164 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was by far the best recipe for Angel Food cake. The directions were easy and the cake turned out awesome. One thing to add, when trying to get the cake out of the pan, use a plastic spatula, it does wonders and it won't wreck the cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brown2013 July 22, 2013

My cake came out a bit dense. It tasted fine with whipped cream and strawberries, and looked beautiful. But I guess I was expecting a spongier or softer cake. One thing that confused me a bit, which could have been avoided had I read the entire recipe first, was instruction #4. It says sift cake flour and sugar, so I sifted both and put them in the same bowl. Later in the recipe, you need to add the sugar, and then the flour, separately.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LawyerMom August 27, 2007

Yum,yum....yum! Just bought a angel food cake pan and saw this recipe had the most stars, so I decide it use it, now I know why!! I was planning on using the liquid white eggs in the carton, even bought an extra one so I'd have enough to equal the 12 eggs but I read the carton before hand an it said not to use for angel food cakes because of pasturization. So, I only had 10 eggs and used the carton stuff to make up the 2 I was missing. Also sub'd all but 1/2 cup of baking sugar with Slenda. Added 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice. It didn't get as tall as the picture but came out tasting great...I would definately make it again. Serving it with fresh California strawberries. Thanks so much for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeph's Wife March 10, 2007

Great classic recipe! I made as written, except with a smidge more almond extract. Perfect. This type of cake is best served some hours after cooling as the flavor and texture take time to set, so be sure to leave adequate time before serving. Very good, easy too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaylee January 20, 2007

I have made angel food cake from scratch before, but this recipe is truly wonderful : ) Your instructions are simple to follow for perfect results! The cake is as light and fluffy as an angel food cake should be and has a marvelous taste and texture. Thanks again for sharing your recipes with us, Charlotte!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 30, 2006

This was my first time to make an angel food cake. I have never had any luck making "stuff" with egg whites, but this turned out great. My kids, who don't like angel food cake, ate this. Of course, we had to have strawberries with it. One of my husband's favorites. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~kdp April 06, 2004

I couldn't purchase a Angel Food Cake mix from the the grocer and I am glad that I couldn't. This recipe is super!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day January 29, 2004

My first attempt at angel food cake and it turned out perfect! Thank you for the wonderful recipe! Only thing I didnt have was almond extract so I just used a little extra vanilla. I did use large egg whites for the eggs. Thanks again Charlotte!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever November 26, 2003

I made this cake tonight and just had to come and post a review right away. It's delicious! I've never made an angel food cake before and just always bought the store bought kind. I don't think that I'll ever buy the store bought ones again! I've never been very good with egg whites, so either this recipe is VERY forgiving or I finally got it right. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. This is a definite keeper in my recipe box!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AudreyBG November 08, 2003

I made this for my father in law for his birthday. First time I have made a cake...any cake from scratch and it turned out absolutely perfect. My father in law and mother in law absolutely loved it. Thank you so much for submitting this recipee. I Have recently moved to the UK and can't find boxed angel food cake mixes. Believe me, I won't even look since I found the perfect recipee.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen Sargeant September 17, 2003
Angel Food Cake - Homemade