Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Andy's Spicy Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Andy's Spicy Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2008

      Man! This was good. I made it in the CROCKPOT. And it was perfect after about 6 hours on High. DH ate 3 bowls full -- and so did I! The only other change was that I also added a can of green chilis.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

    • on December 10, 2010

      This was a good recipe to make on a cold night. We made it exactly as written, except that we substituted Sriracha sauce for Tobasco. The amount of soup this recipe made was awesome- we froze the leftovers so we'll have a quick dinner some other night. I did find the base of the soup a bit watery, so I think we'll add a little less water next time. Additionally, we will add a little more hot sauce next time b/c it wasn't quite spicy enough for us (we like a good bit of spice) even though we used a spicer sauce. Thanks for sharing, we'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      really good. i didn't have hot pepper sauce, so i added ground red pepper and red pepper flakes. next time, i'll use only one or the other, not both or just less in general. i made it waayyy to spicy, but underneath the spice, it was amazing. I used frozen peas and corn and added garlic powder. I will definitely make this again, probably the next timee it snows.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I did this in the crockpot as well. Easy and turned out great. I would say that for my tastes there was too much potato (although I feel like a jerk for saying that when it is called potato soup!). I wonder if someone can think of something else we could add instead of about 1/2 the potato? I also wouldn't say that this is very spicy at all. If you really like it spicy you have to kick it up a lot! THis is a great start to a wonderful recipe. Thanks so much Andy WOld!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

    • on September 17, 2007

      Loved this recipe! The soup is hearty and filling and the recipe is as easy as throwing items in a pot. I substituted tomato sauce for a 26-oz can of italian sausage style spaghetti sauce and added a bay leaf to the pot while simmering. I'll be keeping this recipe nearby for those cold midwest winter days! A perfect way to warm up. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This was actually really good!! I followed the recipe to a "T," except I added some extra red pepper flakes cuz I like it HOT!! If I were to do anything different, next time I won't add the corn... I just don't like the texture of corn in soup (I'm a freak like that!!) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

    • on December 27, 2006

      Super easy to make. I didn't have tomato sauce and corn, so I used a jar of spaghetti sauce and a can of green beans. I kept all other ingredients the same, but cooked for nearly 2 hours, and took other reviewers' advise by adding a chicken buillon. I served this with french loaf that we had in the fridge, and it was marvelicious! Will definitely be making this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This soup was very good. I used a half lb. of beef and left everything else the same. It warmed use up very well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      Easy to make. Good for throwing together and running. I definitely would add beef bouillon and more hot pepper sauce. This is also good with some fresh parmesan over the top with a crusty garlic toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I agree with the other reviews, this is perfect for a cold and wet day like today has been. I used ground turkey and took the advice of truebrit and added some chicken bouillon. I also used chili flakes in addition to a couple of bayleaves. This went perfect with cheddar and green onion biscuits Cheddar & Green Onion Biscuits. Wonderful, my family loved coming home to the smells and comfort a big bowl of this soup, thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      Excellent Soup! This is one we will make again and again. Easy to make and perfect for a cold rainy day. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      This soup was souper!!! It was hearty and comforting, perfect for a cold, snowy day like today! I didn't need to drain the grease in step 1, as I used lean ground beef. I let the soup simmer for about 2 hours, to ensure the potatoes were soft and the flavors blended well. I added a couple of beef bouillon cubes to the broth to give it a beefier flavor. I didn't have any hot pepper sauce, so I added a dash of red pepper flakes instead. I served the soup with some homemade bread, and everyone thought it was MMM...GOOD!!! Thanks, Andy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Andy's Spicy Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.6
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    34%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1084.7 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes