34 Reviews

Laudee we had this last night and really enjoyed it. Had to substitute the pepperjack cheese for cheddar, the yellow onions for shallots because I can not buy the mentioned ingredients here. I first thought there was liquid missing as an ingredient, but whilst stirring the dish the ingredients produced enough. The only different thing I did was using more cumin.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us January 02, 2003

I made these wonderful enchiladas for Wednesday Night Dinner at my church. To accommodate serving 125 people, I changed the preparation by baking the chicken, shredding it and adding that to the tomatoes, etc. in Step 3, that I sauteed on the grill top. Also used flour tortillas instead of corn. Just spicy enough to please a variety of tastes. We got rave reviews and many requests for the recipe!! They were great served with refried beans and Spanish Garden Rice #72377. Thanks, Laudee--we'll surely make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J. Forrest February 07, 2004

Excellent! I actually substituted the Morningstar Veggie Crumbles in place of chicken, and veggie bouillon instead of chicken bouillon for the vegetarian portion of my family and it turned out great. After the first time I made it, I get requests for it all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleyann12 May 04, 2010

I made this using the texas red enchilada sauce as recommended by other reviewers. I used low fat cream cheese, no sour cream, low fat cheese, and low fat, high fiber flour tortillas. I also added 2 garlic cloves and a jalapeno to spice it up. It was really good. Next time, may try with a green enchilada sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 April 28, 2010

I would give this 6 stars if I could -- everyone loved it. Used the same shredded monterrey jack cheese for the filling and the topping, rather than a separate monterrey jack pepper cheese -- easier and a bit milder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchen_novice March 22, 2010

Great recipe for my first attempt at enchiladas. I like shredded chicken more than diced, so I slow cooked my chicken breasts for 6 hours in the crockpot with a bit of water. It worked well. I didn't buy sour cream, so I just used 3 oz of cream cheese. Really excellent filling that I will eat alone! I would definitely recommend the Texas Red Enchilada Sauce -- as long as your chili powder is not too hot, it won't overwhelm the delicate filling. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ATouchofZing February 07, 2010

This was pretty good, but I thought the red enchilada sauce overpowered the filling. I think it would be better with green.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig January 18, 2010

We enjoyed these enchiladas. I would chop my chicken a little finer as I didn't like the bigger chunks but that's no fault of the recipe - just my preference. I too used Texas Red Enchilada Sauce for the sauce and left out the green chilies (due to wimpy kids). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta January 26, 2009

Made these last week for company. Although they had a good flavor, they seemed somewhat dry. I made them ahead of time and made my own red sauce, maybe I didn't have enough sauce on them. Anyway, I will rey again another time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn May 31, 2008
Anasazi Enchiladas