40 Reviews

I mostly made this for my sister who really loves peanut brittle. It was a major hit! Nice and light, very crunchy! A simple recipe that has a great ending!! Oh, I kept some for me too!! Thanks Miss Annie..another winner!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz February 13, 2003

I followed the directions pretty closely...I added the peanuts at about 225* and cooked it until the hard crack stage (300*F)...it took about 20 minutes. Also, I prewarmed the cookie sheet to make it easier to spread (put it in the oven at 170* for about 5-10 minutes). It came out perfect! Nice and crunchy! I will definately keep this recipe for years to come!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schnitzy December 24, 2009

This is the best brittle ever. I use all kinds of nuts in the recipe, not just peanuts. Pecans seem to be the biggest hit.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lousy Cook March 03, 2010

Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 04, 2014

i hate peanut brittle. like seriously hate it, but i have a lot of friends and family who like it and this year i thought what the hell i'll make some to give out at Christmas. it was my first time ever making candy like this so it was definitely a learning experience but it turned out great and got rave reviews from every one i gave it to so i'd say all around a win win recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gamer Gal January 03, 2012

Fabulous! Crunchy, nutty, goodness. Beautiful color. Easy to make. This will be my 'go to' peanut brittle recipe forever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piper Lee December 24, 2011

I hate giving bad reviews, but I assumed, 5 stars would guarantee an awesome recipe, but 'twas not the case. I followed the recipe to the tee and it turned out to be a whole lot of work for a sticky pile of flexible sugar and raw nuts. I made a batch of this for xmas, and it all went to waste. The stickiness was so unappetizing, and there was no crunch whatsoever. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omJane January 22, 2010

This is wonderful....better than store bought! I made a batch of this today intending to serve it for Christmas but I think that it will be all gone before then. I'm making another batch tomorrow ! Love it ! Thanks for a great one !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher December 21, 2009

It must be me; I found this very tasty but difficult to put together correctly. First batch wasn't cooked long enough (5 min), trashed it. 2nd batch cooked about 30 seconds too long and was REALLY AMBER and smelled burnt, trashed it. 3rd batch, I got it to the right color and by the time I added the rest of the ingredients - it was cooling quickly and was a ball and too difficult to spead out. I chipped out a piece and the taste is fine but it simply doesn't look like ANY peanut brittle I've ever seen. I'll keep trying....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newbie Old Guy December 20, 2009

This is fantastic. I tried one of microwave versions since I lost my grandmothers. There is no comparison! I was so disappointed that I made this and oh boy what a difference. This is what great peanut brittle should taste like. Thanks for sharing your version! This was worth the extra time (few extra minutes).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauraram.z December 18, 2009
Ann's Crunchy Peanut Brittle