34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was "to die for" good. My DH has never liked my meatloaf but he had a fit over this. I would not change a thing. I got showered with kisses from DH. Thanks for a great recipe.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower May 23, 2002

To NurseDi: Your Ann Lander's Meat Loaf is great. By far,the best I've fixed in ages. My own concotion usually turns out like "Road Kill"! I will definitely be stirring this up again. Thanks for sharing. Laudee

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee May 30, 2002

My husband loved this meatloaf.He could only say where's the pieces. (My meatloaf always falls apart)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kym in Ohio May 04, 2002

Wow, this was delicious. The chili sauce on top was different and tasted great. Definitely a keeper at our house, thanks nursedi!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky H March 05, 2003

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! We LOVED this incredible meatloaf. Moist and did not disintegrate into many pieces when we sliced and served it. Delicious flavor. I have always topped mine with ketchup but the chili sauce is much tangier and we thought it tasted much better.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gracie in NM December 23, 2002

Totally delish! I didn't use the MSG however. (I just didn't have any on hand so I added a couple of pinches of seasoned salt instead) I also didn't use the bacon or the Chili sauce. Instead of the chili sauce, I used a bottled barbeque sauce which I poured over the top (and added to the catsup that went into the beef mixture). I used the Lipton Beefy Onion soup for added flavor. Other than that, i didn't do anything differently than the written recipe. ...oh I added and extra half hour to the cooking time because I had more than 2 lbs. of ground beef. Hey, I'm positive that this recipe is totally awesome when done to the letter, but I compromised according to what I had onhand and it still turned out wonderfully in my opinion. MY POINT: This is a great recipe that allows for so many adjustments according to personal taste, that it deserves much more than 5 stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodFromSicily February 01, 2008

This is an EXCELLENT recipe...easy and quick, unlike some ML recipes. I took another reviewer's correction using 1/2 C warm water and tomato sauce. I mixed the warm water w/onion soup pkt. and let sit for 5 mins to soften onion flakes. I did everything like the recipe said from that point on, except used 8 oz can tomato sauce as topping instead of chili sauce and then sprinkled with a little black pepper. The chili sauce probably has been substituted for the tom sauce as available spices and taste buds have changed over the years. A tip for new cooks, buy 1 lb bacon, separate into 3-4 slices and place in individual freezer bags so when a recipe calls for bacon, you have it on-hand. Thanks, Nurse Di....I'm a on-going fan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady August 27, 2006

NurseDi, thanks for a great meat loaf! It was incredibly easy to make and turned out really great and, best of all, it has a solid consistency that really made it nice for cutting into sandwiches later. I used extra lean hamburger but it was still moist and tasty. Thanks again for sharing it with us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Young March 31, 2003

You know, I can cook a lot of things, and honestly, I have had good success at it, and am even crowned "the best cook in the family" but meatloaf, well I've always had trouble with the meatloaf. Probably just over-thinking it. I have tried COUNTLESS recipes, always dissapointed, never quite achieving the taste and texture I wanted. No more! This little recipe was delicious! I couldn't believe it! And STUPID SIMPLE! I am no longer meatloaf challenged, I have found "my" recipe!<br/><br/>Thanks so much for allowing me to no longer be afraid of a large hunk of ground meat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueguitargirl1985 October 01, 2013

this was very easy to make and was delicious. the liption onion soup mix didn't make it salty at all like another reviewer stated. as a matter of fact i think next time i'll add a little bit more seasonings. the top was delicious and the best part. we even used chili sauce to dip the rest of the meatloaf in. thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies January 21, 2008
Ann Lander's Meatloaf