166 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Charlotte, this is a wonderful cake!! Took it to work for a special person's birthday, it was a huge hit. Filled the tunnel with Peaches and whipped cream, iced it with whipped cream and placed some peach slices around the top. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 02, 2002

I made this cake before with my Aunt. It won best tasting at a contest in North Carolina. Only .1 grams of fat and so much better than storebought!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David Michael Gann February 10, 2003

I agree this is the "BEST" angel food cake recipe! I received the same recipe from my mother-in-law and in is now a must for birthdays and Oh! just for the fun of it! Just a note: when I make it I use 12 "Large" eggs(whites). Simply Yummy!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortstuff August 02, 2002

This is definitely a great angel food. I only had five egg whites so made half a recipe and baked it in a loaf pan.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 27, 2010

Super easy. Used 1 cup minus 2 T flour and 2 T corn starch since I didn't have any cake flour.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc October 19, 2010

This cake was very tasty, and everyone loved it. I did have a major problem though which was similar to another reviewer. While cooling the cake upside down it fell out of the pan even though it tested done before I removed it from the oven. I finished cooling it on it's side after pushing it back into the pan. I did everything as the directions stated, so I decided to look at some other recipes to try to figure out what the problem might have been. Some other recipes say 12 egg whites or enough to equal 1 1/2 cups. I am thinking that since I used farm eggs and some of them are pretty big that I ended up with too many egg whites...so next time I am going to measure my egg whites to see if this will correct the problem. Thanks for posting!! After retrying this recipe for the third time, I found that it worked better to reduce the temp. to 350 and cook 40-45 minutes to ensure it was fully done and prevent it falling from the pan.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Last Ember March 06, 2010

This was great. I used an immersion blender to chop the sugar to a finer texture (as recommended in other recipes) and couldn't find cake flour, so I took two TBS out of a cup of regular flour and added two of cornstarch. I made the quantity indicated in two 5 X 13 inch loaf pans, put a piece of parchment paper only on the bottom of each to aid in getting them out. They came out great, about 4 inches high, cooked wonderfully. Thanks for this great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconstant January 09, 2010

Charlotte, today I made this cake and I just couldnot wait to write a review. This is the best angel food cake recipe I have ever come across. I didnot have cake flour, so I used 1 cup all purpose flour - 2T of all purpose flour 2T of corn starch. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and the result was a perfect professional angel food cake. Also I had no problem in gettng the cake out of the pan, which is just amazing because I hadn't greased the pan. Thank you so much for sharing such a classic recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srabona October 30, 2010

If there's a better angel food cake out there, I haven't tasted one. I agree with other reviewers ... I will never make a boxed angel food cake again! I didn't have cake flour so substituted 1 cup all purpose flour, less 2 Tbsp, plus 2 Tbsp. cornstarch. Don't know what the difference would be if I had used cake flour but then again, this was so good, I'm not sure it matters.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker August 19, 2010

Delicious angel food cake. I don't have a tube pan, so I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan. It was more dense this way, but still tasted great on its own as well as along with strawberries and cool whip. The whole loaf went tonight (brought supper to some friends) and there were only 4 of us! I know this doesn't need another review, but thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 June 12, 2010
Angel Food Cake - Homemade