Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Angel Food Cake - Homemade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Angel Food Cake - Homemade

    Average Rating:

    159 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 159

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2009

      I'm not going to rate this because this makes the umteenth homemade angel food cake I have made and it didn't turn out any better than the other. I don't know why I can't make a good angel food cake. I think I'm done with them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      This was a big hit for our Mother's Day get-together. I made just as directed, but used a metal bundt cake pan, as that was all I had. I was a little nervous, as I heard that the cake could stick to the side, but it turned out just fine. Cake was sooo pretty and tasted amazing!! We served it with "never weep whipped cream #74805 and strawberries. Yummy!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      I love angel food cake but hate paying the price at the store. With 12 eggs the price is probably worth it, but we have chickens so it works out. However, I did love this recipe! It was very moist and had such a wonderful flavor! A ton better than the angel food cake box mix!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      WOW! Great cake! I do agree with some others that this cake is just a tad too sweet. Next time I will cut back the second 3/4 cup of sugar to 1/2 cup and see if that makes a difference. (By the way, I used vanilla sugar.)Otherwise I will still make this cake again. My first time making Angel Food Cake; glad I found a fool proof recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      DARN DARN DARN! I used way too small a bundt pan (minimum you need a 10" x 4" bundt cake pan, and I used one a size smaller. It overflowed over the top and I was able to cut the overflow off, but when it flowed over the top cooked way faster than the bottom and the rest I was left with was undercooked. The flavor was excellent and had it been cooked properly (and that was all my own fault- first try though.) it would have been excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      With a layer of strawberries and whipped cream this cake was refreshing and out of this world goodness in every luscious bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      DELICIOUS, FLUFFY angel food cake. However, I omitted the almond extract and added that much more vanilla. It was 100 times better. Me and my husband are not big fans of almond flavoring though. Awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was my first attempt at angel food cake and it was a hit. I used 2 tsp lemon extract instead of the vanilla and almond. I also made 4 mini angel food cakes instead of one big one, and baked for 25 minutes. I served mine with a raspberry whipped cream made by adding 1/4 strained raspberry puree to fresh whipped cream. This recipe was really good, really pillowy and soft, and really easy to follow. I might cut back on the sugar a little bit because it was quite sweet for my taste, but it was still very good. I will definitely be using it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Awesome easy to follow detailed recipe. Never made Angel food cake before and it came out great the first time we made it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      fantastic cake!! smart idea is to cut parchment paper to fit in the bottom of your bundt cake pan if you don't have a 2-piece one (so it doesn't stick!). the cake was HUGE when it came out of the oven, but turning it over and letting it cool smushed everything down where it should be. i made it on sunday and today (monday) there's only 2 slices left! thanks for such an awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I'm not sure what went wrong, but I only had this cake in the oven for 10 minutes and it started to smell like burnt marshmellows. Things I would change for next time, I didn't use cake flour, I wasn't sure how important that is, so I just used regular white flour, perhaps that's one reason it didn't turn out. I also didn't use an angel food cake pan, I just used 2 round pans, and it was pretty flat, and a little burnt on the bottom. I just cut that off and it tasted really good, it just didn't have the fluffy consistancy of the real angel food cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

    • on July 08, 2008

      OMG, Angel Food Cake is my all time favorite cake and NOW I can make it from scratch! Thanks so much. Much better than store bought. Most of the time I will make it plain or serve with fruit but I made it for Easter and iced it with Fluffy 7 Minute Frosting . As a kid this was my favorite way to have Angel Food Cake (and still is) ymmmm. ******************************************* 7/08 I made the cake again for the umpteen time but my internet was down so I tried to remember all the ingredients, etc. I forgot to add the sugar to the eggwhite at first and when I did, the whole recipe dropped and I thought I had a liquid mess. I cooked it in two round cake pans and although it wasn't light and fluffy, like normal... it was still delicious... good as strawberry shortcake base. I just love this recipe... even when I mess it up! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      You weren't kidding! This really is the *best* angel food cake recipe (and I've made plenty of them). YUMMY!!! Thanks for the step by step instructions and the tip about "spanking" the pan.....never heard of such a thing, but it works! It's awesome.....really. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This cake was my first time cooking with egg whites - my first attempt came out way wrong -something went wrong with the eggs. On my second attempt I was getting really frustrated because my egg whites never created a firm peak and I don't know how long I used the beater. But I finished it anyways and it came out soo delicous!!!! It was perfect with strawberries but it is soo good plain as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Thanks for posting this! I've never liked angel food cake, but this was excellent. Will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      all i can say is wow i made this cake today and it was gone in 1 hour my family LOVED it that much thank you for posting it will be in my recipe files for a very long time i only wish i could give it more than 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

    • on May 21, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe. Goes great with our fresh strawberries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Angel Food Cake - Homemade

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    65%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 77.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 20.5 g
    82%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites