81 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The frosting didn't turn out all and the cake was just average. Save the trouble and buy a box cake mix and some store bought frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA April 30, 2011

This is an excellent recipe! I used this recipe yesterday to make an assortment of Easter cupcakes. The cupcakes have a nice tender texture and good flavor. I used the hint of adding the extra vanilla to the batter. I did not try the frosting from this recipe but used a basic buttercream frosting instead. I'll definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dasme April 23, 2011

Simply wonderful! Loved them. This is a well tested and thought out recipe. These are commercial quality cupcakes. I used cake flour and instead of just vanilla I used pure vanilla,lemon, and orange extracts. I love these cupcakes. Thanks for sharing and posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachy D April 17, 2011

Soooo yummy!! This recipe will get used again and again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paige992 March 19, 2011

My first attempt at cupcakes. I did not use the icing recipe. I cheated and used already made icing. Everybody who tried the cupcakes loved them! I'll try other recipes but I saved this one to my cookbook and I am sure to make them again! Moist and flavourful and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicabelanger96 February 28, 2011

light and fluffy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraLoo1 February 26, 2011

Great texture and flavour to these cupcakes. They would make an excellent starter cupcake, but for me, it still didn't have enough vanilla flavour (I used 1 tbsp vanilla extract). Maybe a vanilla bean would have a stronger taste?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC February 20, 2011

These are terrific! Great vanilla flavor(used 3t). I couldn't stop eating them. Good thing (or too bad) most went to preschool where perfection is not appreciated. Cake had a denser crumb than what I am used to. I loved it, but I would like to try these again with cake flour and see if there's much difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slokiki February 15, 2011

The flavor of these cupcakes is great! They were moist and very tasty. Mine tended to flatten out and spread more than I would have liked. I will be making again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla February 13, 2011

I've detested vanilla cake for as long as I can remember... no more! these turned out AMAZING!!! I made them for a party (one of my friends can't eat regular chocolate, so I was trying to make something she could actually eat), and though as of this review it hasn't happened yet, I love them enough to give them five stars. I added the extra vanilla, and also some white chocolate chips (that was hit or miss, some of them burned a little on the bottom and you can't really taste it). and I'm using lemon frosting. SOOOOOO good!!! and just as easy as using store-bought mix. thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beks429 December 29, 2010
Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes