162 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic!!
I have tried for three years straight to make an angel food cake, and failed miserably; until now. This cake worked so well and the extra tips and tricks helped enormously. Hurrah! Now a favorite recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShantiPixie April 05, 2012

always loved angel food cake, but never made one home made. i decided to make this for my daughters birthday cake, very clear easy instructions, came out soooooo much better then boxed...who knew? i also made "never weep" whipped cream (toby jermain) and split the cake in 2. mixed the whipped cream with fresh strawberries and blueberries for the middle then frosted the cake with remainder of whipped cream!! excellent. thanks for recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie March 07, 2012

What a beautiful consistant cake, and the flavor is outstanding. Fresh fruit and the never weep whipped cream topping recipe 74805 make the most wonderful combination of flavors. A must for anyone who is an angel food fan! Makes those sotore bought cakes taste like sponge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie727 August 26, 2011

AMAZING!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Athena Mitsell August 14, 2011

Its official - this is the best angel food cake recipe! I baked one following the recipe exactly and entered it at my county fair. I won the Champion prize for baked goods! (This is higher than a blue ribbon.) I talked with one of the judges afterward, and she raved about how good the cake was. Unfortunately, the judges ate it all, so I didn't get to taste it :( Will definitely make another soon so I can have it all to myself! Thanks Charlotte!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StayAtHomeLumberJack August 08, 2011

Very good cake. I did wonder about not greasing the pan and sure enough I had some sticking issues. The taste is very good, but I had expected it to be a tad lighter and spongier. Overall a very solid 4 star recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaeElle February 26, 2011

I picked this recipe because it had so many good reviews. My cake didn't rise, as I thought it was supposed to. I saw that all the other recipes say to fold in the flour, and do not beat, so maybe I will try that next time. My husband thought it was great, and he really likes angel food cake, so guess it is just me. It was easy though, and can't waite to try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy sue February 11, 2011

Wow! Charlotte, I always thought Angel Food Cake was boring - I was wrong! The flavor and texture of this cake is divine. Thank you for a true keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 02, 2011

A very good cake, thank you for posting it! I made it for a family gathering, it was gone soon. I didn't have vanilla so I used only almond extract, smelled like marzipan then ;-).We ate the cake with whipped cream and blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wiebke October 05, 2010

What more can I say than FABULOUS! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meringue August 29, 2010
Angel Food Cake - Homemade