Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Angel Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Angel Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2002

      These biscuits had a wonderful flavor, but didn't rise up as high as I expected. UPDATE: The flavor and texture of these biscuits were so wonderful, I had to try them again. This time I rolled them about 1 inch thick and instead of using my round cutter, I just cut them into squares with a knife. They rose up wonderfully and my family all agreed this are the best biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      I was touched by the introduction, what a nice thing to say. As far as the biscuits, they were easy to make and delicious. I'm not sure if you would consider this a compliment, but my kids thought they tasted like the biscuits from KFC. They alway scramble to eat the last one! Your MIL must have been a great cook, thank you so much for sharing her wondeerful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Fantastic, gorgeous biscuits. Rose up like crazy and were wonderful in texture. My husband, who will not put a bite of food into his mouth that is not perfect and pristine, ate two big buiscuits before dinner tonight. I put in one third white whole wheat flour because I love it, and used 3/4 cup of butter instead of shortening. I also used the powdered buttermilk and they came out just fine. I had to bake them for 16 minutes, but then my oven is not exactly trustworthy and I have to keep an eye on everything I bake. Anyway, my very first try making biscuits with yeast, and it was an excellent success. Thanks, Darlene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      THANK YOU! I've made probably 7-8 different biscuit recipes over the years much to my family's chagrin. They've been awful. I finally decided that maybe it was a yeasted biscuit that I was in search of. Well, I've finally found THE biscuit. Mine didn't raise quite as nicely as those in your photos, but they were delicious. I did make some substitutes, so that may have had something to do with it. I made mine using all pantry items. I used bulk yeast, so I added 2 1/4 t yeast. I didn't have buttermilk, so I added 2 T vinegar to 2 C reconstituted powdered milk. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used Self-Rising Flour which was, 1 C all-purpose flour, 1 1/2 t baking powder and 1/2 t salt made up to make the 5 C needed for the recipe. I personally felt they were slightly salty with all the salt from the self-rising recipe too, but no one else did. I've finally found my answer to the hockey pucks we've been avoiding. They were delicious and easy. Thank you.

      This was entirely a pantry meal for us, because we served them over sausage gravy made from 2 pints of home-canned sausage (one hot and one regular), reconstituted powdered milk and flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      These are wonderful. I have been looking for a good biscuit recipe for a long time & finally found it, my son even said to "keep this recipe". I didn't have self rising flour & used all purpose & it came out great. I also didn't have buttermilk & made a substitute with milk & vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Great biscuits! I made my own self-rising 1/2 wheat/regular flour. I also used butter flavored shortening that I had chilled for a little bit before cutting in. To keep the biscuits from being too tough, I try not to knead too much or roll too hard. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      These were easy to make and what I liked was that I did not have to bake the whole batch but could bake what I needed and store the balance in the fridge. Its great having this on hand for for lunch you can use a portion the size of an egg or larger, flatten it out and roll it around a wiener, evening the dough around the wiener and bake in your toaster oven until golden brown. Good for the kids to make their own snacks or light lunches. You could probably make pockets using leftover cooked meat similar to pizza pockets with this dough as well. The biscuits dough instructions were clear and ingredients were ones that you would have on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2014

      These certainly deserve all the 5 star ratings. So easy and soooo good. One of the best biscuits I've ever made. They rose so pretty and so light inside. I only did a couple of things different that really made very little difference. First, cut the recipe in half, as there are only 2 of us, and before putting in the oven brushed with an egg wash only because I love the shiny topping it gives. Next time I will reduce the oven temp as it was to hot for mine and they got a little to brown. So think I'll go with 350 but then that's probably just my oven. These not only look pretty but are so nice and fluffy, and rose up great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I'm revising my review, and adding a star to make it a solid FIVE! I made these again, and this time they richly fulfilled the promise of the other rave reviewers. Not sure what I did wrong the first time...but this time, YES. Still maintain the dough needs more salt than indicated, but that's my personal pref.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      These were THE BEST biscuits I've ever put in my mouth! I've made a few recipes, and like mostly everybody that's posted has said they come out has hockey pucks. My hubby said we could have used my hard biscuits to fix the driveway...lol...these were lovely tho. I even made some and took to my parents house and they both just bragged on them. My dad put some strawberries over his and loved it! Thank you so much for this recipe. My hubby also said it was a keeper! I also love the fact that u can keep these in the fridge for a while! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      These are super good biscuits! They were especially delicious with Sawmill gravy poured over them. I divided the recipe so it only made six, as I didn't need 24 biscuits. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening instead of all shortening, and made my own buttermilk by adding a little lemon juice to regular milk. These actually turned out soft, instead of the hockey pucks I usually get when trying to make homemade biscuits. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Great tasting biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Really nice recipe. I used purchased self rising flour and found it just a bit too salty. When I make them again, I will leave out the salt entirely (considering the saltiness from all the soda and baking powder.) I might up the sugar as well. They came out picture perfect, and were great with Sawmill gravy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      These are GREAT! My grandchildren can't stop eating them! (even the picky ones!) They now tell their moms that "they HAVE to make them like mamaw does". Thanks so much for sharing the great recipe MarlaM! [yes, I DO have to make them everytime they're over]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • These are so light and delicious! We enjoyed them with our roast beef dinner. I could eat one of these any time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Great biscuits! These are wonderful. Thank you for such a great recipe and a tender biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      My DH said fell in love with these after the first bite. I think he had 6! Thank goodness the recipe made a lot more :) We loved the lightness and flavor of these biscuits, and we will have again soon with some beef stew as soon as the weather cools off a little more. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This is definately a keeper. My husband who doesn't really care for biscuits has asked me to make more of these and often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      These were just like KFC biscuits! So fluffy and wonderful! THank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I wanted a good Biscuit recipe and have tried several. I tried yours and I love it. I even put them in the freezer and they did wonderful. I just thaw them out before baking them and they turned out great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Angel Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.8
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    45%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 547.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes