177 Reviews

Absolutely amazing cake!!! Thank you, Charlotte, for the easy and excellent step by step instructions!!! I've always loved Angel Food and had never made it... I chose this recipe because of all the 5* ratings, and they were dead on! In case it's helpful, for 12 large egg whites I used what other websites suggested as equivalent and measured 1 1/2 cups egg whites and actually only used 9 eggs. Evidently eggs here (in Argentina) are bigger :) ? Since we don't have cake flour down here, I looked up the equivalent to 1 cup minus 2 tbsp flour, and weighed 110 grams of flour and then added 2 tbsp cornstarch. I cut the cake in half and filled it with whipped cream and strawberries, and frosted it with light pink Italian Meringue made with a recipe adapted from ?Mastering the Art of French Cooking? by Julia Child that was printed in the New York Times and posted in the internet by MARIAN BURROS. To cut all the sweetness of the meringue I served the slices with a side of sliced strawberries and blueberries. Everyone at my friend's birthday party raved about this marvelous cake. Again, Charlotte, thank you for such an excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous July 13, 2015

I have chickens and therefore many eggs.. This is an an awesome recipe that I have taken to wedding reception, dinner parties and of course at home.. Everyone raves about it Suggestion I would have though.. I fold the dry mixture in as I was taught in school and it definitely better than mixing with the mixer..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
betheangel July 10, 2015

Charlotte, your recipe is incredible! I followed it exactly as written (even folding in flour with a stand mixer, a method of which I was skeptical) and the resulting cake was amazing! One note about whipping egg whites from Julia Child's The Way to Cook 1989: pour 1 tablespoon white vinegar and 1 teaspoon salt into a bowl and wipe clean with paper towels - do NOT wash bowl as the traces of vinegar and salt help to stabilize the egg whites - if using this method, do not add any additional salt listed in the recipe. A quick step and... it couldn't hurt!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchen1161 November 06, 2013

This was by far the best recipe for Angel Food cake. The directions were easy and the cake turned out awesome. One thing to add, when trying to get the cake out of the pan, use a plastic spatula, it does wonders and it won't wreck the cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brown2013 July 22, 2013

My cake came out a bit dense. It tasted fine with whipped cream and strawberries, and looked beautiful. But I guess I was expecting a spongier or softer cake. One thing that confused me a bit, which could have been avoided had I read the entire recipe first, was instruction #4. It says sift cake flour and sugar, so I sifted both and put them in the same bowl. Later in the recipe, you need to add the sugar, and then the flour, separately.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LawyerMom August 27, 2007

Yum,yum....yum! Just bought a angel food cake pan and saw this recipe had the most stars, so I decide it use it, now I know why!! I was planning on using the liquid white eggs in the carton, even bought an extra one so I'd have enough to equal the 12 eggs but I read the carton before hand an it said not to use for angel food cakes because of pasturization. So, I only had 10 eggs and used the carton stuff to make up the 2 I was missing. Also sub'd all but 1/2 cup of baking sugar with Slenda. Added 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice. It didn't get as tall as the picture but came out tasting great...I would definately make it again. Serving it with fresh California strawberries. Thanks so much for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeph's Wife March 10, 2007

Great classic recipe! I made as written, except with a smidge more almond extract. Perfect. This type of cake is best served some hours after cooling as the flavor and texture take time to set, so be sure to leave adequate time before serving. Very good, easy too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaylee January 20, 2007

I have made angel food cake from scratch before, but this recipe is truly wonderful : ) Your instructions are simple to follow for perfect results! The cake is as light and fluffy as an angel food cake should be and has a marvelous taste and texture. Thanks again for sharing your recipes with us, Charlotte!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 30, 2006

This was my first time to make an angel food cake. I have never had any luck making "stuff" with egg whites, but this turned out great. My kids, who don't like angel food cake, ate this. Of course, we had to have strawberries with it. One of my husband's favorites. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~kdp April 06, 2004

I couldn't purchase a Angel Food Cake mix from the the grocer and I am glad that I couldn't. This recipe is super!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day January 29, 2004
Angel Food Cake - Homemade