27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are delicious! I changed a few things and did a couple variations, and all were a success!
I used homemade pumpkin puree with great results, even though the dough seemed a little wet, I baked for 10 min exactly. Perfect!

I changed the recipe a little bit for my liking:

I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1 cup white sugar
I used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/4 cup coconut oil instead of 1/2 cup oil
I added 3/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

I also divided the batter in half and did one portion with 1/2 cup white chocolate chips and 1 portion with 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips.
So fun to have the variation and both varieties were delicious!!! The cookies with white chocolate chips were a little sweeter than the ones with dark chocolate chips.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieNicole October 31, 2011

These are absolutely delightful! I'm used to the oily pumpkin cookies but these are super light, fluffy, not too sweet (so the choclate does its job) - just wonderful. What a great suprise - can't wait to make these again!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SparrowHill Honey November 01, 2011

This is a good pumpkin cookie recipe. This is not a flat cookie, as many reviewers before me have mentioned, it's much more cake-like, and that is how I prefer my pumpkin cookies. However, the only draw back to this recipe is that it's lacking a bit of flavor (i.e. spices). The cinnamon alone is not enough for me, I'm going to tweak the spices a bit next time but that's the only thing I'll change, everything else is just fine :). p.s. these cookies are delicious as-is but with cream cheese frosting on top, they are to die for!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveMy2Angels October 25, 2011

To previous reviews about this not being a cookie: From past experience, I don't know that I've ever had a pumpkin chocolate chip cookie that was "crunchy" or "chewy" like a regular cookie. I think all PCCC are supposed to be cake-like. These cookies are amazing! I actually have this same recipe from my mother-in-law (she adds 1/2 teaspoon of cloves) which she had from an old cookbook. I added just under 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice because I love that taste in these cookies. I dropped the cookies by 2 TBSP (actual measurement on the measuring spoon I was using) and they turned out to be the perfect two-to-three bite size! These worked out very well and I will continue to use this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieFairy1981 October 24, 2011

Melt in your mouth cookies, I added 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin spice. Very good recipe a keeper for sure.Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Cookie October 19, 2007

Oh snap these are so good! I love that they are made with oil and not shortening or butter/margarine. I used 1\4 cup applesauce instead of the egg to make them completely vegan. Would definately make these again, may try them with whole wheat flour next time. Thanks so much for sharing this cookie recipe, Amy! :O)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Holmes October 05, 2007

I made these with my four-year-old daughter who had a blast measuring, mixing and scooping these onto the cookie sheet with a mini ice cream scoop. I used canned pumpkin, and in place of the recommended water in the recipe note I instead used two tablespoons of homemade apple butter. I ended up with 43 cookies that were light and absolutely delicious. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
insulin resistant carb addict September 23, 2013

These were a huge hit with all the children and teachers at my kids' school! I made them gluten free by changing the type of flour (Bob's RedMill g.f. flour baking mix and corn starch 1tsp xantham gum) They were awesome! Light, fluffy and flavorful. I am making them again for Thanksgiving. A tip: use a light coat of cooking spray so they don't stick to the cookie sheet. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Q in Oregon November 21, 2012

Excellent! I used home-cooked pumpkin and they were delicious. Thanks, Amy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyojess October 18, 2012

These are the easiest most perfect cookies! My family loved them. :) Just like the ones you buy in the bakery at the store. Cake like and yummy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crozier_stephanie_11849726 October 30, 2011
Amy's Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies