Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Andalucian Pinchitos Morunos - Moorish Saffron Meat Skewers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Andalucian Pinchitos Morunos - Moorish Saffron Meat Skewers

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2012

      A Rota reunion here ! I was there for 2 years, 1971--2! This recipe looks authentic and I'll be trying it, and adding chilli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      Nice flavours, but as we tend to be spicy people we would like to add a hint of chilli and perhaps rate it again. Lovely flavours though Tart :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      I too was station in Rota during the 70's and enjoyed the tapas of Andalucia. I tried for many years to find a recipe that was as good as they were in Spain. These are very close and very good. I did use more than a pinch of safron. Eating these there would turn your fingers yellow form the safron. I feel it was more than just the pinchitos and the great food of this region it was the region its self. The people, weather, atmosphere, eveything. I have not seen a restaurant nor a tapa's bar in the USA that even comes close to the experience of South of Spain. Even the calimari was out of this world. They fried every thing in olive oil. Pinchitos where grilled on an open flame at the bar. Try these they are very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I marinated this 24hrs to get the full effect...this was my first experience cooking with saffron (which, I might add, cost $10 just for a tiny amt!) and although this was okay, I wouldn't make it again. Just too strong of flavors, perhaps because it was a new flavor I wasn't as crazy about it. My husband thought it was good enough to make again, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      WOW. Made these with beef and pork. Fabulous :) Cilantro sprinkle when done is a must! Made exactly as written, used hungarian smoked paprika cos that was what I had. Served with whole grain peasant bread and steamed green beans with olive oil and coarse sea salt with a glass of Manzanella. YUM! Thank you for an AWESOME recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I was stationed in Rota, Spain in the late 70's. They were eaten as often as Americans eat Hamburgers. In Seville, they made a meal of them with tomatoes, peppers and onions. Either way, they are delicious, but they always came with a small sliced loaf of hard white bread. The proper method for eating them was to take a bite of Pinchito and a bite of bread and chew them together. I loved Pinchitos but have never found a Restaurant in America that makes them. Thanks for this recipe, it brought back a lot of good memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Very tasty. Used chicken and beef, cut fairly small. Didn't have saffron, but the seasonings were very nice even without out it. The olive oil helps to keep the meat nice and juicy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      OUTSTANDING recipe, TRUE! Just have to look at any previous review! Some recipes before you even make, you can tell they will come out GREAT! Would be higher than 5 if I could rate! Used rice wine vinegar as did not have sherry wine vinegar on hand, TRUE! WOW! DEFINATE keeper!!! GREAT for entertaining or quick healthy meal too! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      My kids especially loved this recipe. I marinated the chicken pieces all day, they were fantastic. They almost didn't make it to dinner, we had to keep "sampling". The kids loved that they could eat them with their fingers. I served this with grilled veggies of peppers, onions and zucchini, slices of avacado and tortillas. Fantastic. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      So easy and so good. I marinaded for 5 hours...prep was quick and easy, I did it on my lunch break from work. Then came home and fired up my grill, and 30 minutes later, dinner was ready! I used chicken, and the spices were perfect with it. Made this for ZWT5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Another wonderful meal! Thank you. I love recipes like this that are so easy and the reward so great. I used lamb and marinaded overnight. I love the fennel in this blend - not overpowering at all. I will make this over & over again. Made for Aussie Swap #21.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      superb!!!! I used buffalo meat and it was so tender and flavorful. Made the whole pound too *shock* and am still eating it. The only thing i suggest is that if you use red meat then add a little extra saffron. Otherwise it gets lost. With chicken it won't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Outstanding! I used chicken breasts and marinated for about six hours, the flavour was delicious, every bite was yummy. I followed the recipe as written but was so excited to eat it, I forgot to garnish it with coriander. Thank you French Tart

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      I used diced chicken breast and marinated overnight and the flavour was fantastic! Something I really liked was because the marinade doesn't have a lot of liquid it tends to stick to the meat so the wonderful flavour of the herbs and spices isn't lost during cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      FT, your recipes have never let me down, but this is by far an absolute winner! Loved the blend of spices.. and the flavours. I can't get hold of fresh bay leaves here, so used dried instead and skewered a few torn leaves in between the chicken pieces as well. I served them with red onion salad and pita bread (not exactly Spanish I suppose!). Thank you, FT, for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      So easy to prepare with high impact flavors that one generally thinks of with more complicated recipes. My skewers were made with chicken and marinated for about 10 hours. Since this dish is all about the spices, the success really depends on the freshness of your herbs and spices. Served mine for lunch with sauteed spinach with garlic and golden raisins (another Spanish tapas classic). Thanks FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Andalucian Pinchitos Morunos - Moorish Saffron Meat Skewers

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.5
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    30%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 80.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 437.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sherry wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites