Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Annie's Pecan Pralines Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Annie's Pecan Pralines

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2002

      Authentic, buttermilk pralines. These turned out perfect. Note: I made these on a rainy day and it took at least 10 minutes for my mixture to hit 234 after adding the pecans and butter. Also, I stirred constantly to make sure the pecans didn't burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      While this might not sound good to you...Guys LOVE this...to the listed recipe, add 1 seeded/diced jalapeno( I chop my extremely small)...This give a hint of kick to the sugary delight of the candy...Hope you like it as much as we have...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Very easy to make! I toasted the pecans before adding them to the praline mixture. The taste is amazing! Best pralines I ever tasted! I scaled it down as I only had 1.5 cups of pecans and the calculator worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I have made my version of this recipe for over 25 years. It's the best for taste, texture, uniqueness and ease of prep. LOSE THE GRAININESS! One question...why did you leave out the teaspoon of pure vanilla that goes in just before the beating process? I imagine I can detect when the vanilla is left out. Also if margarine is substituted for real butter (unsalted). I like to control my own salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      While I couldn't get mine to set for some reason, the flavor was AMAZING! The buttermilk totally made this recipe. We ended up using the mixture as a caramel-type topping on vanilla ice cream and it was a huge hit. Next time, though, I'll probably try the other suggestions to see if I can get them to set somehow. Otherwise, I'll try substituting buttermilk for cream in the recipe I normally use and see how that works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Great when you have to quench a sweet tooth craving! We have had them several times and enjoy them every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I think this is perhaps a good recipe for a more experienced candy maker. I had a terrible time getting these to set up. Lots of variables, I know. I finally found another buttermilke recipe from the joy of cooking. It is identical to this recipe (ingredient wise) except that it add 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. This does result in a slight sweeter praline but for me at least, it has a higher success rate. A couple of notes on what I ended up doing...I dissolve the sugar, buttermilk, salt and baking soda. Then under low heat, add 4 Tbsp butter in small chunks and stir until melted. Then insert candy thermometer, increase heat to medium and don't touch it. Don't stir until it reaches softball stage. Then, quickly remove it from the heat, add 1 tsp vanilla and the nuts and then stir vigorously for about 1 minute. The mixture does get creamy and opaque. The brown sugar gives this recipe the color you are used to seeing on NO pralines...kind of a butterscotch color. The all white sugar produces a very dark praline, in fact they look like chocolate. I don't intend to knock this recipe, the flavor as written is superb. With a little more experience, I could probably get them to turn out correctly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This turned out so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Perfect!!! My DH loves pralines, so I thought I'd surprise him and make him a batch. I hadn't made pralines, since I helped my mom in the kitchen when I was a teen, so this was my first attempt at making them on my own. The directions were simple and easy to follow. Your hint about placing a newspaper under the waxed paper was very helpful, it worked like a charm. DH was really surprised and we both thought they were wonderful. Thank you Miss Annie for another winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Annie's Pecan Pralines

    Serving Size: 1 (926 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.3
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    51%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 75.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites