Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amy's Potato Soup (Crock Pot or Stove Top) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amy's Potato Soup (Crock Pot or Stove Top)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2008

      I love cream of potato soup. This recipe sounds really good. May I suggest one simple addition> Whenever I make potatoes for mashed potatoes; I always add a little bit of dry dill weed to the cooking water, as well as onion. It gives a really nice bit of difference to the flavor. I recommend adding some dill weed to the soup. I'm sure you will like it. Pat Burgard, Huntley, Illinois. P.S. I always add a little chopped onion when cooking any veggie. You'd be surprised how it enhances the flavor. As a result, all my kids and grand kids love their veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This soup was wonderful! I did have to make a change to the recipe because I made my grocery list too quickly! :) I forgot to buy evaporated milk, so I used skim milk that I had in the fridge. It didn’t thicken like I thought it should, so I added a 1/2c of instant potatoes. After a pre-dinner taste test, I thought it was still missing something (most likely a result of my grocery store mishap!), so I stirred in a 1/2c of fat free sour cream and 1/4c real bacon crumbles and left the soup in the crock pot for another 30 minutes. The end result was perfect! Thanks for the easy and tasty recipe, AmyMCGS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      This is a very good base recipe to build from. Since I'm a vegetarian I made some tweaks -- traded the bouillon cubes and water for low-sodium veggie stock. I also threw in some carrots and peas to up the nutrients and stuck with plain ol' butter rather than margarine and 1% milk rather than condensed milk because I didn't have it. I didn't have cilantro either but the parsley was nice. Topped mine with a little extra sharp cheddar and it gave it a nice bite. This tasted just lovely with some fresh sourdough bread and a spinach salad on the side. Perfect for autumn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      My family loves this soup, and I love the fact that it is so easy! I find russet potatoes to be the best and use 2Tbl. butter instead of margarine. I didn't add cilantro the first time I made it because I didn't have any on hand, so I've just stuck w/ that. We love to put Sharp Cheddar cheese and crispy bacon (chicken or pork) on top. Soooo good! Thanks Amy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      This was really good. My boyfriend loved it! Just a tip (since you'll probably have a TON of leftovers) you'll want to add milk/water to the soup when you reheat it. It's incredibly thick! I did add a lot more garlic but that's the only alteration I made to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      A great tasting satisfying potato soup. Easy to put together, and a variety of toppings on the side so each soul can master their own creation. Gotta love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Loved it!!!! Didnt use cilantro as I did not have any to use, it was good without it. I added lots of cheese just before serving and it was such a hit!!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Absolutely love this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      this was very good. i did alter it a little because of suggestions from other reviews. i added celery, carrots, and felt the need to throw in some cream cheese i had to get rid of. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Great! I love the use of both parsley and cilantro in this soup. It's a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      The only reason I rate 4 rather than 5 is that I had to add a few things in order to get it to be a little prettier, a little brighter, and a bit more bang. I added 1/2 cup carrots, 1 tsp dill weed, 1/2 cup celery, and 1/2 cup of corn. Delish! Will make again, thanks much Amy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      I too found this a bit bland. The consistency was great - thick and hearty! It was easy to put together and nice to have in the crockpot waiting for us after being out in the cold all afternoon. It just needed something, and i'm not sure what.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      I had all the ingredients on hand and it was easy to make. The flavor was quite bland to me and the leftovers are waiting for some inspiration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

    • on September 10, 2006

      This soup was just great! Easy to make and delicious. My husband doesn't like the overly thick soups you get in restaurants, and he commented that it was nicely textured with real flavor. Definitely a keeper! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      I made this soup on Wednesday evening and my husband and I absolutely LOVED IT!!! We ate all of the soup that evening. I loved it so much I made a double batch of it on Saturday. This soup was so good. I made it without any cilantro and by using a little shredded cheese as the garnish. If you're looking for a good potato soup, this one is great, easy, and cheap to make. Thanks Amy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      This was an ok recipe. It seemed very bland to me. I used dried herbs, which may have had something to do with it, and I forgot about the cheese. I ended up adding a lot of other spices to make it taste better - Paprika, ginger, nutmeg, and some others. I also made it on the stovetop and it may have had more flavor it slow-cooked all day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      A very good recipe and MUCH easier than my usual potato soup recipe. My DH was happy that I found a recipe with no bacon in it! The soup is very flavorful. I left out the cilantro (I don't like it) and used boullion cubes. I also stirred a handful or two of cheddar cheese into the soup before serving. Thank you so much for posting this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      GREAT recipe! My family loved it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      Very tasty....only change I made was to add skim milk to cut the calories and cholesterol...but it turned out fine. I mashed the potatoes to help thicken the soup..and there is only 1 bowl left, but I might have to fight my DH for it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amy's Potato Soup (Crock Pot or Stove Top)

    Serving Size: 1 (391 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 381.6
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    20%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 16.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 606.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites