168 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After seeing all the great reviews, I just had to try making my first AFC from scratch. Very easy, and taste amazing. Totally agree with the others........I Will Never Buy Another Box Mix!! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okie915 April 22, 2013

This is great, but too sweet for me - will try with less sugar next time. I just used regular flour, sifted, no Cream of Tartar, and more Vanilla Extract instead of Almond Extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimaveraJuana April 16, 2013

Best ever! Good tips also about no yoke and tapping the pan, else you will get a tasty but flat cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hforster March 14, 2013

Tried baking the cake last evening. It takes about 45min for the crust to turn brown. The structure is so fine and smooth. The cake is moist even though it don't have any oil or butter in it! I reduced the sugar to only 2 cups of 1/2 and 2 tablespoon but my low-sugar family still consider it is too sweet for them. Overall I'm satisfied with the cake and it taste better than what I've thought! I'll definitely try it again but with less sugar for a perfect taste for my family! Thanks for this great recipe, Charlotte!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen9898 October 17, 2012

wonderful wonderful cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellmill August 24, 2012

I tried this today and like some others mine didn't rise. I am going to try to fold in the flour instead of using the low speed on mixer. My mom always made amazing angel food cake. I was hoping mine would turn out like hers. Sadly it didn't. I am giving this 5 stars because it tastes good and I am sure the mistake was probably mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop May 10, 2012

Fantastic!!
I have tried for three years straight to make an angel food cake, and failed miserably; until now. This cake worked so well and the extra tips and tricks helped enormously. Hurrah! Now a favorite recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShantiPixie April 05, 2012

always loved angel food cake, but never made one home made. i decided to make this for my daughters birthday cake, very clear easy instructions, came out soooooo much better then boxed...who knew? i also made "never weep" whipped cream (toby jermain) and split the cake in 2. mixed the whipped cream with fresh strawberries and blueberries for the middle then frosted the cake with remainder of whipped cream!! excellent. thanks for recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie March 07, 2012

What a beautiful consistant cake, and the flavor is outstanding. Fresh fruit and the never weep whipped cream topping recipe 74805 make the most wonderful combination of flavors. A must for anyone who is an angel food fan! Makes those sotore bought cakes taste like sponge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie727 August 26, 2011

AMAZING!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Athena Mitsell August 14, 2011
Angel Food Cake - Homemade