46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I remember having these little cookies as a child. I was looking forward to making these but was afraid that I wouldn't find a recipe that reflected my memories. I tried this one and it was perfect. What a delightful cookie. My husband who really isn't a lemon fan even loves them!
I made some changes to the recipe. Since I did not have vegetable shortening, I used butter instead and they came out just fine. :)
I also love how these can be classified as a low fat cookie (in my opinion). They don't require much fat at all and you get 24 decent sized treats!
These are much better than bakery Anginetti and so easy to make! Thanks for reading!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FairyCakes February 02, 2011

Quite possibly the best cookie I've ever had!! And I'm a bakers daughter!! I did add a bit more lemon flavor to mine. The raw dough was beautiful to look at and to work with. How is it I am Italian grew up on the east coast and have not heard of these cookies?! Now I'll have to bake more to make up for lost time! Thank you for this recipe it really is WONDERFUL!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medwards18 February 23, 2010

OMG! I grew up in NJ and remember going to my grandparents house in the Bronx. They always had these when when came to visit. They taste just like I remember. Thanks for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
camillecolombo21 February 03, 2010

These cookies are sosososo addictive! I used butter and they are delicious! you won't be sorry making them.The only complaints you will get is that you didn't make enough!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dluvsdogs December 14, 2013

What a great recipe! They came out perfect...exactly the way I remembered from growing up in an Italian household! YUM YUM YUMMM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SimplySuzi February 21, 2011

What a great recipe! These cookies are unique and have great texture and flavor. They had the appearance of small drop biscuits, so next time I might try using a piping bag to form the cookies for a prettier result. These are so good and hit the spot with a cup of coffee after dinner. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Heather December 01, 2009

Very easy to make. But very doughy and little flavor (and I added an extra 1/2 tsp of extract). In the end they are an ok cookie...sadly not leaving me wanting another.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianna T. January 25, 2015

not so Italian. My grandmother always used fresh zest and juice from a lemon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne 'Di' S. August 17, 2014

My family has been making these for years but we called them knot cookies as you roll the dough into ropes and then make knots. My dough was not sticky at all but I made them into balls as the recipe stated. I didn't realize till I tasted them that they were the same flavor/texture as knot cookies. I did not have vegetable shortening, and used margarine instead and maybe that is why the dough wasn't sticky (I don't know?). I used almond extract instead of the lemon. I also found that they did not spread much at all, which was nice. The frosting does not over power the cookie only adds to the flavor. Would make them again as they took less time than the knot cookies and taste the same.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JERSEY FLOURCHILD December 08, 2013

I love the way these look,and they were so simple to make, but the taste wasn't what I was hoping for. I was looking for more pronounced lemon flavor. I'm glad I tried them, but will keep looking for the right lemon cookie for us. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 19, 2013
Anginetti (Italian Lemon Drop Cookies)