Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Angel Food Cake - Homemade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Angel Food Cake - Homemade

    Average Rating:

    162 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 162

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2003

      Thanks so much Charlotte. My DH loves Angel Food Cake and thought this was terrific. We had it several nights in a row with strawberries and whipped cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      Charlotte, great recipe. Thanks! I iced it with YUMMY Chocolate Whipped Cream icing and strawberries. It was wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2014

      Charlotte, this is just delightful! THE best angel food I have ever made! It has been a weekly dessert in my home for a month! The height, the texture, the delicate flavor....surpasses every other angel food cake recipe out there. Will never even try another. Heavenly, served with a little whipped cream and a peach slice. But this little gem is amazing served just alone...no need to guild the lily :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      Very light, fluffy, and totally delicious! I especially appreciated the detailed instructions as I used the recipe to help someone make their first ever angel food cake. The cake was terrific and made lasting memories of cooking with a friend. Thank you for sharing this keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      I was hesitant to make this, doubting whether it would be as good as the angel food cake mix. But it turned out really well! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      This recipe worked for me (used my own farm eggs that were about a week old). I'll try it a couple of more times to see if I can get consistent results.<br/><br/>Remember, the reason you do not grease the pan is so that the cake can "grab" the sides to climb (rise). My guess is that people are using a non-stick pan or spraying them with a bit of oil and that is the reason the cake falls.<br/><br/>UPDATED 05-21-2014: I have used this recipe many times and each time it has worked out perfectly!!! I've changed up the flavorings and have used caramel extract which is my new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      I cannot get this recipe to work at high altitude. I've tried several different strategies, but none work. The flavor is amazing, but I don't recommend the recipe if you live at high altitude. Giving 5 stars because it tasted great and I'm sure it would work perfectly at a lower altitude.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Perfect! Thank you for the wonderful directions. I'm so glad you mentioned cracking each egg separately. I had no idea that I was that bad at separating eggs. Loved the texture and flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      So flavorful I had to give it five stars. For some reason my cake did not come out as light as I would have liked. I'm wondering if I didn't beat the egg whites enough. The only thing I did different was to add a half of teaspoon more of vanilla and almond extract. We ate it plain and loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      Charlotte, your recipe is incredible! I followed it exactly as written (even folding in flour with a stand mixer, a method of which I was skeptical) and the resulting cake was amazing! One note about whipping egg whites from Julia Child's The Way to Cook 1989: pour 1 tablespoon white vinegar and 1 teaspoon salt into a bowl and wipe clean with paper towels - do NOT wash bowl as the traces of vinegar and salt help to stabilize the egg whites - if using this method, do not add any additional salt listed in the recipe. A quick step and... it couldn't hurt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      Great with mashed strawberries & whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      This was my first stab at angel food cake. I had no expectation that I'd pull it off--everyone says how hard it is to make. Surprise, surprise: it did turn out and it was absolutely delicious! Instead of vanilla and almond extracts, I just used raspberry (reduced to 1 tsp total). It gave the cake a perfectly subtle raspberry flavor. I plan on doing that every time because it was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Soooo goood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Great recipe! So easy to make and it tasted wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      After seeing all the great reviews, I just had to try making my first AFC from scratch. Very easy, and taste amazing. Totally agree with the others........I Will Never Buy Another Box Mix!! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      This is great, but too sweet for me - will try with less sugar next time. I just used regular flour, sifted, no Cream of Tartar, and more Vanilla Extract instead of Almond Extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Best ever! Good tips also about no yoke and tapping the pan, else you will get a tasty but flat cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Tried baking the cake last evening. It takes about 45min for the crust to turn brown. The structure is so fine and smooth. The cake is moist even though it don't have any oil or butter in it! I reduced the sugar to only 2 cups of 1/2 and 2 tablespoon but my low-sugar family still consider it is too sweet for them. Overall I'm satisfied with the cake and it taste better than what I've thought! I'll definitely try it again but with less sugar for a perfect taste for my family! Thanks for this great recipe, Charlotte!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      wonderful wonderful cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I tried this today and like some others mine didn't rise. I am going to try to fold in the flour instead of using the low speed on mixer. My mom always made amazing angel food cake. I was hoping mine would turn out like hers. Sadly it didn't. I am giving this 5 stars because it tastes good and I am sure the mistake was probably mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Angel Food Cake - Homemade

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    65%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 77.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 20.5 g
    82%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes