Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ann's Crunchy Peanut Brittle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ann's Crunchy Peanut Brittle

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2003

      I mostly made this for my sister who really loves peanut brittle. It was a major hit! Nice and light, very crunchy! A simple recipe that has a great ending!! Oh, I kept some for me too!! Thanks Miss Annie..another winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I followed the directions pretty closely...I added the peanuts at about 225* and cooked it until the hard crack stage (300*F)...it took about 20 minutes. Also, I prewarmed the cookie sheet to make it easier to spread (put it in the oven at 170* for about 5-10 minutes). It came out perfect! Nice and crunchy! I will definately keep this recipe for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      This is the best brittle ever. I use all kinds of nuts in the recipe, not just peanuts. Pecans seem to be the biggest hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      i hate peanut brittle. like seriously hate it, but i have a lot of friends and family who like it and this year i thought what the hell i'll make some to give out at Christmas. it was my first time ever making candy like this so it was definitely a learning experience but it turned out great and got rave reviews from every one i gave it to so i'd say all around a win win recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Fabulous! Crunchy, nutty, goodness. Beautiful color. Easy to make. This will be my 'go to' peanut brittle recipe forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I hate giving bad reviews, but I assumed, 5 stars would guarantee an awesome recipe, but 'twas not the case. I followed the recipe to the tee and it turned out to be a whole lot of work for a sticky pile of flexible sugar and raw nuts. I made a batch of this for xmas, and it all went to waste. The stickiness was so unappetizing, and there was no crunch whatsoever. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This is wonderful....better than store bought! I made a batch of this today intending to serve it for Christmas but I think that it will be all gone before then. I'm making another batch tomorrow ! Love it ! Thanks for a great one !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      It must be me; I found this very tasty but difficult to put together correctly. First batch wasn't cooked long enough (5 min), trashed it. 2nd batch cooked about 30 seconds too long and was REALLY AMBER and smelled burnt, trashed it. 3rd batch, I got it to the right color and by the time I added the rest of the ingredients - it was cooling quickly and was a ball and too difficult to spead out. I chipped out a piece and the taste is fine but it simply doesn't look like ANY peanut brittle I've ever seen. I'll keep trying....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This is fantastic. I tried one of microwave versions since I lost my grandmothers. There is no comparison! I was so disappointed that I made this and oh boy what a difference. This is what great peanut brittle should taste like. Thanks for sharing your version! This was worth the extra time (few extra minutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Awesome, easy to make... I gave it as Christmas gifts..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Very good and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Thank you for this recipe - it was my second attempt at peanut brittle and extremely successful! I did have to cook it for about 10 minutes to reach a "yellow" color but I think that is due to my old and inconsistent stove. I used about 1 2/3 cups of lightly salted dry-roasted peanuts - next time I will use just a little more and a bit more baking soda as well, although this batch is pretty near perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This was our first time ever making peanut brittle and it turned out so beautifully! Thanks Miss Annie! This is very peanuty. Beautiful color too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      It is an excellent peanut brittle. I have made it twice (the most recent batch is cooling right now). The time is way off in the recipe, however. It says to add peanuts and stir constantly until the mixture turns yellow, about 5 minutes. The first time I made it, that step took 15 minutes. Tonight it was just over 13 minutes. That's quite a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      made one batch so family could test it, it was delicious. made 10 more batches for gifts. real enexpensive to give. could not fine raw peanuts at the food stores, went to asian food store and they had them real cheap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Damn good. I added a pinch of salt since I like sweet/salt, and the nuts I used weren't roasted/salted. I agree with another poster that if using roasted nuts that you should add them at the soft boil stage (236F). Thank you for sharing, Ann!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I've tried many peanut brittle recipes and this is the exact texture I've been searching for. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Best peanut brittle ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      I've made this twice now- the first time it was rather pliable because I didn't have a candy thermometer. It was gone in a couple of days. This time, I did have a thermometer, and it worked out better. It's still setting, but the little piece of candy that I put in the freezer to make sure it was good is really good. I used salted peanuts, because I love the combination of salty and sweet. The one thing that I learned making this recipe is that nothing hurts like a sugar burn! Some accidentally splashed up on the spatula, and I felt it right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ann's Crunchy Peanut Brittle

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.9
     
    Calories from Fat 251
    39%
    Total Fat 27.9 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 518.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.6 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 63.6 g
    254%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites