49 Reviews

I remember having these little cookies as a child. I was looking forward to making these but was afraid that I wouldn't find a recipe that reflected my memories. I tried this one and it was perfect. What a delightful cookie. My husband who really isn't a lemon fan even loves them!
I made some changes to the recipe. Since I did not have vegetable shortening, I used butter instead and they came out just fine. :)
I also love how these can be classified as a low fat cookie (in my opinion). They don't require much fat at all and you get 24 decent sized treats!
These are much better than bakery Anginetti and so easy to make! Thanks for reading!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FairyCakes February 02, 2011

Quite possibly the best cookie I've ever had!! And I'm a bakers daughter!! I did add a bit more lemon flavor to mine. The raw dough was beautiful to look at and to work with. How is it I am Italian grew up on the east coast and have not heard of these cookies?! Now I'll have to bake more to make up for lost time! Thank you for this recipe it really is WONDERFUL!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medwards18 February 23, 2010

OMG! I grew up in NJ and remember going to my grandparents house in the Bronx. They always had these when when came to visit. They taste just like I remember. Thanks for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
camillecolombo21 February 03, 2010

Recipe was perfect for the cookies, but the frosting surprised me. It did not match the photo and came out like cake frosting. If you're looking for more of a glaze like the photo, add confectioners sugar slowly until you get your desired consistency for a drizzled glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liminosh November 23, 2015

These cookies are sosososo addictive! I used butter and they are delicious! you won't be sorry making them.The only complaints you will get is that you didn't make enough!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dluvsdogs December 14, 2013

fantastic lemony little cookie! these made an excellent addition to this year's cookie plate. didn't have a cookie scoop, but i found a round coffee scoop that worked just fine. i froze them for about a week, then took them out & frosted. they are soft, delicately sweet, and just the right amount of lemon essence. and they look festive & frosty on a holiday tray. just wonderful. thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
groovyrooby December 26, 2011

What a great recipe! They came out perfect...exactly the way I remembered from growing up in an Italian household! YUM YUM YUMMM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SimplySuzi February 21, 2011

What a great recipe! These cookies are unique and have great texture and flavor. They had the appearance of small drop biscuits, so next time I might try using a piping bag to form the cookies for a prettier result. These are so good and hit the spot with a cup of coffee after dinner. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Heather December 01, 2009

My son asked me to make lemon cookies today for his scout picnic, I didn't know what to expect but thought this would work. These are really a nice, refreshing little treat! I did modify a touch, I put some lemon zest (about 2/3 of a lemon) in the batter and then the rest, along with the juice of that lemon (didn't quite make a 1/4 cup so I added water to get full measurement) to the glaze. It's the perfect sweet and start to the cookie. These are going into the summer baking rotation for sure! I am already planning on making some for a girlfriends birthday I a few weeks as a hostess present!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessika Clingner May 14, 2016
Anginetti (Italian Lemon Drop Cookies)