168 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Its official - this is the best angel food cake recipe! I baked one following the recipe exactly and entered it at my county fair. I won the Champion prize for baked goods! (This is higher than a blue ribbon.) I talked with one of the judges afterward, and she raved about how good the cake was. Unfortunately, the judges ate it all, so I didn't get to taste it :( Will definitely make another soon so I can have it all to myself! Thanks Charlotte!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StayAtHomeLumberJack August 08, 2011

Very good cake. I did wonder about not greasing the pan and sure enough I had some sticking issues. The taste is very good, but I had expected it to be a tad lighter and spongier. Overall a very solid 4 star recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaeElle February 26, 2011

I picked this recipe because it had so many good reviews. My cake didn't rise, as I thought it was supposed to. I saw that all the other recipes say to fold in the flour, and do not beat, so maybe I will try that next time. My husband thought it was great, and he really likes angel food cake, so guess it is just me. It was easy though, and can't waite to try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy sue February 11, 2011

Wow! Charlotte, I always thought Angel Food Cake was boring - I was wrong! The flavor and texture of this cake is divine. Thank you for a true keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 02, 2011

A very good cake, thank you for posting it! I made it for a family gathering, it was gone soon. I didn't have vanilla so I used only almond extract, smelled like marzipan then ;-).We ate the cake with whipped cream and blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wiebke October 05, 2010

What more can I say than FABULOUS! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meringue August 29, 2010

Fabulous easy angel food cake. I loved the use of both almond and vanilla extracts. It had such a great density while still being so light! I will be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 August 04, 2010

What a great recipe! This was my first try making an angel food cake, and it was absolutely perfect. We have tiny little eggs here in Australia, so I measured out 1.5 cups of egg whites instead of counting out 12 eggs. The cake is even better than I expected, and I am enjoying eating it with strawberries and cream, or just sneaking a piece plain when no one is looking. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Tracy- June 30, 2010

Every time I make this, I get rave reviews and absolutely no leftovers! Apparently angel food cake is supposed to be a pain to make, but so far (in multiple ovens, climates, and seasons), this recipe has been no-fail. The first time I made it to take to a housewarming party for a couple. There was about 1/4 of the cake left after everyone got a slice, and the husband polished off the rest within about 5 minutes. I typically serve it with macerated strawberries, but it's great on its own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squirrel bait June 07, 2010

This cake is wonderful!!! I just made it for strawberry shortcake & I could eat the whole thing even w/out the strawberries! Super easy to put together...this recipe will definately go in the family cookbook!!! Thanks for sharin!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Misty June 03, 2010
Angel Food Cake - Homemade