Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2009

      Delicious! I made these for my toddlers 3rd birthday and brought them to her daycare...where they were gobbled up by the kids and teachers. I didnt make the frosting, due to time constraints, but the cake part was great! Nice and moist...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      These were a little plain for me, but I guess they are vanilla. I might add a little more vanilla next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I've not make tried this recipe yet but planning to try it tomorrow. I noticed an error and thought I should let you know that you have left out the 1 cup butter for the frosting (as in Amy Sedaris' recipe).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Great, light cupcake! My only complaint is that it really sticks to the paper cup liners.. oh well. Thanks Amy Sedaris, just another reason to be a fan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I have been searching for a perfect vanilla cupcake! and this is it!!! i did a cream cheese frosting and they are yummy yummy! next time i am going to try a chocolate buttercream frosting! Thanks for the GREAT Recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I was trying to find a simple vanilla cupcake recipe that makes a moist tender cupcake, and this one fit the bill perfectly. Was short on butter so used margarine! and still turned out great. I cheated with some Betty Crocker Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting (has a nice flavor, not too sweet, although a little greasy). Will definitely use this recipe again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Good, but denser than I hoped. I'm searching for a homemade recipe that has the consistency of a box mix. This one tasted good, but didn't get the texture right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      WOW! I totally love this cupcake. The flavor is fantastic. Sending some to my daughter's school. Making some for Halloween tomorrow. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      These cupcakes are super light and fluffy, almost like a sponge cake. I used cake flour(I am not sure if that made a difference). I plan on making these again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      These cupcakes are awesome! They're delicate, light, and fluffy, and sweet enough that you could probably leave the icing off and they would still taste great. I, like another reviewer, used Vanilla Buttercream Frosting #222188, and it was perfect. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I liked the taste of the cupcakes, not too sweet at all, so if you add icing, it compliments it! I think I did make a mistake, though, by adding the milk and flour in batches, I added some flour and milk at the same time, and I think this caused some of the flour to blend with the milk before it could be incorporated into the mixture, causing a few very small lumps. I would rather try to mix in each one seperately next time, hopefully this will work. I'm rating it based on the assumption that I made a mistake, other than that it was a really nice cupcake!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      WOW! WOW!! WOW!!! I chose to make these cupcakes, but not the icing. Instead I used the Vanilla Buttercream Frosting #222188 (which is awesome!!). YUM!! I COULDN'T stop myself from eating several at a time! I made them to take to a friend of mine, and kept 6 at home for us . . . and ate most of them! :O) Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      I love the simplicity of the recipe... no sifting, no special ingredients such as cake flour or scraped vanilla bean, and yet the flavor is very pure. Definately, use good quality vanilla. Five stars for such great flavor out of such a simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      We made the cupcakes and frosting for 4th of July with red and blue sprinkles. Everyone loved them! I did add one stick of butter to the icing recipe per Amy Sedaris' recipe on www.amysedarisrocks.com. I think I would prefer the icing with butter although I have not tried it without. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Didn't make the frosting but the cupcakes are stellar! Frosted with buttercream and they are divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Wow! i had no idea vanilla cupcakes could be so delicious! i have to admit- i chose this recipe because it is amy sedaris' and i am a huge fan. i actually wasn't even looking for a cupcake recipe, but i am glad i tried it! I'll definately be making these for every occasion. I kind of did my own frosting because i didn't have any half and half, so i threw in a little cream cheese for flavor. Turned out fabulous! These are for sure the vanilla cupcakes for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      These are the best cupcakes ever! My mom loves cupcakes and i made these for mothers day a huge hit! Real moist with a lot of flavor, i used a buttercream frosting instead because thats what my family likes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These are the best vanilla cupcakes I've ever tasted, hands down. I don't think further commentary is necessary. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I really enjoyed these! My boyfriend and I are huge fans of the beautiful and intelligent Amy Sedaris (and her family too!) so this was something we knew we'd love. Make sure that you use good quality vanilla extract as opposed to vanilla flavoring as it really makes a huge difference in the finished product. I'm glad that I opted for the expensive stuff. The cake part of these cupcakes is AMAZING and turned out perfectly. I think that this is the best recipe I have ever tried for the cake part of a cupcake. I wouldn't change a thing in this regard! My only gripe with this recipe is that the icing is a bit too sweet - all I tasted was powdered sugar, despite doubling the amount of vanilla and adding more half and half. I will save this recipe and make it many times in the future, but I will experiment a bit more with the icing as I think these would be best with a big gob of rich vanilla buttercream icing instead. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      My friend makes these cupcakes all the time and they are amazing. I was checking Zaar to make sure it hadn't been posted, because if it wasn't up, I wanted to share it. Everyone should try these. I never knew a plain vanilla cupcake could be so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1777 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.3
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    25%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 33.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 101.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 33.1 g
    132%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes