Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / An Arabic Breakfast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    An Arabic Breakfast

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2008

      The white cheese, is referred to as "Jibneh Baidah" in the palestinain/jordanian region. The white cheese is usually home made as with the olives set on the the table for breakfast for in the middle east, most people take pride in making homemade cheese, olives and pickles. It usually a salty cheese very similiar to the white spanish cheese. The middle eastern stores in the states that sell commercially made white cheese will usually have the packages reading...Spanish Cheese. Jibneh Baidah can refer to just about any white cheese. Another type of white cheese enjoyed in this region is laughing cow cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      My in-laws also live in Jordan. When I have visited, we have had similar breakfasts. I believe the cheese you are referring to is "Haloumi" cheese. But, yes, they simply call it white cheese. It's so delicious! It's one of my favorite things. I've never had anything like it before. It's preserved with salt. So, it must be soaked in water prior to cooking it to release some of the salt. (It's still salty, but deliciously so.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      Fried Nabulsi cheese is the ULTIMATE middle eastern soul food!<br/>instead of the scrambled eggs, I served Shakshouka. :)<br/>This was beautifully authentic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Have definitely had all of this at various breakfasts. I didn't have all of this on hand, but this post was a great guideline to help remember what to prepare. Very authentic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Authentic Arabic breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

    • on December 21, 2007

    • on October 08, 2007

      We have this breakfast all the time :) We use Haloumi cheese, you can get it from most Middle East grocery stores. I also make hummos for the side or Menakeesh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      I was introduced to this divine breakfast in 1971 in Nazareth. What a wonderful start to the day. When I lived in Egypt the white cheese, or 'gibna baydah' in Arabic, was feta made from goat's milk. Egyptians told me that the best labneh is made from water buffalo milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      We eat this breakfast most weekends. We also add butter and honey...my kids favorite. We use a cheese called spanish cheese we get from arabic grocery stores, but I don't fry it. I have seen "frying cheese" but everytime I try to fry it, it melts :( In anycase this is a great breakfast and there is somthing for every taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      The white cheese is goat cheese thats boiled in salt water and then compressed into jars. there is really no specific name for it has Palestinians call it "Jibneh Badah" which is only translated into "white cheese" Its not Feta, or Haloumi. but those are also used in Arabic meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      There is nothing like this Palestinian breakfast...variety and very healthy...Thanx:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      In Saudi and the rest of the Gulf countries "white cheese" is Feta cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      or it could be kaskaval

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      the white cheese is most likely called "haloumi" cheese. Connie Powers - Oman

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for An Arabic Breakfast

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.3
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    49%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 158.6 mg
    52%
    Sodium 250.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white cheese

    tea bags

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites