too used crushed tomatoes and add a tablespoon of sugar to compensate (No fault of the recipe). Unlike Cooks4_6 I didn't add any additional salt as we eat low sodium. Made for Spring Photo Tag 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This is a nice quick sauce to use for pizza or pasta. I mixed the basil in the sauce after it simmered....I just can't shake the region of Italy from which my family came...we use basil in our sauce. I also used crushed tomato because my kids don't like chunky sauce; it required a tiny bit more salt and sugar in the end because of this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      This is a great sauce! Very flavorful and easy - and it's nice that it only needs a short time to simmer before it is ready - makes it perfectly feasible to make your own sauce even in a hurry. I ended up removing the lid for the last few minutes to help thicken it up a bit. Thanks for sharing! Culinary Quest '14

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      Excellent sauce. I used fresh tomatoes and the crock pot. Made for CQ 14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Another Tasty Marinara Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.2
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    79%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 158.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites