9 Reviews

You just have to love it. I look up the reviews and out of 7 reviews, every one changed the recipe before even trying it out. Why not just submit your own version instead or try the recipe as is and then give your review.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrpat December 17, 2012

I love the flavour of this sauce, though I did tweak it. I also bbq'd my wings instead of frying them. I didn't use the louisiana sauce, I didn't have it, so sub'd with Sriracha hot chili sauce. I only used 3 tbsp. This stuff is very hot. I used vegan margarine, left out the celery and cayenne. I used garlic powder and added a 1/4 tsp. of A-1 Steak Sauce. I used all the other ingredients and coated the wings and ate them as is. I like my wings mild, so I think next time I'll cut back on the chili sauce, these were hotter then I liked. Thanks for the great sauce...I'll make this again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. August 18, 2008

I added this to the sauce for the Unbelievable baked buffalo wings (http://www.food.com/recipe/unbelievable-baked-buffalo-wings-155021)...I didn't feel like it added that much even though I had double the spices as I always do. Since I didn't follow the procedure of the recipe, I can't rate, but it wasn't as spicy as I wanted it to be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em January 13, 2014

very tastey! I like spicey food, but i left out the cayenne and tobasco and found it was still plenty spicy for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieLou March 03, 2011

Was looking for a different wing sauce and this is it! Doubled it because I had a 3lb. bag of wingettes. I have to admit I added honey (1 Tblsp on double recipe), only because I know my family likes it sweet, but if you don't want sweetness, this is perfect just the way it is. Also, didn't add cayenne or tabasco - again, family likes things REAL mild, but I could see some of my relatives adding in the hot stuff. I used butter and garlic powder, because that is all we had in the house. I also sneaked a little liquid smoke after reading a review about grilling! Yum! I preseasoned the wings with Old Bay and paprika (that put the salt in it) and crisped it up in the oven after mixing in sauce for about 5 minutes. This is now my favorite wing sauce! Won't ever buy it premade in the store. Thank you so much! Definitely going in the Tried and True Sauce section of my cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judielise December 22, 2007

I'm not a huge fan of spicy things, but my husband has been begging me to make buffalo sandwiches. I followed this recipe exactly as-is, except I omitted the celery seeds (I didn't have any.) and wow--GREAT sauce! I didn't make wings--I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I battered and fried, and this sauce worked well. Thanks, JoeB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells November 11, 2007

I have been looking for a recipe like this for ages. It really tastes authentic. I used to to mkae Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches. It was great...will definately be making again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candi Bullock September 16, 2007

Fantastic Buffalo wing sauce! I prepared this to use with Paulette's Grilled Buffalo Wings , Grilled Buffalo Wings, it was perfect. I left out the Tabasco sauce as my husband's stomach is not as strong as mine. I'll be using this recipe again, for the rest of my life. Thanks JoeB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude May 10, 2007

Excellent! Loved the combination of spices. I didn't add cayenne so they were on the mild side--next time I will add the cayenne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 February 04, 2006
Anchor Bar Buffalo Wing Sauce