Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Angel Food Cake - Homemade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Angel Food Cake - Homemade

    Average Rating:

    161 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 161

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2002

      Charlotte, this is a wonderful cake!! Took it to work for a special person's birthday, it was a huge hit. Filled the tunnel with Peaches and whipped cream, iced it with whipped cream and placed some peach slices around the top. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      I agree this is the "BEST" angel food cake recipe! I received the same recipe from my mother-in-law and in is now a must for birthdays and Oh! just for the fun of it! Just a note: when I make it I use 12 "Large" eggs(whites). Simply Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      I made this cake before with my Aunt. It won best tasting at a contest in North Carolina. Only .1 grams of fat and so much better than storebought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      This is definitely a great angel food. I only had five egg whites so made half a recipe and baked it in a loaf pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Super easy. Used 1 cup minus 2 T flour and 2 T corn starch since I didn't have any cake flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This cake was very tasty, and everyone loved it. I did have a major problem though which was similar to another reviewer. While cooling the cake upside down it fell out of the pan even though it tested done before I removed it from the oven. I finished cooling it on it's side after pushing it back into the pan. I did everything as the directions stated, so I decided to look at some other recipes to try to figure out what the problem might have been. Some other recipes say 12 egg whites or enough to equal 1 1/2 cups. I am thinking that since I used farm eggs and some of them are pretty big that I ended up with too many egg whites...so next time I am going to measure my egg whites to see if this will correct the problem. Thanks for posting!! After retrying this recipe for the third time, I found that it worked better to reduce the temp. to 350 and cook 40-45 minutes to ensure it was fully done and prevent it falling from the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This was great. I used an immersion blender to chop the sugar to a finer texture (as recommended in other recipes) and couldn't find cake flour, so I took two TBS out of a cup of regular flour and added two of cornstarch. I made the quantity indicated in two 5 X 13 inch loaf pans, put a piece of parchment paper only on the bottom of each to aid in getting them out. They came out great, about 4 inches high, cooked wonderfully. Thanks for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Charlotte, today I made this cake and I just couldnot wait to write a review. This is the best angel food cake recipe I have ever come across. I didnot have cake flour, so I used 1 cup all purpose flour - 2T of all purpose flour 2T of corn starch. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and the result was a perfect professional angel food cake. Also I had no problem in gettng the cake out of the pan, which is just amazing because I hadn't greased the pan. Thank you so much for sharing such a classic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      If there's a better angel food cake out there, I haven't tasted one. I agree with other reviewers ... I will never make a boxed angel food cake again! I didn't have cake flour so substituted 1 cup all purpose flour, less 2 Tbsp, plus 2 Tbsp. cornstarch. Don't know what the difference would be if I had used cake flour but then again, this was so good, I'm not sure it matters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Delicious angel food cake. I don't have a tube pan, so I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan. It was more dense this way, but still tasted great on its own as well as along with strawberries and cool whip. The whole loaf went tonight (brought supper to some friends) and there were only 4 of us! I know this doesn't need another review, but thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This was by far the best recipe for Angel Food cake. The directions were easy and the cake turned out awesome. One thing to add, when trying to get the cake out of the pan, use a plastic spatula, it does wonders and it won't wreck the cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      My cake came out a bit dense. It tasted fine with whipped cream and strawberries, and looked beautiful. But I guess I was expecting a spongier or softer cake. One thing that confused me a bit, which could have been avoided had I read the entire recipe first, was instruction #4. It says sift cake flour and sugar, so I sifted both and put them in the same bowl. Later in the recipe, you need to add the sugar, and then the flour, separately.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Yum,yum....yum! Just bought a angel food cake pan and saw this recipe had the most stars, so I decide it use it, now I know why!! I was planning on using the liquid white eggs in the carton, even bought an extra one so I'd have enough to equal the 12 eggs but I read the carton before hand an it said not to use for angel food cakes because of pasturization. So, I only had 10 eggs and used the carton stuff to make up the 2 I was missing. Also sub'd all but 1/2 cup of baking sugar with Slenda. Added 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice. It didn't get as tall as the picture but came out tasting great...I would definately make it again. Serving it with fresh California strawberries. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Great classic recipe! I made as written, except with a smidge more almond extract. Perfect. This type of cake is best served some hours after cooling as the flavor and texture take time to set, so be sure to leave adequate time before serving. Very good, easy too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      I have made angel food cake from scratch before, but this recipe is truly wonderful : ) Your instructions are simple to follow for perfect results! The cake is as light and fluffy as an angel food cake should be and has a marvelous taste and texture. Thanks again for sharing your recipes with us, Charlotte!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      This was my first time to make an angel food cake. I have never had any luck making "stuff" with egg whites, but this turned out great. My kids, who don't like angel food cake, ate this. Of course, we had to have strawberries with it. One of my husband's favorites. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      I couldn't purchase a Angel Food Cake mix from the the grocer and I am glad that I couldn't. This recipe is super!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2003

      My first attempt at angel food cake and it turned out perfect! Thank you for the wonderful recipe! Only thing I didnt have was almond extract so I just used a little extra vanilla. I did use large egg whites for the eggs. Thanks again Charlotte!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      I made this cake tonight and just had to come and post a review right away. It's delicious! I've never made an angel food cake before and just always bought the store bought kind. I don't think that I'll ever buy the store bought ones again! I've never been very good with egg whites, so either this recipe is VERY forgiving or I finally got it right. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. This is a definite keeper in my recipe box!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      I made this for my father in law for his birthday. First time I have made a cake...any cake from scratch and it turned out absolutely perfect. My father in law and mother in law absolutely loved it. Thank you so much for submitting this recipee. I Have recently moved to the UK and can't find boxed angel food cake mixes. Believe me, I won't even look since I found the perfect recipee.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Angel Food Cake - Homemade

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    65%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 77.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 20.5 g
    82%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites