17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Saved this for the New Year's! What a great idea,that replaced the devilled eggs(much higher in calories). To dress it up a little I placed some on cucumber and tomato slices. Another great way to get kids to eat eggs, especially if they get to help. Wonderful and easy recipe. Thanks andi.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 01, 2010

What a fun little treat. I made half as written, and the other half I replaced the ketsup/hot sauce mix with red pepper jelly (I don't care for ketsup). My husband tried both and said he liked both equally. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 June 23, 2012

These are fun to make. I eyed all the ingredients into a food baggie and squished around to mix. Then I cut a tip off the bag and pipped it onto the crackers. I used Steamed Eggs (Kai Meung) by Peter J to cook the eggs. Made for Best of 2011 Cookbook Official Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J March 10, 2012

Before I began to prep this appetizer I had to first: refresh the makeup, lacquer my bouffant, press my apron, reapply Revlon lipstick to look at least halfway presentable. What a fun retro recipe! The ingredients list dry basil but then the directions say fresh. I think fresh is the way to go! I used Tabasco "Sweet and Spicy" mixed in with the ketchup and skipped the salt. Ritz 'Roasted Vegetable' flavored crackers were a perfect match. Reviewed for Veg Tag February.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 16, 2011

Huh? Who would have thought ketchup/tabasco would be good on an egg? I used more like 6 drops since i like things spicy, and was surprised to find, I really wanted more! I had three of these last night as a quick little appie before my egg salad sandwhich! They were perfectly crunchy and all the flavors really went well together! I will make this again for sure!!! Thanks Andi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ January 06, 2010

This is a lovely little snack. The crunch of the cracker goes nice with the egg. I mixed ketchup and chili sauce which was fine but I think next time I would just use straight up chili sauce. The kosher salt and freshly ground pepper really add to the flavour. Thanks for sharing this tasty treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV April 20, 2009

What a great, simple little snack! This is a nice way to enjoy hard boiled eggs. I will do this again. Thanks Andi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader February 19, 2009

These were just delicious. Simple and so good. I've also never had ketchuup on boiled eggs before, but with the added tabasco sauce, it wasn't bad. Thanks Miss Andi. Made for LivesStrong 08

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 17, 2008

I think this is the first time I have put ketchup on a hard boiled egg. It wasn't to bad. Easy little snack. Thanks Andi of Longmeadow Farm. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle December 27, 2007

yum yum yum. I used a home made ketchup, and these were great. What a lovely snack/canape but so simple. Andi why do you always have such terrific recipes :) you are going to get me fat ! (er)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba November 16, 2007
An Egg on the Ritz