11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My Norwegian wife tried this. We even had Jarlsberg in the house. We essentially threw it out. Sickeningly sweet and not very flavorful, and not worth the effort. She will continue making her French Onion soup instead, which is worth the effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unhjem February 26, 2012

I am rating this just from taste testing the cooking spoon - it is still simmering and I know it will be fab - I used 2/3 cup dry red wine and I don't have jarlsberg but will sub in some good quality cheese. We don't usually have a big bag of RED ONIONS on hand so I was glad to find this recipe. Will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay January 06, 2010

I am happy to report that if you accidentally grab the identical looking bottle of Tawny Port instead of the Ruby Port it still comes out beautifully. Fantastic soup! The Jarlsberg really makes it. Thanks for a great winter recipe Chef Kate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz June 18, 2007

Kate, I liked this.. but an old friend of the family used to make a similar recipe to this (sadly I never got to get the recipe)and her's is the benchmark that I am striving to find again in a recipe anywhere. This recipe is good .. and I would make this again as it's tastey and full of flavour, please see my rating system, an excellent 4 stars :) Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 16, 2006

Absolutely wonderful! Great depth of flavour. I used 8 onions as the red onions I had on hand were extremely small and I wanted to ensure there would be enough (there was!). The Port provided lots of flavour and was a brilliant addition. Used rye bread and Swiss Gruyere as Jarlsberg is unavailable here. Super recipe. Easy to make, very fast, filling - I'll be making this a lot over the winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 14, 2006

Fabulous soup, easy and delicious!! I halved the recipe...easy to do but used a little more than half the chicken stock...just had plain old wheat bread, left it out over night and it was "stale" enough...fancier bread would be great, but when you don't have it, plain old wheat worked just fine! Great recipe Chef Kate!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall June 09, 2006

Delicious!! This soup goes together very quickly and easily. The onions give this soup a sweet, delicate flavor that is outstanding. I didn't have pumpernickel bread so I used leftover French bread. The Jarlsberg was delicious. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe...it is definitely a keeper. I am so glad that I chose to make this recipe for the Zaar World Tour 2006.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 08, 2006

This soup was terrific, Kate. Such a delicate combo of flavors w/the sweet red onions, port wine & broth ... so much better than the way-too-salty typical French onion soup. I subbed Gouda for the cheese & was sad I couldn't find it here. My DH & I both loved this & it has found a new home among our favorites. Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 06, 2006

Did someone say soup is ready! I let this soup simmer alot longer. I also doubled the port as advised by Latchyand I also did use jarlsberg cheese. The soup was just fantastic! As for onion soups this is a A+! Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE September 15, 2005

Magnificant! What a fabulous flavour. I took Latchy's advice and doubled the port and also cooked it for longer than stated, in fact I let it simmer away all afternoon. Whatever you do don't omit the Jarlsberg cheese stage, it's essential for this recipe. Thanks Chef Kate for a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies June 12, 2005
Andreas Viestad's Norwegian Red Onion Soup With Port and Jarlsbe