29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My daughter Teresa followed this recipe to make her first pie. It was delicious; she did a great job and the recipe was perfect! The crust was very flaky. She used gala apples because it's what we had on hand. I'm proud of her! Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie May 03, 2009

My husband adored this pie, as did my other Thanksgiving guests. I will absolutely make this again very soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsM1021 November 30, 2008

This was my first apple pie I ever made. I admit I used pre-made pie crust but everything else was very easy! the first pie I made, I dont think it was smart for me to bake it as directed. I guess all ovens are different. The crumb topping was very hard and I wasn't thrilled. Then, I made it again last night! what a difference. I used Baldwin Apples for both pies. It was the apples my kids picked from our local orchard trees so I had to use them. I decided to cook the apple pie on 350 for 30 min round one and then same temp for another 25 min. I also doubled the crumb topping recipe and it came out much much better! I guess crumb toppings are supposed to be a little firm? I personally like mine soft, but maybe it can't get any softer? thanks for posting! it truly was a great pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Rose October 27, 2011

Awesome tasting and easy to make! My husband said it's the best apple pie he's ever had :) Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lonnie Anne July 31, 2008

Fuji apples were on sale today, so I figured I better make this yummy looking pie! The best part about the pie is the crumb topping - it was just right! I used Shake-A-Pie Crust for the crust as it's the only one I can make! The apple filling is very simplistic; I used the smaller amount of nutmeg and thought I would probably even less next time. I used an 8 inch pie crust for five apples and it seemed to be the right size for this pie. Made for PRMR tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI July 13, 2008

This review is minus the pie crust, cause I apparently inherited my mother's anti-pie crust gene and can't make on to save my life. So I used a pre-made one. The pie itself was AWESOME!!!! It tasted just like apple pie and I loved the crisp crumb topping. It was a little too sweet for me though, so I may lower the sugar next time, but DD and DH rated it A+ I will make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 May 16, 2008

This is a very good apple pie. I followed ingredients per recipe except no nutmeg(personal preference). I think the filling and the topping are great. My DH has trouble making the crust. It was very crumbly and hard to roll out. Made for Please Make My REcipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 03, 2008

We liked it, but felt like it was missing something, maybe butter? Also, I should have used the lesser amount of nutmeg. I precooked the filling on the stove as my apple pies tend to be a little runny and the texture turned out perfect. Thank you for posting Anme. Made for Please Review tag game, please see my rating system as 3 really does mean we liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 29, 2008

Really nice pie, Anme. I made this for Christmas using a premade whole wheat pie crust. I also used whole wheat flour for the crumb topping. 3 large Granny Smiths and a smaller baking apple went into the pie, resulting in a nice tart, toothsome filling. I did have to cook my pie a bit longer than the recipe specified, and I found a heaping 1/4 tsp nutmeg a bit much for my tastes. I will be definitely be making this pie again though. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chiclet January 22, 2008

This pie was excellent. However, I used a different pie crust that I thought was less time consuming and easier to handle (I am kind of a rookie baker). It was Easy As Pie No Roll Pie Crust (http://www.recipezaar.com/93312). Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 January 21, 2008
Anme's Apple Crumb Pie