175 Reviews

I cannot get this recipe to work at high altitude. I've tried several different strategies, but none work. The flavor is amazing, but I don't recommend the recipe if you live at high altitude. Giving 5 stars because it tasted great and I'm sure it would work perfectly at a lower altitude.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyojess March 17, 2014

Perfect! Thank you for the wonderful directions. I'm so glad you mentioned cracking each egg separately. I had no idea that I was that bad at separating eggs. Loved the texture and flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 02, 2014

So flavorful I had to give it five stars. For some reason my cake did not come out as light as I would have liked. I'm wondering if I didn't beat the egg whites enough. The only thing I did different was to add a half of teaspoon more of vanilla and almond extract. We ate it plain and loved it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita January 21, 2014

Great with mashed strawberries & whipped cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah July 04, 2013

This was my first stab at angel food cake. I had no expectation that I'd pull it off--everyone says how hard it is to make. Surprise, surprise: it did turn out and it was absolutely delicious! Instead of vanilla and almond extracts, I just used raspberry (reduced to 1 tsp total). It gave the cake a perfectly subtle raspberry flavor. I plan on doing that every time because it was so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy at Food.com July 03, 2013

Soooo goood!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skb289 June 19, 2013

Great recipe! So easy to make and it tasted wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meanreds71 June 16, 2013

After seeing all the great reviews, I just had to try making my first AFC from scratch. Very easy, and taste amazing. Totally agree with the others........I Will Never Buy Another Box Mix!! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okie915 April 22, 2013

This is great, but too sweet for me - will try with less sugar next time. I just used regular flour, sifted, no Cream of Tartar, and more Vanilla Extract instead of Almond Extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimaveraJuana April 16, 2013

Best ever! Good tips also about no yoke and tapping the pan, else you will get a tasty but flat cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hforster March 14, 2013
Angel Food Cake - Homemade