18 Reviews

Wonderful dish. I only used 1/4 cup of white wine and a dash of ground red pepper instead of red pepper flakes. I did not add the cream. It had a nice light flavor with just a hint of a sting to it, delicious. I used imitation crab as lobster is very expensive where I am but I bet it would have been even better with real lobster. I also thickened it with cornstarch. A keeper for sure but next time I think I'll just use shrimp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 January 14, 2010

this is really quick and simple to prepare and tastes wonderful! i also used half a pound of sea scallops in addition to the shrimp and lobster tails. this is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia May 31, 2003

We made this for dinner last night and found it easy and tasty. As others have said, the taste is really mild and we did not even notice the lobster that much (for the price, DH said we could have gotten away with all shrimp). I would add more garlic and red pepper next time. I had the same problem with thin sauce, though we cooked longer and it seemed to thicken up a bit. I topped with Parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 15, 2013

I agree with alot of the other reviews....wonderful, quick, simple,,,,WOW. I also added some scallops and reduced the sauce . Might add some more red pepper and more garlic next time but definitely would make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay December 29, 2011

Very flavorful dish, but my sauce didn't stick to the pasta either. I even added some starchy water from the pasta, and some Parmesan cheese but it still didn't thicken up. I think I'm going to make it again but I will add some flour to it and see what happens. This recipe is definitely worth doctoring with because it doesn't overpower the seafood, yet it adds a wonderful subtle flavor. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp May 08, 2010

WOW! I have had this in my "Make Soon" cookbook but never got around to it. Had some leftover lobster from NYE that I removed from shell and froze. I know. I know. I live in the boonies and cannot get fresh very often so I bought extra live lobster when they were available for NYE. Anyway, I used frozen, thawed lobster and shrimp. The only change I made to your fantastic recipe was that and the fact that I used linguine rather than angel hair. This is a DIVINE recipe! Even using frozen! The sauce was a bit thin as others stated so I thickened it with a little cornstarch as per their input. This would be fab with mushrooms or broccoli or whatever but this is so divine on its own why add other things? lol Kim this made an amazingly sexy and romantic Valentine's Day supper for dh and me! Paired with a great white wine and some crusty bread! mmmmmm! Thanks for sharing this sweetie! U made this lobster shy girl a lobster lover!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) February 24, 2010

Excellent dish. Took advice of another reviewer and added mushrooms. After reading the numerous reviews regarding the thinness of the sauce, I decided to reduce the wine and chicken broth to half which gave it a richer flavor, took out the lobster and shrimp when done, then added whipping cream and reduced the sauce by half again before putting the fish back in to reheat. Resulted in a perfect consistency. I left the fish in the sauce and just spooned it over the pasta, as I was using black squid ink pasta and wanted the contrast. Thanks for making our TGIF dinner a memorable one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keeney March 07, 2009

This had a very mild, delicate flavor (even though there is a significant amount of garlic and some red pepper). I, too, found the sauce too thin. It ended up sitting at the bottom of the pasta bowl, even though I had tossed it well. If the sauce was only thicker and clung to the pasta, I definitely would have given 5 stars. It is something I would like to play with, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! February 23, 2009

Phenomenal! We were celebrating new beginnings last night and at the last minute (noon) I asked DH to grab some lobster (on sale) and 1/2 and 1/2 on the way home from work. We added a salad and some wine and holy smokes!!! This was one our favourites in the last year. I added some mushrooms while the shallots sauteed.. nice touch Thanks much Kim...you helped us celebrate!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lifeswruff January 31, 2009
Angelic Shrimp and Lobster