Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2010

      Oh wow, I'm not normally a cake person but I had to try one before sending my son to school with them. I don't know if I've ever actually made cupcakes. I do make a lot of muffins and because of that (I'm guessing) I filled them a little too much and only ended up with 19... no more left for me :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I made these cupcakes and shared them with my son's preschool class to celebrate his birthday. They were really good. They were soft, but not as soft as cupcakes made from a cake mix. I wish I had seen the note at the bottom that said to add more vanilla, though. By the time I got to that step, my cupcakes were already in the oven. I think they would have been more flavorful with another teaspoon, but they were still good with only 2. This review is for the cupcakes only, as I didn't make the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      These were so tasty. You could definitely taste the vanilla. They had a wonderful texture. I did not use the frosting but the cupcakes were so good they didn't need it. I frosted them with another buttercream frosting on this site. Thank you for your post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Perfect cupcakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I really loved this recipe. I used it as a small cake instead and just increased the baking time. Took a while but worth the wait. I loved that it was a thicker cake , much eaier to cover and hold up under the weight of fondant. Excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I am convinced Marna D. had some ingredient issues. I have never before made cupcakes, I am an inexperienced baker so I followed the directions ALMOST perfect. I didnt have milk so I ended up using fat free evaporated nilk cup for cup and it worked just fine. These are AMAZING! They came out perfect (well I burned the first ones - oops!). No problems getting them out of the pan or out of the cup. This will be my go-to cupcake recipe. Even the ones I overcooked were good, I kept that batch for us at home and it did not stop us from eating them! I used store bought frosting due to lack of time and ingredients. Delicious! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This was my first attempt at a homemade cupcake and they didn't work out quite like I'd hoped. The batter seemed curdled but everything I used was store bought that day so it was fresh. They didn't rise as I thought they would and they were very hard to get out of the paper cup. I'm a fairly experienced baker so my results puzzled me. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      These cupcakes are GREAT! I used 2 tsp. of pure vanilla extract and 1 vanilla bean which I steeped n the milk. Frosted with a simple butter cream frosting and the family LOVED them. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Really really excellent. I substituted the seeds of one vanilla bean for the extract, and it turned out great. Very light and fluffy. I made a very basic chocolate icing to go with it, but it would also be good with lemon. I think this is my new basic cupcake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Omg!! I made these for my very first time yesterday! I was hoping for the best! And boy, was I happy! I made them the exact same way, except I added somewhere between 1-2 Tablespoons of Vanilla. And the frosting recipe I used was http://www.recipezaar.com/Vanilla-Buttercream-Frosting-From-Sprinkles-Cupcakes-222188. Its delicious!! I love the cake more than storebought mix! My family went crazy over this! Thank you so much!! Advice: If planning to make the buttercream frosting, use clear vanilla, because I used brown and it made it look sort of curtled. If you dont have it, try it! It doesnt change the taste at all... hay, my family didnt even notice! Lol! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Pretty good cupcakes. The texture is quite dense - at least that's how my cupcakes turned out. Almost a cross between cake and brownies. I prefer my cupcakes lighter, but my family loved these. I used Kittencal's Chocolate Buttercream Frosting/Icing, which was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Wow, these are good! Most of the vanilla cupcake has a play dough taste to me (i don't know why... maybe i didn't put enough vanilla extract), but this one did not. I used two tsp of vanilla extract and two tsp of vanilla bean paste. I made 24 regular size that baked for 18 minutes, also tried mini cupcake size that baked for about 10 minutes (about 55 of them). I cut down the sugar to about 1-1/3 cup of sugar and it was perfect for us. The first time i accidentally used baking soda, instead of baking powder (big mistake). I gave up the recipes for a while, but decided to try it again. I am very glad that i did. I used the vanilla icing from King Arthur's website on these cupcakes. Thank you Bernrome! This is my to go vanilla cupcake recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I made these for a friends Birthday and forgot to rate them! They get a perfect 10 she loved them as well as the rest of her family. Thanks for a great recipe. I was told that these where unbelieveably moist :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      yummers!!! Made a half batch using unsweetened soy milk and 3/4 C Splenda + 1/8 C sugar to control sweetness for boyfriend. The changes made my cupcakes slightly denser, a bit more muffin-y, which was fine with us. Also frosted with a buttercream, will definitely make these again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      I cut the recipe in half and got 12 beautiful cupcakes! They are delicious. I used a different chocolate buttercream frosting recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Great, light, & not too sweet cupcake! I followed the recipe as written and didn't have any issues with alternating the milk and flour. Thanks Bernrome & Amy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Great cupcakes! I love Amy Searis, she is an amazing comedic performer and author. I am also a huge fan of her brother who is a gifted writer, David Sedaris.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      oh yum! Made these today and they were light, fluffy and buttery! in the past I have made great flavored cupcakes but they turned out dry and crumbly. These are marvelous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      LOVED these vanilla cupcakes. I made a different chocolate icing, and they came out great. As others suggested, I doubled the vanilla. This recipe was also pretty quick and easy to whip up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Delicious! I made these for my toddlers 3rd birthday and brought them to her daycare...where they were gobbled up by the kids and teachers. I didnt make the frosting, due to time constraints, but the cake part was great! Nice and moist...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1777 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.3
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    25%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 33.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 101.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 33.1 g
    132%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites