Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amy's Favorite Indian Fry Bread Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amy's Favorite Indian Fry Bread Tacos

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2012

      Very tough dough, couldnt even cut it. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      I made half a recipe of the fry bread and it was great. I used leftover meat from Shredded Beef or Pork Chimichangas. Loved it. Will have this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      This was a bit hit with the family. My 5year old loved it (although the toppings she put on was Cheese and Sour Cream with the meat/bean mixture underneath. Very, very filling. I couldn't eat a whole one, but I think I made the fry bread's too big. Had leftover's so tonight will make just the fry bread again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Not bad, but very temperamental dough. I had to add quite a bit of flour to get it to form a stiff dough. It cooked up nicely, but a bit too chewy for biting. This was because of the extra flour and working, I'm sure. I might try this one again, but not sure. Can't rate anything else, as all I made from this was the bread. Thanks for the recipe, anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      The fulfilling Tacos I have ever had. Our family usually buys those hard/soft taco shells and we go through them like mad. Well No More...we will be using this recipe from here on out. I only ate one and a half tacos and could usually eat 4 to 5 of the other kind...and still feel like I could eat more. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it is now worth while for me to make Tacos...and the Bread is really good!!!!! Oh and mine made 10 tacos because I made small ones for my little man...who said hmm this good supper mommy! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This was very good. I used only half a can of refried beans as my family are not huge bean fans. We had enough filling left over for "mexican spaghetti" the next night. I had some trouble with the fry bread. I ended up with a very wet dough and extremely messy hands. Next time I'll be more light handed when adding the water. After adding more flour, kneading it for a bit and letting it sit for 10 or so minutes, I had more success. I fried them in a dry skillet to avoid the extra oil and they turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Perfection!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Oh wow! Girl this is a dang good recipee for frybread! My husband loves it! Heck I love it!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      Wow, these are great! I made 6 fry-bread shells with the dough and didn't get them quite plate-sized. I think I need more practice, and my family assured me that they would gladly eat all the practice I can muster! I started out with the oil not hot enough, and quickly adjusted up to high heat so they would cook faster and absorb less oil. For the meat and bean mixture, I substituted 1 c. TVP softened in 1 c. water for the hamburger, then proceeded with the beans and some chipotle taco seasoning mix I had on hand. It was incredible, and I've already been thinking about all the ways I can use that scrumptious filling. Thank you for a wonderful and fun recipe. Our DD is only a year or two away from dating, so it's good to have a "boyfriend meal" ready to go!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Delicious!!!! I got about 11 tacos...could have got 12, but I had a couple really big ones!!! And getting a nice shape took practice, but my boys got to practice geography as they were naming the shapes....Hawaii, Maine, West Virginia!!! We served with cheese, tomatoes, red onion, cilantro, sour cream, and salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Super easy to put together and wonderful taste. It's a hit in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amy's Favorite Indian Fry Bread Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (396 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 541.2
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    30%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 988.2 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites