Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Andreas Viestad's Norwegian Red Onion Soup With Port and Jarlsbe Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Andreas Viestad's Norwegian Red Onion Soup With Port and Jarlsbe

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2012

      My Norwegian wife tried this. We even had Jarlsberg in the house. We essentially threw it out. Sickeningly sweet and not very flavorful, and not worth the effort. She will continue making her French Onion soup instead, which is worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I am rating this just from taste testing the cooking spoon - it is still simmering and I know it will be fab - I used 2/3 cup dry red wine and I don't have jarlsberg but will sub in some good quality cheese. We don't usually have a big bag of RED ONIONS on hand so I was glad to find this recipe. Will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      I am happy to report that if you accidentally grab the identical looking bottle of Tawny Port instead of the Ruby Port it still comes out beautifully. Fantastic soup! The Jarlsberg really makes it. Thanks for a great winter recipe Chef Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Kate, I liked this.. but an old friend of the family used to make a similar recipe to this (sadly I never got to get the recipe)and her's is the benchmark that I am striving to find again in a recipe anywhere. This recipe is good .. and I would make this again as it's tastey and full of flavour, please see my rating system, an excellent 4 stars :) Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      Absolutely wonderful! Great depth of flavour. I used 8 onions as the red onions I had on hand were extremely small and I wanted to ensure there would be enough (there was!). The Port provided lots of flavour and was a brilliant addition. Used rye bread and Swiss Gruyere as Jarlsberg is unavailable here. Super recipe. Easy to make, very fast, filling - I'll be making this a lot over the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Fabulous soup, easy and delicious!! I halved the recipe...easy to do but used a little more than half the chicken stock...just had plain old wheat bread, left it out over night and it was "stale" enough...fancier bread would be great, but when you don't have it, plain old wheat worked just fine! Great recipe Chef Kate!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Delicious!! This soup goes together very quickly and easily. The onions give this soup a sweet, delicate flavor that is outstanding. I didn't have pumpernickel bread so I used leftover French bread. The Jarlsberg was delicious. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe...it is definitely a keeper. I am so glad that I chose to make this recipe for the Zaar World Tour 2006.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      This soup was terrific, Kate. Such a delicate combo of flavors w/the sweet red onions, port wine & broth ... so much better than the way-too-salty typical French onion soup. I subbed Gouda for the cheese & was sad I couldn't find it here. My DH & I both loved this & it has found a new home among our favorites. Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      Did someone say soup is ready! I let this soup simmer alot longer. I also doubled the port as advised by Latchyand I also did use jarlsberg cheese. The soup was just fantastic! As for onion soups this is a A+! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      Magnificant! What a fabulous flavour. I took Latchy's advice and doubled the port and also cooked it for longer than stated, in fact I let it simmer away all afternoon. Whatever you do don't omit the Jarlsberg cheese stage, it's essential for this recipe. Thanks Chef Kate for a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      This soup was just so good, I halved the basic recipe except for the port as I thought it would give off a lot of flavour, which it did. I used a sour dough rye for the bread and the Jarlsberg cheese, which happens to be one of my favourites. Thanks for a great receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Andreas Viestad's Norwegian Red Onion Soup With Port and Jarlsbe

    Serving Size: 1 (466 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.5
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    44%
    Total Fat 21.6 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 60.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 542.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes