19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are wonderful! Made the dough in the machine, and like another reviewer, trial and error in the dough strips so ended up folding the strips in half for tying. Melted the butter and garlic in the microwave and used a pastry brush to completely coat the rolls before sprinkling with parmesan. The bread is not as dense as my favorite restaurant version, but the flavor is spot on! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie March 09, 2009

Wonderful recipe! I did use my own bread dough, but I used this recipe as my guide for my garlic butter and parm topping. I used a bit less garlic because I don't like mine overly strong. They turned out wonderfully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa April 12, 2013

The rolls were tasty, but the sauce did not have a lot of flavor to it. I would make the rolls again and try a different sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl July 24, 2010

These were absolutely DELICIOUS!! Thank you:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_78 May 21, 2009

My family loves garlic knots that we get at any of the numerous pizza places. So I knew this would be a hit at my house, and this didn't disappoint. I think next time I might use garlic powder instead of the minced to get a stronger garlic flavor in the butter throughout. Will definitely make these often for my family. Thanks Anme for sharing. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 17, 2008

These were fantastic! My kitchen isn't very warm today so the second rise wasn't as much as other reviewers experienced. I made the recipe as written and got 12 knots. Thanks, Anme.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario September 15, 2008

Yummy! Very easy buns, I double the serving and got 18 knots. I allowed them to rise for about 3 hours, then I made them into knots and let them rise again for 30 mins, then they raised more in the oven. I didn't glaze them when they came out of the oven, but I served the butter sauce in a small bowl for everyone to help themselves at the table. These were made for my daughters 5th birthday party. Thank you Anme

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer May 11, 2008

These were great! After reading the reviews I made 1.5 times the called for amount and got 9 knots out of the dough. BUT I did not anticipate how much they would double up while resting and they turned out huge! I would cut them into smaller strips next time. I baked at 325 instead of 375 as my propane oven is HOT and burns stuff easy. These would be great as breadsticks too (which is how I am making them tonight) brushed with just butter for my garlic hating kids. The only thing is I can't figure out where the olive oil in the sauce is supposed to go - there is no mention of it in the directions. I used it to brush the knots before baking instead of putting it as part of the sauce. Also steps 6 and 8 seem a bit out of order - I didn't preheat my oven until the dough was almost done rising the second time and I didn't heat the sauce until they were almost done baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
6 pack mama May 09, 2008

These were very good and easy to make. It does make a small batch of 12, so if you need more, double the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using rapid rise yeast. When they were done, I used the garlic sauce as is, but added some additional garlic seasoning that has some colored bits in it to give it some color...and alot of garlic flavor...we love garlic!! These were very good...crispy outside and soft inside. We will make again!1 Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mishkapett April 01, 2008

These are delicious! I love the addition of the parmesan cheese to the dough. I forgot to spread oil on the dough after I rolled it out but I don't think it affected the taste. I rolled it out to about a 10"x14" rectangle and used a pizza cutter to cut it into strips. The knots were a little thin, so I ended up doubling the strips over and rolling them into a 8 or 9 inch ropes. I also used only three minced cloves of garlic instead of 3 T. I think next time, however, I will just add the cracked cloves to the melted butter--the pieces of garlic were a little strong. Thanks for a great recipe Anme! My DH, DS and my good friend all raved about them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ February 01, 2008
Anme's Garlic Knots